Hostelworld.com

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2740 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • vibratingstinkbug
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Nov 2018
10.0

Good hostel, I slept well and the bar staff were just lovely, even helping me upstairs with my bags. Easy to access with transit, would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Nov 2018
8.6

Overall, I had a good experience at this hostel. It was an EXCELLENT location. We were walking distance from multiple train stations, the London eye, Big Ben, Westminster abbey etc. My only complaints are that there are only two showers and there was often a line in the morning to take a shower. And, since the hostel is so close to the train station, it can be very loud when you’re trying to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mike_kmacho2400
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Nov 2018
5.4

The place is great located and is very cheap, but that have seriously maintenance problems in most of the restrooms and showers. The WiFi is low quality. The break fast is good and the rooms are fine. I literally stay there just to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Nov 2018
6.0

Conveniently located in the Center and well connected through Waterloo & Lambeth. First time I’ve stayed in a 22 bed dorm so I found it was quite overcrowded and lacked privacy as the room was very small and some of the bunk beds down the middle were actually joined together which is a bit strange. Had to charge your devices through extension cables (no personal sockets or lights for each bed) and there wasn’t one long enough to reach my bed which was inconvenient. Ok for a pit stop.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • daniellavido429
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Oct 2018
10.0

The staff and atmosphere here really made it for me. It's also super close to Waterloo station and not a far walk from Trafalgar Square so the location is really good too! Overall a really good experience :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mcentiremc
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2018
8.9

Would completely recommend staying at this hostel! The check-in and out process was easy, the beds were clean, and the location was very central to where you can walk almost anywhere. The only complaints I have are miniscule. The lockers were a bit small, when the windows are open you can be awoken by the trains, and on the floor we stayed on there was limited bathroom/showers so you had to wait sometimes. Overall, amazing experience and the pros completely outweigh the cons especially for price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • montano64642
  • Brazil, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Oct 2018
9.1

Well located most buses cross in front of the Hostel. Almost "inside the Waterloo train station. 2 blocks of the London Eye. Supermarkets on the neighborhood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rocioalbacete19965477
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2018
9.1

Great hostel with great people. The location is fantastic. I really enjoy it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Oct 2018
6.9

Pros: location close to main tourist stops and fun areas of the city center of London. With door codes for every room we felt safe. Bar downstairs is cozy. Cons: train station right outside the window, the previous reviews make it sound like the station is no big deal but it was obnoxiously loud. The cleanliness of the bathrooms was below average. The rooms were very hot even for being late October and cold outside.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2018
9.1

Can’t beat the location! Try The Crown and Cashion - great food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
×