Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tram Stop 14 Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Nov 2017
9.1

Located in Fitzroy and within walking distance to CBD. I stayed in a 3BD dorm and it was fine. Facility was basic as most hostels are but bathrooms were always clean so that was nice! Wifi is ok but signal was better in lounge. Would love to have stronger AC as room got a bit stuffy on hot days.The hostel itself is mostly full of long-timers which is great if you're planning on living in Melbourne for a while! I thought they were friendly. Overall, I thought it was a good value and good vibes :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Staying in our hostel suits people who want to stay long-term whilst they are working and they are most welcome to do so. We do have a friendly group of people with us and they always welcome new residents. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

18th Nov 2017
6.3

Staff is nice but facilities are rather limited. It's a cheap hostel by it's messy and I found cockroaches in the bathroom. And the kitchen was dirty as well. On the other side, full of young people if you want to socialize.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are in the process of painting the hostel. Unfortunately this makes things a bit difficult. The kitchen can be messy (not dirty) but it is cleaned every day. The managers aren't responsible for the cooking and cleaning habits of residents. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2017
4.9

Hostel is filled with long termers - avoid unless you're looking for that exact game. Staff were down right rude, unwelcoming with no customer service at all and I begun counting down the days til I could leave. Facilities are pretty limited - design and layout of the building is questionable. I had a room with no windows, only opening out to the 'lounge' with my bed being right next to the tv on the other side of the window.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Let's get the record straight. Staff have never been "down right rude" to residents who are our bread and butter. If we were, we wouldn't still be in business. We're sorry you counted down the days until you could leave because you were very happy when we gave you a discount on your rates. You were in two different rooms, both with windows. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

  • whatawolly
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2017
9.7

Clean, friendly and free wifi. What more can a hostel have? Quiet and pleasant working hostel with long-term backpackers. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • justinetralala
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Sep 2017
6.3

Good location but horrible room with a window opening on the living room, no natural light in all the parts of the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're sorry you were not happy in with the position of your room. We would have moved you if we had known. Thank you for staying in our hostel and for your review.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Aug 2017
6.6

Very basic accommodation, only go if location and cost are your sole criteria. Kitchen facilities suck. People were nice (as in most hostels). Rooms are cramped. You basically live in a stairwell.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This is not true. May be you thought you were booking a private room in a five star hotel, instead of a 10 bed dorm in a backpacker hostel. The kitchen facilities definitely do not suck and I can assure you no-one lives under a stairwell in our hostel. This is a glass half empty review.

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
8.0

Great Location with the Tram right in front. Easy to get to the Little Bourke Street with the Tram. Museum just behind as well(1-2min walk). Good security as well for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Great hostel, very clean and good security and good atmosphere, they provide your own furniture (sheets, pillows, cups, plates...) and can get plenty informations from friendly staffs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our staff are more than happy to help our residents with any information they require about Fitzroy and Melbourne, and they take pride in just how much information they possess. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.6

The hostel has a fantastic level of cleaning: the room were fantastic, the bed were super comfortable and the bathroom were spotless. Very good value for money. BUT... The owner talks for ages! I took us almost half an hour (!) for him bubbling over basic information (like how to lock a door...) and this went on and on forever. Honestly, we felt like we needed to avoid Neil before he keep talking to us for hours. Just keep it short Neil! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Neil is prone to bubble forever over basic information, but he's a good bloke who likes to go that extra bit further for his residents. We're very happy that you were pleased with your stay in our hostel. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

27th Jul 2017
8.6

Fantastic hostel, great location (tramstop outside or a 15 minute walk to the CBD), great value for money and had Netflix in the lounge area. Wifi didn't really work in the rooms but worked perfectly in the lounge. The family who run the hostel are really friendly and helpful and made us feel really welcome, would definitely reccomend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are located in the best part of Fitzroy and very close to the city, and well serviced by public transport. We are working to improve Wifi reception in rooms. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×