Hostelworld.com

The Village Glebe

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • keenanjensen1982
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Nov 2018
6.0

Extremely small one off the worst hostels I’ve stayed at extremely hot $32 for extremely overpriced

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jbackh081528
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2018
3.1

Long termers very loud, drinking everynight acting like the own the place even though no noise after 10. Lack of untensils in the kitchen, constantly asking reception for basic items. Cleanliness has gone downhill massively and the cleaners when they do ‘clean’ have no respect for people who may be working nights in the room. Also there is no gates or any type of security to get into the hostel grounds meaning theres ease of access for anyone to enter.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Nov 2018
4.6

Dieses Hostel war das Schlechteste unsere ganzen Reise! Der Putz kommt von den Wänden, auf den Laken sind Flecken, das Zimmer sah nicht nach wöchentlicher Reinigung aus und die Bäder waren dreckig und ungepflegt. Die Ausstattung der Küche ließ ebenfalls zu wünschen übrig. Eine Schüssel oder einen Löffel zu finden war Glück und Becher für Tee oder Kaffe gab es gar nicht. Außerdem gibt es dort viele Langzeitbewohner, die morgens Alkohol trinken und Gras rauchen. Gehen Sie nicht in das Hostel!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ivdanilenko5588
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2018
8.6

The staff were friendly and super helpful. Great place to meet new people. It does get a little loud in the evenings with music playing but after 9:00pm it becomes quieter. There is a kitchen and fridge that can be used and the grounds around the property are really nice and green. Lots of picnic tables and hang out spots outdoors, which is nice. Laundry is on site which was very handy. The beds were making nose so I felt uncomfortable making movements during the night. Good value for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • puddefootgeorgia9572
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2018
3.4

AVOID. Me and my boyfriend booked a 6 bed en-suite which they then said they didn’t have available so we moved to a 10 bed which was very small and cramped, everyone there was on drugs. I walked the room by myself and for the first time in Sydney I felt very uncomfortable to do so due to the guests there. The bathroom was covered in p***s and dirt so we descided not to stay there and tried to get a refund which was not possible so $300 wasted.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2018
10.0

Among all the hostels i stayed till now in Sydney, this one is best. Their dedicated Toilet and Bathroom per room is amazing. This helps in access to clean toilets and more of privacy. There kitchen is also good and especially the card based access to premises makes this hostel more secure. Every bed has a big box beneath it with a latch to lock and keep your belongings safe. Overall i loved staying in this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
18th Sep 2018
7.1

Nice new room, 4 bed, with nice bathroom good quality linen. The kitchen was a bit chaotic. Would have been a lovely hostel if not for the vibe, which was very much of a hardcore working hostel with people smoking weed in the main walkway of the property getting super drunk and fighting with seemingly no manager intervention. Funnily enough, I am a working backpacker too and I don't mind weed being smoked or people chilling but this was disruptive and not nice to encounter on a regular basis.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sgoodear4809
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2018
4.0

Whilst the manager was friendly everything else was pretty yuck. Big groups staying together who smoked in common areas and made me feel quite unsafe. Also lots of permanent/long term/older/working uests. Bathrooms and rooms were dirty with wet paper on floor, water everywhere and rooms smelt without the ability to open any windows. Guests were also allowed to keep food in the rooms which makes for a pretty bad experience (no signs to say otherwise). Would not stay here again or recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2018
9.4

Overall great hostel. Nice ensuite toilets/shower room in the dorms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2018
8.3

The staff are super nice and helpful, and the price is very decent. The rooms are clean enough, but a fair few minor things ( including a random visit from a cockroach ) cost it some points. It also has absolutely horrible internet. I tried to do some work while I was there, and was left buffering the entire time. I still enjoyed my trip, and may make a return. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
×