Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

United Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2018
9.7

Prime location. Such friendly staff. Great place to meet people in. Everyone in the hostel is so friendly and social. Awesome facilities. Was meant to stay only for one night, but extended for a week then came back for another stay. One of my favorites.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • charlinedelsaute3258
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2018
7.7

Thé security in general is good except sevaral thefts (food). Staff nice. The atmosphere: every group stay together and don’t include you

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We do have a free walking tour that leaves the hostel every day so people can make friends. We also have activities on every night of the week in the bar so people can meet others! We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th May 2018
10.0

I really like united! I’ve moved to check out another hostel for the time being but 100% coming back once my stay here is finished! It’s a really central location so great for manoeuvring around the city. Everyone is really friendly and there’s loads of opportunities to be social- great place to first stay when you arrive in Melbourne to get you settled :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2018
10.0

Great location, very friendly staff, nice old building, central to all major sites. One of the nicest hostels I've every stayed at. Clean, secure, great staff - everything is 10/10. Don't cry about wi fi people. Enjoy the city , location and people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us such a lovely review! We really appreciate that you have taken the time to do so. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2018
9.1

Great location opposite Flinders St Station. Helpful staff, clean common areas and bathrooms. 12-bed room was naturally a disaster zone with guests' belongings strewn everywhere despite the provision of personal lockers. Despite the rather character-less professional design, it had a good vibe and wasn't just a party hostel -- lots of long-term working holidayers. No proper common space to hang out and chat/chill later at night except for the downstairs bar. Spacious but busy guest kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We do have a kitchen, TV room, and a chill out area for guests to relax in if they do not wish to be in the bar! We hope to see you again soon!

11th May 2018
10.0

Idk why united backpackers doesn't have a higher rating because this is definitely one of the nicest hostels! Lockers, wifi (in the main rooms, and don't really extend but I didn't mind, only stayed for 2 nights), perfect location, reasonably priced, clean, and has it's own bar! like idk what more I could ask!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us such a lovely review! We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to do so. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

11th May 2018
9.7

Really good hostel, came here first stop in Australia after travelling Asia. Priya at the front desk was really knowledgable and helpful in getting me set up for working Thanks 😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! Priya is over the moon that you were happy with her customer service! we really hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay!

  • rcom7157
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2018
9.7

Great stay. No issues what so ever. Every staff member was great. Got to shout out Liam for setting the president on arrival. Would highly recommend and would happily return in the future.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2018
9.7

United is great hostel with a good atmosphere. There’s a lively bar downstairs but the rooms are still quiet enough to get some sleep. The staff are friendly & helpful, especially Liam who checked us in! I stayed in an 8 bed room which was more pricey but was worth it because it wasn’t too busy. Also free pancakes in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We really hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2018
9.4

Good but a bit expensive for a private room for two.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'Day! Thanks so much for leaving us a review. Our prices are competitively matched and we also offer awesome weekly deals! We really hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×