Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1030 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1030 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jun 2018
8.0

Great place for stay! Just a bit far from the spots you may likely to visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Jun 2018
8.6

The hostel was very easy to find and a good walk from the city centre. It was clean, tidy and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bunk beds didn't have a lot of space between them so I kept banging my head on the one above me. Overall I enjoyed my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sugarplummuffinfairycake6310
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2018
9.4

This place is fantastic. A quick walk to the main city centre, with coffee shops and convenience store close by. Food can be ordered from the bar at a discount (good food) It has been modernised so dorms have USB chargers etc in each bunk bed. Facilities are very clean. Friendly staff, super place. Would stay again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2018
7.1

Everything was nice and clean and the staff were helpful. This is not a community feel hostel and was difficult to make friends at, that being said a few friends were made, mostly in the bathroom. It was amazingly clean the entire time, the only downside was no hot water for a brief period of time which is abnormal. Overall I recommend staying here, 18-bed rooms are a little cramped but very nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2018
8.3

-No hot water on our first morning. I told the staff, and they said that was because it was morning time and so lots of people were taking showers. Poor excuse, if you ask me - it's standard for people to take showers in the morning and the hostel should have enough hot water for that. -Triple bunk beds in our dorm - very cramped and easy to bang your head just by sitting up in the bed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th May 2018
4.0

We stayed here for two nights and were very disappointed!! For two days the shower was COLD! And when we asked a member of staff when they’d be back working, they replied “I have no idea.” They mumbled something about a boiler but did not apologise nor did they offer a solution.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2018
9.4

Not bad at all. Stayed for 1 night while running an errand in Edinburgh, the hostel was easy to find, clean, friendly, great facilities, good bed with plug socket and personal light. Can't complain really!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shorttzack7181
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2018
7.1

There was only one washroom for 9 guests. Not the easiest to work with. Lockers costed a pound every time you wanted to lock up valuables. It was clean. The atmosphere suited an older crowd.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2018
8.9

Stayed here for one night after a festival! Good location and great facilities. Beds were clean and got a good nights sleep. Breakfast was pretty basic but suffice for £2! Thanks for the stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • davidansah3105
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2018
8.6

I enjoyed my stay but had a little issue with the spaces between the bunk beds. I think the spaces are very small and wish something could be done about it, also for nine people to be in one room with only one toilet I think it's not healthy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×