Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mekong Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 406 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 406 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • georgeharvison
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Sep 2018
8.0

Although the atmosphere was fairly poor, we put this down to it being low season when we stayed here. However, private double room with air con was lovely. The hostel felt very safe. Short tuk tuk ride to pub street so the location was average.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great score and positive review, We are pleased you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and enjoyed your stay here. September is the middle of the rain season in Cambodia, so the tourist numbers visiting the city are significantly low at this time of year. We wish you all the best, The Mekong Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Sep 2018
8.9

The Mekong hostel was a very nice stay, we stayed for two nights and we enjoyed our private room which was extremely clean and secure. Pool table and swimming pool downstairs have the hostel a nice chilled vibe with a bar open till late and plenty of food options available from the restaurant. Location is good and only 5-10 min walk away from some popular night markets. We visited Angkor Wat but I would recommend anyone to do the sunrise tour as it was so much busier and hotter during the day

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great score and positive review, We are pleased you found our property to be clean, safe and in a great location. We wish you all the best, The Mekong Team

  • jackyjams
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2018
10.0

Super helpful staff and very chill environment. Never heard any noise in my large suite and stayed cool at night and was clean and spacious. Would come back again and def stay longer and use the pool more . WiFi works great and the computer lounge was also a plus ! Def recommend!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your perfect score review. We are so happy you loved our staff, rooms, pool and other facilities. Hope to see you again on your next trip! All the best, The Mekong Team

15th Aug 2018
8.9

Mekong was a good hostel with a nice staff. They were accommodating and had lots of information to offer (tours, locations nearby, etc.). The only downside about Mekong was the atmosphere. The lobby seemed a bit dark and even the rooms have a somewhat eerie vibe. Overall, it was clean and a decent spot to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cleanliness, location and staff at our property and had an overall good time here. Your comments will be shared with our entire team. We are now right in the middle of low season in Cambodia, which is why it may seem a little quiet. Our hostel offers many activities daily to help promote atmosphere and guest socializing. We also have several communal areas as-well as a generous happy hour and nightly music selection offered at the poolside bar. Best regards, The Mekong Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2018
10.0

Amazing value. Very comfy beds and super clean everywhere. The dormitories are kept spotlessly clean and are air conditioned too. The staff are friendly and very helpful with answering questions about the area, how to get around, tours, etc. The pool and restaurant/bar are great. I'll definitely stay here again when next in Siem Reap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the high score and for staying with us again. We wish you all the best for your onward travel. - The Mekong Team

  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Aug 2018
5.4

It’s off peak season so I wasn’t expecting the hostel to have an atmosphere so that was fine. But after double checking whether I could pay something with my credit card I was refused when I arrived and had to get cash. The toilet flush broke and that was an absolute messy disaster. And finally aweful beds! If anyone in the 3 bunk beds near you moves even slightly you’re probably going to wake up.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your constructive feedback. We can accept credit card for most things at the hostel including tours, tuk tuk's, food and drink. Our credit card machine only accepts 2 types of card at this time (Mastercard or Visa) which is stated clearly on HostelWorld at the time of booking. For any maintenance issues in your room, we have a 24 hour team of engineers on standby. If you were having problems, you should have informed the front desk at the time and we would have been able to provide immediate assistance. Thank you once again for taking your valuable time to share your experience with other travelers. We hope we are able to improve our service for your next visit. Kind regards, The Mekong Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Jul 2018
9.7

Very very good hostel and highly recommended if you're staying for a few days. In a nice part of town that's accessible to a lot of things, a bit far from pub street if that's what ur interested in. Good facilities and clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much, have a great rest of your trip! All the best, The Mekong

15th Jul 2018
8.6

Great place to stay can imagine it to be a lot more social in the high season but it was nice and relaxing. Staff are so friendly and very helpful with booking stuff etc, free pool is a bomus and a swimming pool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your great review and excellent feedback. We are so pleased you had a nice stay with us and were able to enjoy many of our hostel facilities and services. We wish you both all the best for your onward travel, Kind regards, The Mekong Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2018
10.0

Great location friendly people. Felt very welcome. The place has a swimming pool. Really a great experience. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your very high score and amazing review of our hostel. We are so pleased to hear that our property and facilities exceeded your expectations and that you found our staff to be very friendly. Wish you all the best, The Mekong Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Jun 2018
8.9

We stayed here 3 nights to help recharge our batteries after parting for far too long and it was ideal for that situation. I heard it gets busy in high season but in low season if you need a break this is the place to be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much. We are happy to hear you enjoyed relax time here and found our hostel and facilities to be up to your expectations. All the best, The Mekong

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×