Hostelworld.com

The Village Bondi Beach

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • oliviaroseday97
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2018
8.6

Great 1 night stay at The Village. Amazing location, so close to Bondi Beach. Booked a 2 bed private room that was very small, but featured great aspects such as it's own air conditioner. Staff were great and let us check in early so we didn't have to lug our bags to the beach. Unfortunately didn't get to hang out with other guests but it seems like a happening place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Oct 2018
2.0

This is an honest review of my experience staying in this hostel last week for a rough duration of 6 days. Unfortunately it was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. At check in we had to wait half an extra because the member of staff was smoking outside with her friends. Me and 2 mates all got put in separate rooms which were the size of a coffin. A guy in my room told me the room had just had bed bugs and the cleaner had only just changed the sheets that morning... The kitchen was vile.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • connormeade4482
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
28th Sep 2018
8.3

Walked into the room and it smelt of a dead animal, asked the reception to move room and they were very accommodating. My next room was a lot smaller but smelt a lot better, I think when they were designing the rooms in this place, they should of left out the en-suites and just had a couple of shared bigger bathrooms, as the size of the rooms are ridiculous, you can basically hold hands with the stranger on the next bunk! Kitchen nice and clean, only 2 forks in the whole place though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sianmrobertson982729
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Sep 2018
7.7

The kitchen is a nightmare, no one cleans after their own dishes and it’s overall dirty and no staff are there to make sure it’s kept clean (clearly)! We got into a private 2 bed room but the floor was still wet from people in the shower, the bathroom was covered in hair and the floor covered in muck. Not good. The location of the hostel is ideal, everything is a 5 min walk.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • harleybourne94301
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2018
5.7

Good security for luggage and getting in and out of the hostel. Location is perfect - less than a 5 minute walk to the beach. The hostel seemed very cramped, the room was tiny and the en suite wasn’t really an en suite, more of a shower and toilet in a pod. The room was rundown and not as clean as we would have liked. We got overcharged for our room which was difficult to resolve as they had to contact a manager which they struggled to get hold of.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2018
7.7

Great location close to the beach. Small rooms but with light and plug for each bed. I didnt like the place to eat in the kitchen, tables in the wall and seats in two dark and old rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jackgrears7094
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2018
7.4

My time at the village Bondi was excellent value for money, good location for the beach and all the cafès and bars. My stay was even more enjoyable by one of the staff members 'emerson' who was always around to help out where possible and always with no delay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ryanaflood5518
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
4.6

A random guy got in and was trying to get in all the rooms. The rooms are tiny and bathroom are diiirty. Communal room is locked at 10. Kitchen is a state. Also the war chests they give you to store your clothes in are rotten. Mine had a bit of cheddar and hair on it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • peterm3099
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
8.3

The Village is in an awesome location. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Parking is a nightmare so avoid that if you can. Also walking through a haze of cigarette smoke at the front door was not ideal. Please allocate a smoking area away from the entry. Its a bad look for what is a great spot and non smokers should not have to put up with that in the front courtyard.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2018
8.3

The location is amazing, it’s near Bondi Beach shops and bars. The beds are really comfortable but the bathrooms are really small. It was pretty chill vibe, there were even people living there, that said that moved to this hostel because of that. Great place to stay in Bondi Beach!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
×