Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tupiniquim Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • isa_baggio2634
  • Brazil, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Sep 2018
8.9

The staff is amazing, very kind and helpful. Great location and excellent view.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • javadin10807408
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2018
9.4

We had an wonderful time in the hostel. We loved the location... Botafogo is fantastic. The street the hostel is located on has a lively market every Saturday. However our trip was made by the staff. Jonny really made our stay special. He took us to the local parties and even his home. A real guy!! We are comming back on Oct 20th!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2018
6.3

Bathrooms needed to be cleaned more regularly than they were and, although I understand why there was no fridge, it was still inconvenient. Air conditioning was good though and beds were comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2018
10.0

Alex, Johnny, and the team are making their best effort --it sure pays off, it's a pleasant and a mature place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • messerwilliams1086
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jul 2018
9.1

We really enjoyed our time here. The staff were very friendly and always willing to give advice for things to do in Rio, the hostel was very clean and the location was perfect for exploring. Overall a good experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • roxyglopez6166
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jul 2018
10.0

My friend and I really liked this hostel. It’s clean, staff is really helpful and nice, they also looked after our big back packs for 3 days while we went to Ilha Grande. We re booked with them when we returned to Rio because we liked it that much. We had originally stayed at another hostel in Rio but because it was a little dirty we changed to this hostel and we are so happy we did. It is Not a party hostel though, it’s more chilled but you sill have a chance to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your kind review! it's our pleasure to be able to host you again.

  • joshthompsonccb7728
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2018
10.0

Very cool hostel in a nice part of Rio with fantastic staff who work very hard to provide a personal, comprehensive service for each individual guest. Great, sociable atmosphere centered around the bar area which provides an opportunity to meet and socialise with other guests from around the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • olivierdeswart7684
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2018
6.0

Previous negative comments were true. List of unnecessary rules at arrival, cameras everywhere, the kitchen lady was very unfriendly and possessive of her kitchen and you only got one piece of bread for breakfast, a lot of noise from the traffic outside, an old and horrible creaky bed, cold shower and no access to a fridge because of trouble with inspection once (just clean it every now and then). Great tv with Netflix and films and a 24 hour bar with rooftop terrace. Overall wouldn't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, I see you have a lot of complaints so let us review them shall we ? The rules themselves are necessary, and I do agree that some of them might sound weird at first but really: there are people that need to be reminded to take a shower (no kidding), some people don't seem to understand that it is not cool to answer a phone call at 2 am inside the dorm while everyone is sleeping, that you should wash your dishes after preparing a meal, etc. Basic stuff right ? well, as I said there are people that argue that "they didn't know" so that's is why we put them on the paper, standard procedure for any decent hostel. Cameras are on the common areas, all hostels in Rio have cameras nowadays, it's for your own safety man, what's wrong with that ?. As for the breakfast: well I disagree, see, you paid 31 dollars for a very nice double private which includes private bathroom, AC and a free breakfast: a sandwich, cake, fruit, jelly, tea, coffee, milk and juice. It is enough for 99 % of our guests. You can always get a better breakfast of course, but then the room won't cost you 31 dollars. The showers are fine, you just need to adjust the temperature (remember that we told you how to do so at check in?). Nope, the fridge thing is not because a "once problem". It is an ongoing legislation, and certainly not fixable by just cleaning every now and then, please check your facts before stating them. Glad to hear that you liked our film collection. Cheers:)

  • mahizadyar
  • Iran, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2018
9.4

مسافرخونه الکس حرف نداشت. هم خودش و هم خانومش و هم جولیا که اونجا کار میکرد کلی به ما حال دادن. اگه ریو اومدید حتما بیاید اینجا بمونید.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kidsoreilly1476
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
4th Jul 2018
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff is attentive and friendly. I will stay here the next time I come to Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×