Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Yellow

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 16578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 16578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2018
7.1

It wasnt that great.. I was the only girl and 5 other men in the room. I booked 6 bed “mixed” room. It was kinda creepy. Also, the bar and the night events are very boring. There was a schoold trip of 15 year old in the bar.. also the hostel is huge so if you want to meet people and socialize its the worst. Also its like 30 - 40 mins walking from all the sites.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're sorry if your experience at the YellowSquare was not that great. However, we'd like to advise you next time to book a female dorm. This way you can guarantee you stay in a room with only girls and feel more comfortable. Also, as per our policy we do not accept guests under 18 years old but the Yellow Bar is open to anyone who comes. It is also open every day as we want everyone to have a good time while meeting people from all around the world. We hope you had some fun at our Yellow Nights! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Oct 2018
10.0

Love it. Close to everything, has a bar and club and super easy to meet other people especially for solo travellers. The beds and bathroom are clean and nice. Definitely staying that when I return

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • NikHrdlicka
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Oct 2018
9.1

This is a very large hostel. They literally occupy almost half the street. They have their own fully functional bar, laundromat, bike rental, and much more. Great place to base yourself if you're the party type. But get ready for steep drink prices at the bar. You are also not allowed to bring your own alcohol, so it doesnt leave you with many options. Lots of great food nearby, and a grocery store and pharmacy are steps away. Not too far from most sights. I would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Oct 2018
6.6

Not a true "party hostel" more like a monopoly. Have signs everywhere stating they will fine you 50 Euros if you bring outside alcohol -> pushing people to use the bar which has the highest prices for beer in the city. Beware!!! True party area is Trastevere which is not close enough to this hostel. Metros do not run late so you will need a taxi to get there from the yellow. I suggest staying in Trastevere if you really want a party vibe. Wouldn't reccomened yellow hostel to anyone

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It's really sad to know that's how you feel regarding the YellowSquare. We'd like to let you know that the reason we decided not to allow externally bought alcohol on our premises is to avoid uncontrolled use, so we have areas designated for alcohol consumption, most notably the Concierge and the Yellow Bar. In Italy the sale and consumption of alcohol is regulated by strict laws. The law places responsibilities on us (the seller), for the safety and well-being of our customers, that we can only fulfill by knowing what our guests are consuming on our premises and by making sure we are not selling alcohol to someone that had a drink too many. On the other hand, we do our best to have everyday activities and events at the Yellow Bar only to make sure people can meet each other and have a great time without having to go very far. We do hope you had the chance to join us at our Yellow Nights!

15th Oct 2018
7.1

Too crowded always ...Stay and kitchen on different buildings which makes things difficult...Bed and locker facilities sree giod

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes! The YellowSquare is always full of people from all around the world, and we're always working to have as many activities as possible so that everyone can have a good time meeting other travelers. We'd only like to let you know that we have rooms and facilities in different buildings because we have grown a lot over the years, and we decided to expand so that all our guests could feel comfortable and well allocated. Anyways, we appreciate your review. We hope to see you back here someday in the future.

  • breannecrossley1534
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2018
7.4

Noticed they didn’t change the blankets after guests checked out and new people came in.. good hostel otherwise!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're proud to be considered a good Hostel :) We'd only like to let you know that we have a cleaning team working 24/7 with us and we're always on top of it, changing linens every day. If you feel uncomfortable and want something to be changed you can always come to us at reception and we'll do anything we can so you feel happier! Thanks for the feedback!

12th Oct 2018
8.6

Really nice hostel. Great for solo travelers looking to meet new people. The Yellow Bar was really fun, and so convenient as it was right next door. There were also some good restaurants on the same street. The one annoying thing is that you can’t drink alcohol in your room or in the common areas. I get it, they have their own bar and want to make people buy drinks there. But other than that, no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2018
8.6

Good atmosphere and location. The bar is very expensive, and you can’t bring in outside drinks. So it’s fun but pricey to drink every night. Also people who book through the website directly instead of hostelworld get 20% discount on drinks. Which sucks if you don’t know about the deal until after you get there, no way to upgrade.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Oct 2018
7.4

I didn’t spend much time in the hostel considering I was mostly out exploring, but I did like that it was very clean and safe. It was in a pretty good location right across from some great restaurants and the metro was really close where you can easily catch a ride to either the Colesseum or Vatican. The staff was okay. I felt like if I asked too many questions, they got annoyed. I also requested a bed change and they said couldn’t accommodate my request but the bed I wanted was empty. Um okay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It's great to read you felt comfortable and safe at the YellowSquare! We're also proud of our location since being only 500m away from Termini Station helps a lot when guests want to get around visiting amazing places around the Eternal City. On the other hand, we apologize if our staff couldn't be more helpful. We always do whatever we can to fulfill our guests needs but sometimes it depends on availability. We're sure they tried their best but we appreciate you leaving the comment. We hope you can come back someday, it was a pleasure to have you around! :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Oct 2018
10.0

I loved it, meet heaps of people while I was there. Book directly through them if you want 25% of on drinks and other stuff. It was clean, safe and close to the train station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×