Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Uptown Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 34 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 34 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Feb 2018
4.0

This was definitely the worst hostel I ever stayed at! The stuff was just rude all the time&didn’t even greet others, they didn’t found my reservation at the beginning and the rooms were just messed up. There is no atmosphere at all, I reserved 3 nights but left the hostel after one night again. I am used to bad hostels, but this was definitely the worst one! There are much better hostels for that price&I stayed at a really good one for the next two nights for the same price. Do not book there!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • juhosarkka6705
  • Finland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Feb 2018
7.4

Remember to ask for an extra blanket since they are really small. Ac was blowing straight to top bunk uncomfortably. Big plus from free toast and selection of different table spreads.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jan 2018
6.3

Location is great but the hostel is very basic. I loved the free toast and coffee! Furthermore, the atmosphere is cold; no decoration, music or anything like that. Some of the staff were very kind, others did not even say hi back. The bathrooms were dirty, there were a lot of hairs in the shower. There are not a lot of facilities apart from the toast, though I appreciated all the maps and discounts (although they were not all available). Overall quite expensive for what I got.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jenniferwestaway5933
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2018
7.1

Overall our stay was Ok. We didn't spend a lot, so I guess my rating reflects the price. I booked a 6bed, private dorm that was very small. Only 5 people stayed in the room and it felt cramped. The mattresses on the beds are very thin and not the most comfortable. blanket provided to sleep under is far too small. Sink for cleaning teeth and washing is in the main area of the hostel which strange and only 2 showers and 2 toilets for all the guests. Staff very helpful when we looked ourselves out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • rosiecoll123
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
20th Jan 2018
2.0

They were overbooked so cancelled our booking and have stopped replying to my emails about a refund...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, when we overbooked, we already asked you for a paypal account to return the deposit. It was your slow response to the paypal account that is why we could not return the deposit immediately. We have refunded the deposit once we received the paypal account. please do not accuse us of not replying emails when u don't provide ur paypal account ....

  • leongpengjun4045
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2018
4.3

Hotel manager rejected me because of my nationality, and refused to provide me a refund. She told me she won’t accept my kind of people.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • macarthursteph8943
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2018
5.7

I booked reservations for two people, my brother and I. When we checked in we were told we could only have one locker since we were under the same reservation. Then when we went to pick beds, we were forced to pick one bunk bed (top and bottom) instead of picking whichever beds were available. We would have been better off if we booked our reservations separately because their rules are ridiculous. The showers were gross- very large clumps of hair in the drain!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • dangtient8636
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Dec 2017
7.7

Pretty nice hostel overall but severely lacked in ambiance and atmosphere. If you're looking for a place to socialize and meet new people, this place isn't for you. If you're looking for a quiet place to rest your head that's clean, easily accessible and safe, come on come all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2017
9.1

Nice hostel for the price, very clean, staff are helpful. Not the most sociable place I've stayed but was a nice place to spend a couple of nights. Chinatown is only a few minutes walk away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2017
7.7

La limpieza la hacen muy por encimita, nada a profundidad. Desafortunadamente hay pocas opciones en la ciudad a buen precio.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×