Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Shaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hparadise
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Aug 2018
9.4

Amazing experience. The staff was very nice and fun, taking guests out every night and hosting drinking games prior. They were also very helpful with anything you need help with. It is up a hill but the place itself is close to main town and there's a beautiful beach nearby. I can't say enough about how great my experience was here, definitely stay here if you're in Hvar!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2018
7.4

Enjoyed our stay, we had a group of 4 who were catching up after a long time so didn’t get involved in social aspects with wider group but everyone was super friendly. Clean, beautiful view and quiet when it needed to be!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • crainey127013
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2018
9.7

We stayed in the 3 bed dorm which had our own bathroom and kitchen which was brilliant and really clean. Everyone was really lovely at the Shaka- staff and guests! We loved the craic in the evenings and the Shaka pub crawl, you definitely made our trip memorable! Thanks so much for everything and also for the lift back to the ferry, we really appreciated it! The Derry girls 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • daniele3336192
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2018
9.4

Eggcelent hostel! Amazing vibe staff always up for a chat and great overall atmosphere. A load of discounts associated with the hostel so worth the slightly higher price. Felt welcomed right away would 10/10 recommend to a friend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jessghosn9416
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Aug 2018
9.1

The staff here were great and were available to help us have a good time no matter what we wanted to do. They have a ton of items you can borrow and rent, discounts on places to go, and just a great community to get to know here. A little pricy, but that’s what you get in Hvar. I would recommend this place if you’re looking for a good time!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • davisbret2342
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2018
8.0

Great atmosphere and the staff is great if you’re looking to meet people and make friends.. the facilities are not the best, but good enough. The location is tough, half uphill. We were showering every time we came back. But again if you’re looking to make friends and party this is your spot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Aug 2018
9.4

We had a really great time at the Shaka. Borno, Jen, and Dan were all really kind, helpful, and made sure we had the best experience in Hvar. We would really recommend the Shaka to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2018
9.7

If your looking to make new friends and have a great time in hvar, Shaka hostel is the place to go. upon ariveing we were greeted by the volunteers that work there who made us feel verry welcome. Everyone drinks together down at the terrace and plays drinking games it is a great vibe. The reception is also very helpful and can organise anything you wish to do. Weather that’s getting a pizza delivered to your door or going on a boat around the harbour

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lucathomas
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2018
10.0

Best hostel we’ve ever stayed at! The staff are all great, so helpful. Air cons in every room and balcony’s. They have free pub crawls every night. We only booked two nights but decided to stay in hvar for 4, they found room for us for the third night then organised another hostel for us for the last night & drove all our bags there for us. We hired a boat to get to a few of the islands which you can also organise through the Shaka for a great price! Stay here you will not regret it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gbordonig4587
  • Chile, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2018
9.7

The Shaka it's one of the best hostels of my trip for sure. The place, the vibes and the staff are truly great, and the terrace it's perfect for relaxing and meeting new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×