Hostelworld.com

The Magic Wave

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Guntherm
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2018
10.0

Low season stay Alice and Flo where really cool and nice, giving all the good spots and tips to enjoy the island even in low season. The room was perfect and clean, the bar and restaurant was not open at night during my stay, they explained me that from november till half of december it will be like that, but you will find other cool places nearby. The matrasses are soooo good and the swimming pool was ok, i booked for 1 night and i stayed 2, i recommend !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • xxlarii
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Oct 2018
3.4

It was the worst hostel I have ever been too! First we had to wait 4 hours for the check in and then the rooms were dirty and the bathroom as well. We slept in a room with 8 people and the AC didn't work! Florian told as at the first day that he will fix it in the evening or the next morning. Nothing happened. In generell, we all had the feeling that they do not really care about their guests and the hostel at all. I would definitely not go there again!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Really sorry that you had this feeling but we must say that we do not really understand it. You booked and stayed in a fully renovated room of 6 people (not 8) with your friends. Let me explain for our future guests, you have made your check in at 11.00 am (usually check in following the rules is 2 pm), we proposed you to put your luggage and use shower etc in another room for the time we needed to finish your room. Let's talk about your room, this one was indeed ready at 6 pm instead of 2 pm, why (and you know it, you saw me in the rush and sweating to finish it as quick as possible), because i was completely renovating it and i had to do it alone because the renovating team left me alone 1 day before. Reason why i have painted your room the day before your arrival from 10 am to 4 am late in the night and again the day of your arrival from 8.30 am to 6 pm...so i must say that is not what i call "they do not really care about their guest" young lady. That is why i do not understand why you say the room was dirty (ALL your friends told me they never saw a so cool and nice room in an hostel and when i asked to you, you told me the same...so ? )...i think this is more your feeling than the group feeling. Maybe you made it dirty ( not maybe, when we cleaned it, it was looking like a porchery and you have hide 2 sheets ( cost 1000 thb to replace) full of body paint , uber honnest from you. About the airco i told you the order was delayed so yes, sorry about that but you said ok, so why complain after in front of youtr computer( and i pologized to you when you was here ). Let me finish and say that we had a very good full moon with all the groups ( even yours...you was not so present but all your friends were and it was really nice to make before parties with all of you, ven when i offer beers for free for all my guests (guests that i do not care ;)))))

  • archeopteryx646
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2018
10.0

I booked 1 night and stayed 3, the owners are amazing, giving you all the good plans and things to do on the island. Due to the season and because i stayed out of the full moon date, the hostel was not very full but still with some other guest to meet at the bar. If you got enough time to spend in Koh Phangan, do the boat day trip in Angthong, ask to Alice or Florian how to make it, it is woooow ! Thanks for all !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2018
10.0

I originally booked for 1 night in the 6 beds room and finally I extended my stay for 5 ! The room is comfy, people are nice, owners and staff are very helpful, it's the good moment to visit and discover the island, because there is not so much people, beach are very close and its possible to rent motorbikes there also. I shall come back for the Full moon party in 2 weeks for sure !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2018
7.7

Definitely a good place if you aren't too demanding on cleanliness. Smiling and welcoming staff. Free body painting for the fullmoon. Beach access, AC, lockers, pool... Bad sides are : the little space between the beds (which are noisy), dirty bathrooms since the water overflows from the showers, and the location (3,2km) from the city center. At least the beach is really nice and empty !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • chrisSam91
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2018
10.0

The Magic Wave was completely different from all the rest, but in a WOW factor way !Great atmosphere! Staff was the best, Florian and his wife Alice were so inviting and great customer service, remembering our names on the first day and introducing us to everyone. It was very good place to stay and pregame for all parties and loved the pizza/movie recovery day afterwards. Stay here !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow ! What a comment...thank you, thank you, always our pleasure to welcome guests like you. Nothing else to say ;), all the best !

  • danniblake97452
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2018
8.6

Owners were very friendly welcoming and very helpful. The outside area with the bar, table area and pool was fab. All kept very clean and well looked after. Bedding was clean, however beds very hard (as every other single bed in the whole of Thailand 😅) so can’t really comment on that!! Great vibe and music played at the hostels for pre party, just a shame it was very quiet this time with not many people! We couldn’t lock our dorm room - but big lockers to secure our valuables. Overall fab stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for this great post. And thank you to tell us about the lock of the dorm. Yes it was a non busy period but was still great with your nice group. All the best for you.

  • abbeydean19988048
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
28th Jul 2018
6.9

This hostel had a great atmosphere and vibe for both the jungle and full moon party. The staff put a lot of effort into encouraging making new friends and partying. However, the hostel itself wasn’t great, there’s one bathroom between 14 people, which has a toilet and two showers with only shower curtains. So if someone needs the toilet but people are showering, they can’t go and vice versa. The beds are very squeaky and my bed didn’t have a ladder. The nearby beach is lovely though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you A. To be complete, the description of the dorm says there are 2 shower and one toilet in a 14 beds dorm...so no surprise ;) You got also public toilet outside the room. You can not say the entire hostel was not great for this reason. If there is no ladder on a bed, do not hesitate to come ask for one at the reception, there must be one ladder per bed. We are very happy you liked the atmosphere and hope you had a great time with us, we did ;)

  • frederik_pnn1263
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Jul 2018
9.4

We had a wonderfull stay at the magic wave during the fullmoon party. The only thing, I believe could be better, if they replaced some mattress in the room. We were four, and two of the beds was like sleeping on a rock, and all the others was pretty descent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your stay and this amazing Full Moon warm up ! I see exactly wich matrass you mean, it is the 2 only we took from this brand, and we gonna change it...too hard ;)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Jul 2018
8.9

I stayed here over full moon and the atmosphere was great! The staff put a lot of effort into evening events and keeping the place very clean. The only down points were that it didn’t look quite as tidy as in the photos, the outside space feels like it could do with lick of paint, and the bunk beds were very squeaky! Other than that, fab stay here!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello ;) Thank you ! We gonna improve the swimming pool terrace and make an entertainment corner at the same time ;) For the beds, do not hesitate to come to tell us wich one when you feel that, so we know wich bed we have to change. THANKS AGAIN !

×