Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 965 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 965 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lucassoutopj4573
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2018
8.3

Nice staying in the hostel, the place is calm and clean. By the night, there is live music down stairs with a cool Pint. Hope to be back one day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jan 2018
8.3

Nice place just recently done up. Very clean rooms. Comfy beds (for bunks). Fairly quiet when we stayed there in January which was nice for us but wouldn't be so good if you wanted to meet other people. Kitchen facilities had everything we needed but we're pretty grotty- seemed like staff don't go through it very often. Nice bar with good options for food and drink and live music on the weekend was great but weekend was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2017
9.4

Loved it! Perfect place for me. Great location because you are about 1 mile walk to the all the fun stuff (castle, shopping, drinking, eating, tours, ect...). I did not like that bathrooms required key card entry, especially because you already use your card to access the bedroom. I know why card entry is required but that does not mean I have to like it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Dec 2017
8.0

We were in a new refurbished 10-bed room which was great. Brand new shower and toilet ensuite, new carpet - very clean. Although it snowed outside, the room was warm and the heating was great. About a 20 minute walk to Princes St. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2017
4.3

They late checking they charge me 5 pound .without any information. Not helping man in the reception

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th Dec 2017
5.7

Location very far from the city centre, staff were very friendly and helpful, bed and bathrooms were okay for the price. The kitchen and common areas however were absolutely filthy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • freejafa96895
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2017
6.9

Apart from the fact I was awakened by a group of drunks at 5am shouting and bawling outside my dorm also banging dorm doors on Sunday morning I'm quite satisfied with the quality of the accommodation here. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Pedro-oliveira
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Nov 2017
4.3

Bad hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Nov 2017
7.1

Rooms are very nice and clean (a bit cramped in some of the dorms), nice bar, staff are very friendly. Kitchen needs quite a bit of work, surfaces, shelves, fridges really not kept clean enough, not that nice to cook in; also chillout space that isn't the bar is a bit small and cold. Would make a good hotel stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2017
7.4

Good, although there are no cupboards to put a bag. Kitchen is very very small. Bigger rooms have old noisy beds. Smaller rooms have newer 3 levels beds but the distance between beds are so small that you can't even seat on them. pros: Clean rooms and nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×