Hostelworld.com

The Ritz for Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mastersk1
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2018
4.0

The bathrooms were very dirty, toilets always had pee on the seats. Pee on the floor. Went into a bathroom during the night one night there was a used condom and pants laying in the middle of the floor. The sheets and blankets seemed dirty. When we arrived the one gentleman seemed very friendly. He was the only friendly one we encountered. They rest were quite rude. I found the hostel dirty and everyone there very unfriendly. I would not recommend to anyone.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • emmabox149550
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Oct 2018
5.4

This is the first hostel we stayed at in Australia. I have to stay we weren’t very impressed and it made us concerned for what the rest of the hostels we will be staying in will be like! The atmosphere was the thing that we found the most uncomfortable, people were very much in their own groups and unless you were a long term resident or worker people didn’t have a lot of time for you! The cleaniless of the kitchen was also unacceptable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Sep 2018
6.3

A party hostel with some really good social atmosphere, the security is also good but the place wasn't very clean. My room had a large patch of black mould on the ceiling and the place in general was very run down and in need of renovation. The kitchen was dirty and disorganised so I didn't use it. My double room was $75 a night and I can get a good AirBnb for $20 less a night so that's what I did after my booking was over. The location is really good with trams stopping right outside.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We've checked your room and there is not mold. Not sure about that comment. The hostel is being painted at the moment so it has a very fresh feeling. Great you enjoy the location as well. Well connected and full of things to do around. Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
10.0

I loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
10.0

Great for a weekend of party. Easy going hangout.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2018
10.0

Amazingtime! full of people. Great vibes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2018
8.3

It’s a huge hostel with over 100 beds, which can be a little overwhelming. The free food is nice but the kitchen can get really gross, just from people not cleaning after themselves. The staff does their best to clean up after everyone, but it’s so big with so many long term stay people that everywhere gets messy fast. It’s good for outgoing people or solo travelers, but the social scene can be intimidating. Overall, a good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2018
9.7

Everything was excellent. 10/10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2018
10.0

Excellent spot in St. Kilda

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2018
10.0

I've landed here during a bike trip and it was absolutely perfect. All the facilities and very friendly indications. Melbourne is a great place to stop for a while. Thank you Ritz.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×