Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Nunnery

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2018
6.6

Great location and friendly staff, however the hostel did not have great kitchen facilities, was quite dirty and the shower in our room had no hot water

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Nov 2018
4.9

“When Jesus comes back, he’s gonna stay at the Nunnery” - I doubt it... he’s suffered enough. The Nunnery is in dire need of investment and renovation! There are not enough bathrooms and are very unclean - probably due to the amount of traffic. It's over-occupied and needs money spending on it to bring it up to an acceptable standard. The staff didn't seem surprised when I highlighted some issues and generally looked unhappy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2018
8.9

Great place to stay but definitely a youth hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marlenedemmlmd851
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2018
8.3

It was quiet a nice stay at the nunnery. Everyone is very friendly there and you get help if you need something. Lots of information about transport, sights ... The free breakfast includes all you need. Only the kitchen is quiet small, so you should have breakfast early and make dinner late :D

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dewa123456838
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2018
10.0

Went in for a quick one night stop in. Granted I spent most of my time out of the hostel enjoying Fitzroy... It was a short walk back to the nunnery, it was quiet when I got back, had no issues getting in after hours. Had an uninterrupted sleep and with a checkout time of 11am, I had ample time to soak up a free breakfast and recover before heading back to reality.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Nov 2018
7.4

Stayed 3 nights in a double room and it’s was good. Staff friendly and excellent written up local guides for Fitzroy area, so helpful! Clean but toilets always out of loo roll. Rooms fairly noisy as it’s an old building but it’s not a party hostel (thank goodness)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tomdeakin20123140
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Oct 2018
10.0

One of the best hostels I’ve ever stayed in. Only annoyance is WiFi is not free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Oct 2018
9.1

Amazing hostel, beautiful people and a great location! The beds made noises at night (like weird noises, not ones when you move), and there was a lot of noise in general- it's a bit of a party hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rhiannonklewis6494
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Oct 2018
9.7

Great hostel. Great staff. Great location and friendly hostel mates. The staff were lovely and welcoming and the hostel itself was nice and clean. My only beef is with the kitchen and showers. Showers it's obvious, get up early and it's all yours, get up when everyone else does and it's cutthroat, shower during off peak times. The kitchen is tiny and hard to get into I waited hours to get into the kitchen to cook dinner and they closed it before I was finished cooking. Lame. Great stay otherwise

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Oct 2018
9.7

This place is mega and a really cool building. Has everything you want and more. Helpful staff, clean, loads of space to chill and the free breakfast was ace. Decent location and free bikes! Was a shame we were only there a couple of nights

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×