Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Village Kings Cross

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2017
3.4

We stayed in this hostel over NYE and it was horrible! This hostel is absolutely bad! It‘s very dirty, the rooms are super-tiny (15 sqm = 4 bed dorm) and the management is having no clue how to treat customers the right way. I highly recommend NOT staying at one of the Village Hostels at all!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2017
5.1

The hostel was very expensive, especially given the poor bathroom facilities. There was a constant queue for the bathroom. Someone vomited in one, staff were informed but it was not dealt with for over 24hrs meaning the limited facilities were even less appealing. No air con which would have been fine had the hostel been cheap, which it was not. Tiny room, nowhere to lock your belongings. Overall pretty poor.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2017
8.6

Nice Hostel actually, nice location, kind staffs, good atmosphere and clean. Just one thing which is pretty disturbing actually. No power socket for the top bunk bed, it is basic need i think.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kiwilodgeportbarton9051
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Dec 2017
6.0

I was in a 6 bed dorm, apart from me the other 5 were staying a while, lockers were all taken, the floor was covered in clothes and gear belonging to the others, the room was far too small for 6 people, had top bunk and had to sleep with my things on the bed as nowhere else to put them, would not stay here again, the location was fine in kings cross, the breakfast was ok but only on from 8 am, owner was friendly ,

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Simonefromholland
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Dec 2017
6.6

Eventhough the facilities are clean, there is just too little! because the toilets and showers are in one room, you cannot use the toilet if someone takes a shower. Really annoying and 4 showers on a level for, idk exactly, 40 people is way too little. Then the kitchen is drama as well, read the other reviews. Cook early. But the positive side is that the location is great and the cleaninglady is lovely, one of the staff is really helpfull, the others don't really care. I met nice travellers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
9th Dec 2017
8.9

Great place! I wasn't the easiest guest - extending my stay a couple of times at the last minute, leaving for one night to stay with a friend (I could leave my big bag in the luggage room which was great), et cetera but the staff was so helpful and everything was always not a problem. They made me feel very much at home in Sydney. The rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean. Would be nice if the roof terrace could stay open until 22:00, because after 21:00 now it gets very busy in the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2017
2.0

4 days and 3 nights without wifi nor Internet access makes everything a 2. My family was very worried. I could have gone to an Internet cafe or buy a SIM card. But, why Should I have to?

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Nov 2017
9.1

Room was small but all right. Everything is really clean and the woman cleaning in the morning had really nice sense of humor. The showers are big et hot. The best thing is their rooftop with an awesome view on the cbd. Prices vary a lot The bad point was they close the rooftop at nine and the common area at eleven. So after, if you don't want to go in a bar, you have to stay in the streets around. But as well it keeps the place quiet at night. So that's a good and a bad thing at the same time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vency_mendoza6066
  • Philippines, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay👍

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2017
6.3

Wifi wasn't great but they had good deals for clubs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×