Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2433 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • oliviakomoro6561
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2018
6.0

Staying here was hilariously bad. I carried my luggage up four flights of stairs and when I went to have a shower the water only ran cold. When I needed a hair dryer I had to go down barefoot in my pyjamas down to the pub and wait in a line of people ordering drinks to ask about the hairdryer. They didn’t have any!! When I went to bed— my earplugs couldn’t keep out the screeching of trains going by overhead. And the mattresses are saggy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2018
8.0

+ convenient location, cute restaurants and bars on the street, cheap drinks if you drink at their pub, close to underground stop, they hold your valuables at “reception” for free - reception is in the bar (hard to get in when it’s crowded), no common area, no lift if that’s important to you (there are only 5 floors I think), where were the showers for the 22-bed dorm?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aclaussen6494
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2018
8.9

There were a couple cases of theft between some of the guests in the 22 bed room, but there is very little the hostel could have done to prevent that. Just make sure to ask the front desk for a padlock and lock your stuff in one of the lockers provided and you'll be fine. Great pub downstairs, comfy beds, decent facilities, good free breakfast, and it's pretty much in the middle of everything in London. However, since it is right next to Waterloo station it is a bit loud at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2018
5.7

the bed sheets were not clean and the whole place needs some renovation. I’ve stayed in many hostels and this one was probably the lowest I have ever stayed in. There were also issues with some of the other guests coming in late and vomiting as well as having sexual activity... it’s a hostel room shared with 15 other people.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • isabelagdds
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Jun 2018
9.4

It was my second stay here in a year! My favorite thing about The Walrus Hostel is the location. Great and helpful staff as well :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2018
8.6

My sister and I stayed 3 nights in a six bed mixed dorm. Facilities were nice and always clean. We got an ensuite but it was only an ensuite shower no toilet, the toilet was shared down the hall but it was fine. Free breakfast was great. Only complaint was the lockers don’t have lock holes big enough for normal combination locks, they offered to keep our valuables in a safe behind the bar but we still didn’t feel comfortable with that. I suggest that they spring for some new lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • khughes18884095
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2018
8.6

Was a nice place to stay Would recommend to others

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ariellylimacirilo4374
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2018
9.7

I had a wonderful time at this hostel. All the staff were so kind and helpful. The place was really good and the location was perfect. 5 min walking to/ from London Eye.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2018
9.1

Perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2018
9.4

A fantastic hostel. Couldn't ask for a better location - a few minutes walk from the Thames and the heart of London. Bar on the ground floor is always hopping in the evening and you get a discount as a guest. Staff was friendly & helpful, dorms & bathrooms were clean, free breakfast available in the AM. A few minor quibbles: wifi is spotty, bathrooms are toilet OR shower, but not both, and there are no common spaces for guests past bar close. But these pale in comparison to the Walrus' upside!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×