Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels San Francisco

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 6336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 6336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
7.4

Just spent 3nights here with my sister. Room was spotless. Common areas were very nice. Security was good: every guest has to show their room key to get through the internal door HOWEVER on our last night we came back &both showed our cards &were let in only to be stopped by a staff member at the stairs who berated my sister for not showing her card (which she had). He was unpleasant &we found this to be a hugely negative experience. Generally we didn’t find the staff to be very helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2018
8.6

The hostel is in a great location, and the staff are all very friendly and the free breakfast is very handy. The rooms are very small and squishy though and the lockers in the room are quite small. There aren’t heaps of bathrooms either so you may have to wait for the bathroom/shower in the morning or at night when everyone wants to be using the bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Elise_1
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
8.6

Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfasts. Cute rooms. Hallways had an off putting scent but the room I was in did not have a smell to it. I appreciate that the front desk asks you to show your room key when you enter the dorm area - this made it feel secure. If you plan to stay here, keep in mind that the lockers are on the small side. Fits a carry on bag and a day sized backpack. I recommend this hostel and would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tdonaghy718339
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2018
8.3

Was everything I needed it to be. Very hip/modern, only young people, definitely good value. That being said it is in the heart of downtown, which sounds good but walks back at night were a little sketchy. If the hills are not an issue for you, you can walk to a good amount of attractions (I walked 30 mins or so to fisherman wharf) otherwise be prepared to use public transit or ride share services.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2018
9.4

We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a private room with shared bathrooms. The staff was very nice, they’ve helped us everyday with directions. Everything was super clean. Breakfast is the same everyday but you can eat as much as you want. The location is perfect, you can easily get to Powell station (10-15 min walk) where you can get on any bus/ metro/ cable car etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vsperduto19901051
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2018
9.4

Definitely a younger crowd party type hostel but rooms are clean location is great and staff was cool

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2018
9.1

Would definitely stay here again. Great location, great amenities, clean space, and friendly staff. Was too exhausted to participate in the hosted social event, but it was very lively and looked fun

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • akashjogi
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2018
9.4

If you're reading this to decide whether or not to stay at this place, I'm gonna tell you only one thing. DO NOT STAY ANYWHERE ELSE WHEN YOU'RE IN SAN FRANCISCO! This is the best place to stay at, period.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2018
8.9

Great stay! Wouldn't think of staying anyplace else. Only issue is not the Hostels fault. For some.reason like,.many homeless and drug addicts hang out in the front. They seem harmless though! 4 bed ensuite is too cramp for my.taste, but that's hostel life!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tanyajallen923139
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2018
9.1

Really great stay! I wasn’t there much other than to lay my head but it was in a fabulous location !! Always something going on but very easy to tuck yourself back and sleep if that’s all you want !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×