Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2678 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2678 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st Aug 2018
8.6

Overall I enjoyed this hostel, it is within walking distance to the city Centre and most tourist attractions, and if not the underground is really close by! The staff were really friendly and helpful and the bar down stairs was good to hangout in! The beds where comfortable and the rooms and bathrooms where pretty clean, only thing is it’s quite close to the station so it can be noisy but that didn’t bother me at all!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2018
8.0

The location was good but very noisy. The facilities could be a little better, the dorm was very hot but it just happened to be very hot that day. Staff ask to hand in IPads, cameras to reception when going out. This makes me wonder if there has been problems with theft. However, I got all my belongings back :). The staff seemed trustworthy. This is a relatively good hostel but if you want to sleep really well, I recommend going elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2018
10.0

Friendly and helpful staff, in a good central location close to the London eye. Very clean with a kitchen, breakfast and pub. Only downside is the great location means traffic and train noise. Thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mxtorres15722
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2018
9.4

The Walrus was a really charming hostel with a great location next to the London Eye. The staff is awesome, includes free breakfast and they lend out most items that hostels normally sell which is really awesome. It's a loud location since its directly next to the Waterloo rail lines but, it didn't bother me after a long day exploring London. The facilities are really old, but they were always kept clean and the staff more than makes up for them. One of my favorite hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2018
8.3

Wonderful place. Fantastic staff and location. 20 minutes to walk anywhere, 10-15 by public transit. Would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2018
8.3

Great location Bathroom and kitchen needs improvements

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • danikuuh0521
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Aug 2018
8.6

The hostel is in a pretty great location, though since it is directly next to Waterloo station, the trains going by all night are very loud. The beds are pretty comfortable, and it's great that you can get a towel for free from reception. The only downside to having a code for the door instead of a key card is that you have to carry a piece of paper around with you, which could be easily lost.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2018
9.4

This place is fantasticly located! The staff are very friendly and you won’t feel “nickle and dimed” - free towels. If you have electronics, don’t worry, they have lots of power bars. Warning - there is a train nearby that goes until 11:30pm so if you’re a light sleeper maybe this isn’t the place for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • isabella_wright4017
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2018
10.0

love the walrus

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2018
10.0

Only my ever second ever stay at a hostel and the Walrus was unreal. Such a friendly welcome and just a really cool central spot with everything you could need. I'll be back next time im in London. Thanks dudes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×