Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 2781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 2781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Aug 2018
8.0

Great spacious hostel,as a lot of tour groups stay at this hostel. Everything is great,apart from the traffic noise on city road and the overpass. My best bet is to get the top floor,as it,s more peaceful and quiet on the higher levels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • purcelltam1439
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2018
10.0

One of the best backpackers I've ever stayed at. Staff are awesome and friendly. The rooms are clean and smell lovely. Overall wonderful place best location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • josiethompson94557780
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2018
10.0

I've stayed here twice now, both in a private room and a dorm and I have no complaints about either stay. Urban Central is my absolute go to for accommodation on a budget when visiting Melbourne. It is so close to the CBD that walking everywhere is an option, the staff are second to none and their facilities are brilliant! I have and will continue to recommend everyone on a budget, stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mkspillane19947570
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2018
6.9

I can't fault the cleaniless or rooms of this hostel, the bathrooms and rooms were spotless but the atmosphere of this hostel made it the worst I've been to, its like a halfway house because of the strange people that hang out there and they always seemed to be about making us feel uncomfortable. Also when your in the kitchen someone just hangs over you while you cook and stares which was odd and made you feel like youd done something wrong. the wifi only reaches your room if you pay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • FrancescaG
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jun 2018
9.7

Staff could not be more helpful, one of the best hostels I've stayed in

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • addyhaohao1502
  • Taiwan, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2018
10.0

Everything’s nice. Receptionists are kind and sweet. Made us like home. Perfect experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • el-fuenios
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2018
8.9

Nice backpack with good staff and good people to meet. Nice bar for start the night, 8pool,baby foot, ping pong and TV. The room was clean and safe. The bathroom clean cause wash every day. The only bad thing is you have to pay for have the WiFi in your room (it should be free).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • johannareau5520
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2018
6.6

Urban central is a classic backpack. The kitchen and the bar are really nice. The room are really basics and clean. Lockers available but need your padlock, you need to charged your from your locker, the sockets are inside. Bathroom are ok. No free internet except downstairs in the bar and kitchen. So free internet in your room. The atmosphere is not super great, must of the people just work. If you want to meet people it's not the best place but if you wanna stay for few nights it's fine

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • evaweva8592
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jun 2018
7.7

Good facilities but no atmosphere. Has everything you need, for a good price, free rice and pasta v handy. Not much of a vibe at all tho, and everyone seems to live here, doing their own thing elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review Urban Central. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities, value for money and free rice and pasta. Often in winter there are fewer guets in-house and people tend to work during the cooler seasons to save up for further travelling. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers, the Urban Central team.

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jun 2018
6.0

Good location, very clean but there are thieves stealing food. I won’t recommend this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback regarding our great location and our cleanliness. Unfortunately when sharing facilities with other guests it is unfortunate that some people have little respect for other peoples belongings. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers the Urban Central team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×