Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jul 2018
9.1

Perfect stay in London!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2018
7.4

In terms of ambiance, those place is a 10. The common areas and bar are super cool. Breakfast is decent: cereal and toast with nut butter and jams with milks, juices, teas and coffee. The rooms are basic, lacking outlets by the bunks. The neighborhood is fantastic: tons of cool nearby bars and restaurants, walkable to everything and close to the trains. But therein lies the problem: the noise from the station is horrendous. They don't make earplugs for those decibels. You've been warned.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • loganhughes123785
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
8.3

You couldn’t ask for a better location for a hostel. We never stepped foot on a bus or train, since we were able to walk to the London Eye, Big Ben, Tower Bridge, Theatre District, etc. The rooms were immaculately clean, bathrooms too. The downstairs pub (although quite expensive) has a good selection of beers on tap. The ONLY thing is that it’s a bit loud with the train being right by the window. I had no issues sleeping (I’m sure the beer helped) but my buddy said he kept waking up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • malinagnetas8226
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2018
8.9

Great location, and a nice pub downstairs. I ended up extending my stay from two to four nights, so I had to switch rooms a couple of times, but the staff was helpful. Simple but nice breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hayleyscanlon115211
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
9.4

The location is great - London Eye, Big Ben, but also pubs, restaurants, and groceries. I could never get hot water in the shower - I feel that a hostel should be able to provide enough hot water for everyone to shower. I rate the location as less-than-perfect because of the overground right outside my window (on the 4th floor) screeching all day - starting early in the morning and ending late at night. Not much the Walrus can do about this, but be warned - bring earplugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2018
8.3

The best part of the hostel was its prime location in London. It is only a bridge away from Westminster and East London, the places I was most interested in seeing. There's a bar area downstairs for breakfast and a small kitchen upstairs. The bar gets busy at night so unfortunately, if you want a quiet place to lounge, it doesn't quite exist here in the evenings. Overall though, it was a great value for the cost and I definitely recommend it if you're on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jason_michal5336
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2018
8.0

Great staff, great location, only thing is that the train is right there so thats pretty noisy, bring a fan! It gets pretty hot as well, but all in all great eviroment....I would come stay again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mariaesabando3986
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2018
7.7

The hostel was in an excellent location not far from Waterloo station and from other touristic sights. Unfortunately the room was hot and there was no AC, room was noisy as it was next to train station, and the showers were too small to accommodate an avg size individual. Hostel lobby has a cool pub for drinks. Unfortunately the breakfast offered in pub was not as great as the drinks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2018
6.3

Great location and price point for budget travelers with a short walk to London Eye. Breakfast was simple but good. However, I stayed in the 22 bed dorm and it was very hot and the fans didn’t work. Needs some updating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jul 2018
9.4

Great value for your money. Very good location, though as the train passes right next to the windows it can get really noisy. Good facilities in general. My only comment would be that there are not any plugs next to the beds, so if you don't mind leaving your electronics far away from you at night, it shouldn't be an issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×