Hostelworld.com

Tipsy Turtles Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2018
9.7

The tipsy turtle is a very fun, laid back hostel with good facilities, great people and a good in-house restaurant with delicious food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Aug 2018
7.7

This hostel is great for $1 a night, although we didn’t feel very safe when we were there. There are no locks on any of the doors so anyone can walk in off the street. The staff are really friendly though and give you tips on what to do in the area. Cheap happy hour too and we also got a feee shot which was fab!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Soloaroundtheworld
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Aug 2018
7.7

Exactly what you would expect for $1 a night. Bathroom could have been cleaner and rooms were boiling hot but definitely can’t complain for the price. Staff were very friendly. About a 10 min walk from Pub Street which is fine during the day but would not walk back at night time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2018
10.0

Fantastic hostel with a great atmosphere! Perfect location, walking distance to the buzzing night markets and pub street and dorm rooms very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • EllieMac
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
30th Jul 2018
9.7

Great hostel. Chill, friendly atmosphere, probably a bit party too on some nights. Fantastic staff and owners. 50c beer on tap, great after a day round the temples! Room and bathrooms were clean. Food was really tasty and good value. Lockers very small but enough for valuables and they have sockets inside. No AC in our room but a fan for each bed, no complaints for promo deal of $1 per bed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2018
2.0

Hotel manager's racist friend insulted my friends and I all evening, calling us ugly, making inappropriate sexual comments towards women and racist comments towards my friends. There is no security and all the dorm rooms are unlocked all day. Avoid at all costs.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Jul 2018
7.4

Nice staff, but very far from Pub St and the town centre

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Jun 2018
6.9

Ok stay, can get hot in the rooms and quite buggy but fine if you don’t mind either. Good draft beer while watching the football.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
21st Jun 2018
8.0

I really enjoyed the atmosphere at this hostel and it was a great bargain. I wish the rooms were a bit cleaner, but for $1 I can’t really complain.. The location wasn’t horrible, but it was a solid 10-15 minute walk from pub street and many of the other hostels are closer to the center of town. The tuk tuk driver they connected us with was absolutely outstanding so kudos for that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • toddbrooks5818
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2018
8.0

Had a great time, the atmosphere wasn’t crazy as it’s low season but there were still people at the bar every night and everyone was welcome to join them! Stayed during the World Cup so games were streamed every night. Helpful and friendly staff will book tours and trips for you and even transfers to next town, city or country via bus. Was recommended to me by another backpacker and the hostel lived up to the recommendation 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
×