Hostelworld.com

The Village Broadway

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jesslemon8094
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Oct 2018
9.4

Very friendly staff and friendly atmosphere in dorm rooms. Would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2018
2.0

If you feel dangerous in your room or the hostel, they don't make any help at all or just blaming you. the bottom shook my bunk. My number lock was opened criminally when I was not there. According to the above, I begged the reception to call for police and find out some one who did unlock. But she was not willing to do and just accused me. Plus, the contract Policy is illegal. Word-use is improper. Unable to cancel or change and refund for your booking if there are rights you have in law as hu

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay. The reception has confirmed that during your stay you were upgraded free of charge to a room with less people and a credit of the remaining nights of your stay was offered when an early check out was requested on your behalf. The reception was more than happy to investigate any claims made in regards to the behavior of other guests, however when no identity was provided there was limited options to proceed with. Kind regards, Ellen Management - The Village Hostels

  • ailie598664
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
6.6

Great facilities but don’t expect to actually sleep. The place is on one of sydneys busiest intersections bot to mention its also above a pub. Theres clearly been alot of renovations to an old building and the rooftop is amazing but yeah no sleep. Hostel dorm rooms are already not conducive to a peaceful night anyway but here, not a chance. No soundproofing whatsoever you can hear everything that goes on in the street the venue below bangs up through the floor, earplugs wouldn’t save you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
6.9

The people who were in the room with me were living there and had therefore spread out and made it difficult for there to be any room for anyone else. The breakfast they said was served was never there on time if at all, I didn’t have time to wait around to find out. This place is okay if you are only going to be there for a short time and only there to sleep otherwise it’s not the best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
22nd Jun 2018
5.7

The hostel is located on top of a pub, so don't expect any sleep (unless you're a very heavy sleeper). Even with ear plugs the music sounded like it was in the next room. Had to move hostels as I was not able to get any sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2018
7.4

The place is alright, good for the price (although I was there during the off-season. Be careful though, the rooms that have windows out to the main street are REALLY LOUD, and the bar downstairs is definitely not quiet. They provide ear plugs (kind of, they ran out), but it was still really difficult to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • genevieveengelhardt5753
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2018
7.1

The room was quite clean and comfortable, but there were/are issues with the sewerage in the bathroom, so it was very smelly (had to keep the bathroom door closed while in the room). The location of the hostel is great, close to Glebe and not too far from Central station.The reception hours are only 10-6 which is a bit difficult when flying or leaving at slightly different hours. There is also a live music venue downstairs which is noisey on the weekend, making is difficult to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
×