Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2634 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2634 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ebardoe5052
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2018
8.9

The staff are lovely; friendly, accommodating and helpful. The rooms are so clean and the showers are great! Despite being close to the trainlines, I personally didn’t find the noise to intrusive and the fan in the room is a great addition! The kitchen is small and the ladies toilets could be improved but you hardly use them if you’re exploring London during the day (or if you’re a man)! The bar downstairs is lovely, the location is impossible to beat and I would definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2018
8.0

The kitchen was really small but overall great hostel. The staff is great and the location is excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2018
9.1

Best staff I´´´´´´´´ have ever met in the hostel in my life. They are all so friendly and helpful! I wasnt really happy that my room was on the 4th floor without a lift but receptionist helped me with my luggage and in the end it was not so bad :). Rooms are comfortable and clean, with enough plugs for everyone to charge the phones. Clean and warm shower is a great plus too. Bar downstairs is really cosy, with so many drinks to choose from and great prices considering its in the centre!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marlieerikahooper8444
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2018
9.7

Of all the hostels I have stayed in so far in the US and abroad, The Walrus is my absolute favorite. The ease of arrival view the underground, the flexibility and warmth of the staff, the old gorgeous building; perfect. THIS IS DEFINITELY A PLACE WHERE EARPLUGS ARE REQUIRED- The Walrus is right underneath an above ground train, no matter where your room is you will hear is loudly and often. About a half hours walk away is all the main sights but I also really enjoyed the Imperial War Museum.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2018
7.7

Trains! The location is central but right next to trains so it makes for a challenging sleeping arrangement. The lounge area is a bar so if you are looking for a spot to relax search elsewhere. The staff was great and helpful though. The breakfast was basic but included. The facilities need some updating but were always clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • wyliemark05760
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2018
9.7

Great atmosphere, good people solid location. Come to this hostel if you wanna have a pint with someone new and are okay with a noisy atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Rachelhale21173
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Sep 2018
10.0

The staff were amazing and the location unbeatable. I will definitely be staying here my next time in London

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sdimitriou146215
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2018
10.0

Lovely helpful staff! Great Location - can walk everywhere central and the complimentary breakfast is a nice touch!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Universeoflucy
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Sep 2018
9.1

A great location, only a short walk from Waterloo station. The atmosphere in the pub was great and staff were friendly and enthusiastic. Although it was quite noisey with the trains frenquently passing, we got a good sleep overall. Also the breakfast in the morning was fantastic, great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • heidirfarmer7435
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Sep 2018
8.6

Very helpful staff! Great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×