Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Oct 2018
7.4

It's a McDonald's among hostels. You kind of like it, it's clean and convenient but it has no personality and staff hates their jobs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • achuter2697
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Oct 2018
7.4

I only stayed one night, which I was happy about. The staff suggested to me I eat breakfast at a later time as they were expecting “bigger groups” to be dining soon. Very welcoming ... I couldn’t put the mattress saver on the bed decently since the mattress was as flexible as a brick and I was laying on the top third bunk bed. The overall cleanliness was okay though. No lockers for backpacks only small locks inside the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mollykerrr2927
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2018
10.0

Personally I loved my stay here! It’s only a couple blocks out of the main city area, but compared to other hostels in the area it’s very easy to find, and not on the top of a mountain. It’s newly renovated so everything is superb. They also have great deals on breakfast and lunch/dinner down at the bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dominiqueagartlan9175
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2018
6.9

This is definitely not a hostel for partying but in terms of the one night I had with my friend it was great. Very spacious and not at all cramped, comfortable and clean beds and reasonable facilities. On the downside the security lockers do not fit a backpack and the wifi was weak on our floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • connorjmccullough2704
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Sep 2018
7.7

Very stuffy rooms, not much fresh air. It was probably the quietest hostile I’ve stayed in though. Not a great hostile to meet others but perfect for a place to sleep. The lockers they offer are very small, only adequate for a small amount of valuables to be stored. The location leaves a lot to be desired, it’s quite a walk from the royal mile part of town. Also a single bathroom/shower for 12 people isn’t ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sam5972
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Sep 2018
7.4

Clean and modern. Not a lot of space for luggage in the 18 bed dorm. It says washing machine/laundry facilities available but they only have 1 washing machine which they also use for the washing for all the sheets, towels etc for the hostel and you can only use it if it’s free. I ask every night I was there and was never allowed which was quite inconvenient as I got home from work late and the laundromats had already closed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Sep 2018
8.9

Loved this hostel. Very nice area, clean rooms, comfortable beds and loved the carpet in the rooms! Was about a 25 ish minute walk to the old town but I didn’t mind! Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tattooedheartx38870
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2018
10.0

My first stay at a hostel,,, now I’m spoiled!! Hope they are all like this one!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Sep 2018
8.0

Hostel was good, no complains really, would stay again, however a/c set to one temp in rooms got stuffy during the day

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2018
8.3

Good, lovely staff. Bit far out from the centre but close enough to Botanic Gardens and still within walking distance to the main shopping streets (Princes Street). Kitchen was quite cramped though, and could do with more bins/emptying the bins sooner! The rooms were really nice and in good condition, although the triple bunk beds were quite uncomfortable in that anyone on the upper bunks could feel and slight movement someone else made on the bottom bunk. Bathrooms were very nice though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×