Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Magic Wave

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • degreiffmiguel2461
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Nov 2017
3.4

The worst hostel that i have been, dirty, i was there for 2 days and the bathroom was horrible since I arrived and was the same since I left! No recommend

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

As guest we put to you and your friends a rating equal to a big 0/0/0/0/0/0/0 ... And you know what we gonna do? As you, we give you a bad rating without explanations ;)... If i was you, at least i would try to justify and explain to the world why not come here (in this hell) and this cotation. Maybe you had to choose better friends to go in holidays...but putting a joke like that because you was frustrated of your travel (again i repeat...if you don't want rain and you want to enjoy the real party Koh Phangan...don't come when it's rainy season...but i know you like cheap prices...that's a choice). People like you, we don't need it at our place, so hasta la vista and good luck in your life ;) ...And please don' t recommend our place to the people you know, thank you so much !

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2017
8.9

Me and my 2 friends LOVED staying at The Magic Wave! The couple that run this hostel are really nice and welcoming, and Florian had the best taste in music so our pre drinking before the parties was always amazing. The food on the menu is brought in from elsewhere, which isn't a bad thing at all because they know the best places to eat and basically bring it right to you in the comfort of the hostel. I definitely recommend staying here. Everything you need!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Tank you L. and thanks for the compliment about music...always a pleasure ;)...we got now for the new season an exceptional DJ from ibiza...people who want to enjoy good music, here is the place ! Thank you again !

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Oct 2017
10.0

AMAZING!! Nice Staff, Nicely located, nice pool the rooms are what we expected, I can add the owners to my friends, they are good helpful and lovely people. If you look for a nice place to stay you can definitely book at the Magic Wave!! I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay in Koh Phangan. The owners, Alice and Flo, were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, the pool is great. The beach is close. There is a 7eleven nearby (500m). Laundry just across the entry of the Magic wave. Unfortunately, it wasn't a fullmoonparty during my stay but you can count on Alice and Flo to set the atmosphere on fire with good music, nice activites to do, ... I definitely recommend that places ! Good Value for money ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you O, was really a pleasure to get you here, funny times and memories...next time be careful with the motorbike ;)

  • ann215
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Oct 2017
4.6

Hello Didn't particularly enjoy our stay, location was not bad. However the photos do not represent all living quarters. It seems like it was the hostels expectation for the guests to clean the rooms and bathrooms. There was a bar and they advertised food as well but locating a staff member to get you anything was difficult. Presentation of the place wasn't great; Has a lot of potential but wasn't utilized. Will not be staying again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heyy, thank you for your wonderful rating...next time : - don t come during low season when a part of the staff is off - don t come during low season when the weather is bad - don t come during the mourning of the king'death when music is forbidden during one month - don t come during a buddha day when it's forbidden to sell alcohol ( ohhh my, that's maybe why the BAR WAS CLOSED and you knew and accepted it at the check-in) - don t come if you want to pay 79 baht during this period but you don t want to clean a minimum the room by yourself (we make it one time a day during low season...you can understand that ith a price of 79 baht you can not ask a full time cleaning of your dorm...feel free to use the material at your disposal) -don t come if you think the pictures are not reflecting reality (nder the rain, under the sun, with the snow...landscape can be different, but i'm not gonna explain that again. If you watch good, you gonna find pictures of all the 4 dorms we got. -Don't come if you can not find a staff member permanently at the reception from 10 am to 7 pm ( and sometimes later even if its low season time schedule, ha yeah and i forgot, we live here on place so if you are not too shy, you can always ask us something ;) You know what...don't come again, thank you. So now some info for the smart future guests; The full moon of november 's gonna be huge, full service at The Magic Wave during the 5 days (tournaments,warm up,free shots etc), you will find some staff and no cleaning by yourself :) We are after that preparing the next season, so low price but minimal service and some constructions during this period (from 10-11 to 15-12), so you know it if you come ! Next season will be great, we gonna use all the potential after 3 years of hard work...arcade machine, pool table, new covered terraces and restaurant, karaoke,djs and concepts from ibiza and many more surprises...

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×