Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2762 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • el-fuenios
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2018
8.9

Nice backpack with good staff and good people to meet. Nice bar for start the night, 8pool,baby foot, ping pong and TV. The room was clean and safe. The bathroom clean cause wash every day. The only bad thing is you have to pay for have the WiFi in your room (it should be free).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • johannareau5520
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2018
6.6

Urban central is a classic backpack. The kitchen and the bar are really nice. The room are really basics and clean. Lockers available but need your padlock, you need to charged your from your locker, the sockets are inside. Bathroom are ok. No free internet except downstairs in the bar and kitchen. So free internet in your room. The atmosphere is not super great, must of the people just work. If you want to meet people it's not the best place but if you wanna stay for few nights it's fine

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • evaweva8592
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jun 2018
7.7

Good facilities but no atmosphere. Has everything you need, for a good price, free rice and pasta v handy. Not much of a vibe at all tho, and everyone seems to live here, doing their own thing elsewhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review Urban Central. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities, value for money and free rice and pasta. Often in winter there are fewer guets in-house and people tend to work during the cooler seasons to save up for further travelling. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers, the Urban Central team.

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jun 2018
6.0

Good location, very clean but there are thieves stealing food. I won’t recommend this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback regarding our great location and our cleanliness. Unfortunately when sharing facilities with other guests it is unfortunate that some people have little respect for other peoples belongings. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers the Urban Central team.

  • asheleah6240
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2018
6.3

Everything was fine until we went to bed, the nightclub downstairs shook my bed all night until 4:30 am when the fire alarm went off, we evacuated down to the lobby and received no indication from staff on any information or if their was in fact an emergency. Communication needs to be better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review Urban Central. We sincerely apologise that you found it difficult to sleep and the lack of communication regarding the fire alarm. This has now been dealt with by management and we appreciate your feedback. Cheers, the Urban Central team.

  • Anonymous
  • Antarctica, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
7th May 2018
9.7

Had a dorm and a private while there. The private was hotel standard and the dorm was decent! Top hostel. 100% recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed both of our room types and thank you for your 100% recommendation. Happy travels, the Urban Central team.

  • selss_864198
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2018
8.6

The Hostel Location is great! Near to all public transport and clean. The only problem I have is most of the guest here are staying for long term. They think they own the place (ie: one of the roommate)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are lucky to be in a great location, close to public transport shops and cafes. Many travellers' choose to stay and work in Melbourne and Sydney for a period of time to save up for their travels, it is unfortunate that sometimes not all guests are respectful of other guests. We do you hope you stay with us again, Cheers, the Urban Central team.

  • LordMatthew1
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd May 2018
9.4

Lovely hostel, big kitchen, good bar area, places to relax on each floor. Only slightly strange thing is the showers are 50% see through, could see the lovely man next to me washing his body ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, many thanks for taking the time to review Urban Central. We are pleased you liked our facilities and all that we have to offer. We do hope you stay with us again. Cheers, the Urban Central team.

  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2018
6.3

It is not safety for me , I do not like touch me when I am sleeping,I say someone "Do not touch me! ,DO not touch my thing!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2018
9.7

It is really great staying in the double bed private rooms at the top of the hostel as the traffic noise,etc,is a lot less compared to staying on other lower levels. Facilities are excellent too. Good room space to accommodate large bags and suitcases.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review Urban Central. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that when you next need accommodation in Melbourne that you stay with us again. Cheers, the Urban Central team.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×