Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • generexis1249
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2018
8.0

Good value for money. A no frills stay at a no frills price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • fionasutcliffe3471
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2018
8.6

Very helpful, friendly staff. Thankyou!! Clean and comfortable. Only a short walk from the city centre

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2018
10.0

A very friendly and relaxing place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2018
9.4

Superior - More reminiscent of a boutique hotel in all aspects - the staff and amazing building, but with hostel accommodations/affordability. Going through a renovation on lower floors. Guests a bit messy, despite tight rules. Excellent bar with live music in a relaxed atmosphere. A quiet and much needed respite from the more chaotic pace of center of tourist hub. Highly recommend. Great views from top floors!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • saad06
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2018
7.4

Bedsheets not very clean. The toilet was not cleaned and dirty. Only one W/C for the complete floor was messy. The bunk beds were very close and the room lacked fresh air ventilation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2018
8.3

The hostel is a bit difficult to find if you don't know Edinburgh. But once I got acquainted with the city, I realized I it's actually very well placed. The place lack of a kitchen and the bunks are very tight and difficult to get in. Thought, it didn't spoiled my stay. The pub downstairs is nice and cosy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emkasm79921
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2018
8.0

The Westend Hotel was very nice. Facilities were clean and maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was convenient for exploring Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2018
10.0

The staff were lovely and helpful, the shared kitchen and shared bathroom remained clean the entire way through our stay. Reasonably priced bar. We had nachos and chips from the restaurant and they were delicious. The only issue was it was pretty difficult to find parking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • allenclark2417308
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2018
8.6

The room was hot at night but other than that everything was great. Nice place, nice staff, good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • austinhopf4353
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2018
9.7

The Westend Hostel was fantastic. The staff was extremely friendly. The rooms are very clean and the showers are hot. There is also an awesome pub on the first floor. The only ding is that they are currently in the middle of renovation, but once it’s done it is definitely a 10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×