Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Urban Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 2815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 2815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • runningfit8896
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2018
9.1

Great central place to stay and excellent value for money. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Kitchen fridges need some repairs but all basic facilities available. Only downside to the night was that a band played loud music which reverberated through the entire building until 5.00am. Wish I had of known :( but overall felt very happy with the stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • paulrichards8287
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2018
8.6

Unfortunately I was in a room with a ridiculously loud snoorer. May trying to sleep near impossible

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Oct 2018
9.7

Very good hostel, worth paying a little extra for. Spacious dorm rooms with comfortable bunks and lockers provided. It has parking onsite which was a big winner for me, it costs $15 a day. Location is great, short walk to the city, crown casino, trams to St Kilda adjacent and a Macca's across the street. Good bar on the ground floor with happy hour daily, pool tables, and sport on TV. Shower and toilets are pretty good, a little dirty, but generally good. Will definately stay again and recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • siobhan_clarke22006
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2018
5.7

Some members of staff were very rude, didn't even look at me, just barked orders. There is a $10 cash key deposit which wasn't made clear, so I had to use their ATM which charged. Sheets were stained and bathrooms need a good clean. Shower cubicles have no locks and some didn't shut at all. Cheap, but you get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2018
7.1

IF THERE'S A DnB GIG ON, YOU WILL NOT SLEEP! Staff, Location, Security, Cleanliness, Value, Facilities - all fine. Sound - f*****g terrible. Drum and Bass gig next door playing from 1am to 5am, the sort of music that sounds like an ADD kid left alone with a big red 'bass drum' button mashing it at random intervals and stopping briefly to think about dragons. Even if you were having a big one and made it back at 3 or 4 in the morning, you'd still have 1-2 hours of wall-shaking music to listen to

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Sep 2018
5.1

Spent 4 nights not managing to sleep properly for the club that was playing techno music untill 5 am daily.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • lilybel21
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2018
10.0

I Always have a good experience when I'm at urban central

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Christiee30
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
24th Sep 2018
8.6

Located just out of the cbd and therefore the free tram zone but only a 20 min walk from the two main train stations. Nice big rooms, it was freezing but the staff were very helpful and brought up an extra heater. It was my second stay here because I’d had a good first experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jasonpgiffen6731
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2018
8.3

The kitchen was cleaner than many hostels I've stayed in. They had staff who sterilized the dishes and wiped counters. The rooms had large lockers. Seemed alright.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mannaseh9491
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2018
10.0

Great stay, nice room mates, cheap happy hour drinks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×