Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

USA Hostels San Francisco

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 6680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 6680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
4th Nov 2018
8.6

Hostel in a good location, close to central shopping area, supermarket etc. WiFi also good and room was spacious. Kitchen was a little squashed, and breakfast things ran out fast and were not replenished. The kitchen was also a bit messy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gkgkent7764
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2018
4.0

Really average. No communal space outside - all in a stuffy grimey basement. No vibe in hostel, mostly Chinese tourists staying there. Extremely overpriced for what it is. Toilets are disgusting as you can’t flush your toilet paper an the showers are limited. Not worth the money and does not have any hostel charm

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • rockalllucy7109
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2018
8.6

A great hostel in the heart of downtown l.a. The room was bigger than we thought it would be. The location was okay didn't feel 100% safe a night. The room was very clean with fresh towels (however a hand towel for the bathroom would be great).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • calumlees6001
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2018
6.9

Staff and overall hostel were of a high standard for such a place but despite being central, the surrounding area is not the nicest by a long way and you are normally forced to walk past some very grim sites and areas to get to and from it. My overall impressions of San Francisco is one of disappointment as half the city has been forgotten about and has a huge drug/homeless problem. I will never be back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Oct 2018
8.9

Enjoyed my stay at USA hostels, but I did not use many of the available facilities so cannot comment. Rooms were pleasant and generally clean/in good condition. Very much liked the personal shelf/plug sockets/lamp on each of the bunk beds. Nice atmosphere in the place and very good amount of information and activities available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2018
9.4

Overall would recommend. Positives: - Strong WiFi - Free breakfast - Great location Negatives that the hostel could improve: - Foot mat for showers - Hand towel for sink - Oiling bathroom door (R114) as it creaked horrendously when anyone used it in the night - Having toilet roll holder on back of the door is loud for the room - The bathroom door doesn’t fit the space so the gaps allows noise to flow through the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ines_ponces2773
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Oct 2018
6.3

Breakfast was bread and coffee basically. You have to make and un-make your own bed. Hostel is not awesome and it is overpriced for what you get.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Oct 2018
9.4

Great hostel. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was great, everyone was very friendly and chatty, and the staff really helped this along. The area around the hostel was a good walking distance from the main sites and the hostel supplied bus routes if that was your preference.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • justinetheridge129862
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2018
9.4

Great place to stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Oct 2018
9.4

I had a really good time at this hostel. The hostel holds different events you can take part in, and I joined the walking tour. It’s a great way to see the city and get to know people at the same time! I also joined the party night and they had free alcohol in the bar! The staff were super friendly and overall I had a really great stay - I highly recommend and I would stay here again! There’s also a noodle place right opposite the hostel which does great food and it’s relatively cheap!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×