Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The White Tulip Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 3301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 3301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lauren-canavan6744
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Oct 2018
10.0

Lovely place, cheap great staff and location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Oct 2018
8.6

Hostel is well located and staff really nice and helpful. Downside is that with no ac, the windows need to be open all night and the street is reeeeally loud until 3am (not a problem if you are going to party tho) and WiFi wouldn’t work for me or other people in my room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aagreggs
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Oct 2018
6.3

It’s honestly not a bad place to stay! The location is awesome, beds are comfortable...I suggest ear plugs for when you sleep because of the noise from outside, and shoes for the shower. This place is cool if you are travelling with people since it’s in such a good spot. But as a solo traveller, the hostel doesn’t have any real common areas to meet people outside of the ones staying in your room. Other than that it was honestly fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2018
9.7

The only issue is that the internet is not always working

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • h170539325
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2018
3.7

We were told, at arrival, that our stay is not possible as the place is overbooked though our booking was done via Hostelworld. Instead, we were asked to shift to a hostel opposite to this one, at the same price. The room was extremely small, with no space to keep a foot. The beds were creaky. It was damp and extremely uncomfortable. We paid for the White Tulip but were given a room in an adjacent pathetic hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2018
9.1

Really good location and friendly staff. Facilities are basic but that is to be expected. Room was right next to a bell tower so bring ear plugs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • oettingerjackson2899
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Oct 2018
8.3

The White Tulip was great! Mostly clean and the staff were fun and cooperative. Location is perfect, within 20 min walk of all tourist attractions. Only weird thing is I didn’t realize this wasn’t a youth hostel, staying in a room with people who looked 35+ was a bit odd. Also no good spots to meet others but the pub downstairs is loads of fun. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2018
4.3

This place is dirty. Mold was growing on the windowsills, it looked like the blankets hadn't been washed in a while and the bathrooms were disgusting. We were on the top floor and the bedroom had no heating, it was FREEZING. They said they don't turn the heating on until a certain time of year! The only pro, you get a 15% discount at the bar right beside (downside is that the bar smells like old mac and cheese).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • murielletiernan7407
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Oct 2018
7.7

The hostel was in a great location! right next to a beautiful church. The staff was very friendly but we had some problems checking in (they told us we had beds 11 & 12 but those beds were occupied and they were not the most efficient at helping us solve the problem)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kg070318130
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Oct 2018
10.0

This was my first hostel experience and I was impressed! The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable they helped me out with everything I needed. I met some of the greatest people here everybody was nice and fun! I think it was a great experience and it’s is so convenient and central to everything. I had a great experience and for the value I recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and your kind words. Always lovely to welcome someone new to the hostel community=D Was great to meet you guys, and I hope you had a good time in the Dam. Cheers, Timon, Hostel Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×