Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Apr 2018
7.7

A lot of weird people are living in the hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cam_82675
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2018
9.4

Had an awesome time staying here at this hostel. It was my first time in Melbourne so I didn’t know what to expect or where to go. Not the closest hostel to the bar scene but a $10 min uber wasn’t too awful to chapel street. there is a McDonalds across the street and a grocery and liquor store 5 min walk. Very nice location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th Mar 2018
7.1

Not to bad, not to good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi , many thanks for taking the time to review Urban Central. We are pleased that you were happy with our staff, facilities and that we offer a value for money product. Happy travels. Cheers the Urban Central team.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2018
9.4

Recently stayed for 2 nights while attending an Ed Sheeran concert, the location was perfect only a 20 mins walk to the train station, we got a private room and it was wonderful so spacious and clean no bad smells nothing bad, I would recommend and stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to review Urban Central. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back next time you need accommodation in the city. Cheers, the Urban Central Team.

  • michaelcook018177
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2018
9.4

Great location with everything you need. Friendly staff too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to review Urban Central. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that when you next need Melbourne accommodation in the future that you stay with again. Cheers, Sarra

9th Mar 2018
6.9

Unfortunately rather worn hostel, and the bathrooms were filthy (at least on first floor). Kitchen and bar area nice enough but turned off by the cleanliness aspect. Appreciate it's a large hostel but could definitely be nicer. Staff were friendly enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to review Urban Central. We are pleased that you like our kitchen, bar space and friendly staff. I am sorry to hear that the floor you stayed on was not clean, I will speak to the housekeeping department as the bathrooms are cleaned twice daily. Thank you again for your feedback. Cheers, the Urban Central Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
5th Mar 2018
8.9

Schönes Hostel nahe der Southern Cross Station. Stadtzentrum ist gut per Tram oder zu Fuss erreichbar (wenn man laufen mag;))

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hrcobrien8680
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2018
7.1

Nice place but its rude to assign someone to what you call a “nice room” when the guest has just emphasised how tired they are, by “nice room” they mean a room well known to be switched from because of all the inconsiderate roomates in there, in particular a roomate with a reputation of waking other housemates up after his night out (not to mention push you off your bed, god knows why he was allowed to stay) not to mention, someone stole my toiletries!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2018
7.7

overall good place to stay. more like a hotel vibe then backpackers meeting point. big place so there is no special place where people hang out and get social. wifi not free. also no own alcohol allowed inside. great place if you work and want a good place to sleep. if you want have a better social atmosphere and there are other places better in the city including free wifi and breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear you did not like our internal rooms however we do have other four bed dorm rooms with windows. Happy to let you know that we now offer free WiFi on the ground floor for surfing the net. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The Urban Central team.

  • oliviacampbell
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
18th Feb 2018
6.0

Didn’t like this hostel at all Too big, no atmosphere, miserable staff and not the best location. I guess it will do for a night or two.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with our staff and location, as we are always highly for this. Enjoy the rest of your travels. The Urban Central team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×