Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

United Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • maryanneloehr3727
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2018
6.9

Wrong choice for me. Room right above the bar, very noisy room until midnight all 4 nights. And Very Hot in the room, couldn’t open curtains, broken, and no AC!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2018
9.7

I only stayed one night here but had a great time. There were lockers in the rooms to use. Free breakfast in the morning was good. And the bar downstairs was really social and easy to meet people down there. Also great location opposite flinders station right in the centre of Melbourne.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lindseyroseburns9258
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Oct 2018
9.7

Great location and great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Oct 2018
9.7

I had a great stay at United Backpackers. It’s location is perfect - just opposite Flinders St station and easy walking distance to most sights. The rooms and bathrooms are also very clean. The staff are fab, Liam on reception was incredibly friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hostel and would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2018
8.6

Great hostel. Will stay again if in the cbd for sure! Great location & the cleanliness of the bathrooms was the best I’ve seen in a hostel for a long time! Comfortable beds just lack of room to store back & belongings in the actually room. Happy & friendly staff. Recommend for sure :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! We do have lockers underneath all beds for guests to store their backpacks and belongings. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

30th Sep 2018
7.4

I stayed there for two nights in mixed dorm with 8 beds, which is packed. The dorm is only suitable for sleeping or doing some reading on bed. it's packed but efficient. i was surprised that there is no common room for socilaizing except a tv room on the 2nd floor. The free breakfast is not in the hostel, but a few doors apart in a travel agency. The breakfast is pretty nice though, toast, boiled beans and eggs, all sorts of condiment. would recommend to stay for budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2018
10.0

Simply the best hostel in Melbourne

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the awesome review!!

  • stitcheroo
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Sep 2018
8.3

The location is fantastic, the atmosphere and general feel of the place is great. Most of the staff were super friendly but we did have one guy at reception who was a bit abrupt with us when we first arrived. The rooms were spacious and generally clean. Unfortunately the ensuite bathroom looked a little tired and unclean. Also when I stripped my sheets in the morning to leave, I noticed that my mattress was heavily stained which was a bit off putting. The rest of the hostel was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'Day - thanks so much for leaving us a review! We are going through a process of changing over mattresses. We hope that this didn't affect your stay too much. Thanks

23rd Sep 2018
9.4

Great facilities and location but more of a hotel feeling, less community

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'Day - thanks so much for leaving us a review! Sorry if you felt that our atmosphere wasn't too good. We really do try to get our guests involved with our nightly activities and free walking tours so they can make friends. We hope that the next time you stay with us that you can get involved with some of our fun nights in the bar. Thanks!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2018
8.3

Good hostel in a fantastic central location, offering many tours such as the great ocean road tour. Good facilities such as a big kitchen and nice showers. Comfy beds too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us such a positive review, we really appreciate it!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×