Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Treehouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.9
Superb 506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 10.0
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.9
Superb 506 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 10.0
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2018
10.0

Hands down the best place I’ve stayed in Europe. Great spot, awesome staff (Abi is a legend!), nice hostel, great food (group dinners and breakys are the best idea), pool table/bar, and so many outdoor activities at your doorstep. Came alone and left with a new group of best mates. If you’re keen on a break from busy cities and or getting into some hiking/biking/all round fun times in a great spot, this is for you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2018
10.0

One of the best hostels I’ve ever stayed in! Never felt so looked after! Gerhard and Abi work so hard and are so lovely and welcoming. I wish I could have stayed for the rest of my trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • JordyV
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2018
10.0

This isn’t your typical hostel where you store your bags during the day and sleep off a hang over. No, this place brings people the together. You arrive a solo traveler and leave with a family. The Legend of Gerhard is true. He picks you up from the station, offers free breakfast, cooks the best lasagne for lunch and the best home cooked meals every night. Every day was an adventure and even 5 nights was not enough. Be warned that you will want to extend your stay so don’t make any plans after!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mannie_boy9854
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Aug 2018
10.0

Loved my stay here, i will be back you can bet on that. Amazing place for people looking to chill out and get a home away from home. Gerhard is an absolute LEGEND

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2018
10.0

This place is an absolute must! Gerhard does everything himself and it’s and absolutely amazing experience! Wonderful vibe and perfect escape from the big busy cities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2018
10.0

Best hostel I have ever stayed in. In a beautiful location with lots to explore and also a perfect chance to relax with a book. The hospitality provided by Gerhard and the treehouse staff is second to none. Each guest is so well looked after. I have never experienced anything like it. Best home cooked meals, amazing home made cider and an incredible homely vibe that you won’t find anywhere else. Staying at the treehouse is an experience in itself - an absolute must-do in my opinion.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Jul 2018
10.0

I very rarely give out straight 10s but the treehouse was a magnificent experience. Sitting down having evening meals together or having some of gerhard’s home brewed cider, you feel more like part of the family instead of a guest. The stream at the back of the house is tested annually so you can fill your water bottle up directly! A little slice of paradise that is a must stop for everyone. Thanks Gerhard and team!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2018
10.0

Gerhard, his lasagna, and home-made apple and pear cider are awesome, and the Grunau area is second to none. The water is incredibly clean and the Alps are amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Jul 2018
10.0

Loved staying here. Beautiful scenery, very friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2018
10.0

This place was probably my best stop in Europe. Breathtaking scenery and great people. Certainly a secret little gem for those whole stumble upon it! Gerhard or go home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×