Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Mountain House Pokhara

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
25th Nov 2017
9.1

Lovely clean hostel, good location, lacking in atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Nov 2017
9.7

Really great hostel, wonderful location - just a couple minutes walk away from lots of shops, trekking agencies and restaurants. The owner is absolutely lovely and helped us arrange a trip to Chitwan National Park, which we loved! Hostel has a nice garden, large rooms and hot shower. Thought the beds could be a bit more comfortable but otherwise loved the mountain house. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • robinsonv0382809
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Oct 2017
9.4

I would recommend the Mountain House to anyone. In six weeks in India and Nepal, this was the cleanest place I stayed. location was great. The staff were wonderful, especially the two owners. They kept our things secured whilst we were away trekking. The night before I was due to leave I had food poisoning (from a different place) the owners rebooked our bus for the following day, let us have the room another night, and brought me free tea and comfort food. Thanks again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2017
8.9

In a quieter area but only a 3 minute walk from the main town area. Clean private room with shower and bathroom! The owners helped us arrange bus and taxi rides for a fair price and helped us with trekking routes and stored our stuff. The only con is that this is not a social location at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2017
10.0

My 11 year old and I stayed here before and after a 19 day trek in Annapurna. The owners are lovely and accommodating. This is the rare reasonably priced private room in Pokhara that has high standards for cleanliness. Quiet location. Fabulous place. Huge perk is EXCELLENT small and very affordable restaurant across the street....great Nepali owner who has been a chef for 20+ years and recently pursued his dream to open his own restaurant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2017
10.0

I stayed here during the week of tihar. It's a Hindu festival. The house keeper were very kind and accommodative. The house was very clean and comfortable. Staying here for 5 days was the most at home I felt during my entire trip to Nepal. I would highly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • egoldsmith856951
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Sep 2017
8.9

Mountain house is a lovely and quiet retreat in pokhara! Owners are so helpful and kind, they booked and took care of everything we asked for. Rooms and common areas very clean. Guests seemed to be more mature trekkers which made for a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • zoezhang1988
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Aug 2017
10.0

The room is clean and the location is good! The staff is good English speaker and very helpful to give tips about where to go. Aslo they give us a good discount and advanced room since is not the peak tourist season. Very nice living experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
9.1

Lovely staff - so helpful and kind - they sorted everything out for us trekking wise, really quickly. Great location near many nice shops and restaurants and the lake. Was a little quiet when we went but it was expected due to off-season. More like a lovely home stay than a hostel with a lively atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×