Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Oct 2018
7.4

You'll love it if you've just turned 21 and being *** up. As a solo male traveller I can't make friends over pounding dance music and the staff screaming down the microphone actually gave me a headache. Really disappointing. A tip please offer a chance for people to mingle and say hello to each other. So many staff members who didn't help or introduce me to people and just wanted to push me to buy tours. Best located hostel. Excellent facilities. Shame its an American frat party for kids.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hannahstephens014025
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Oct 2018
9.7

Staff were very friendly and welcoming, and hostel had a great sociable atmosphere with events (pub crawl, karaoke, pub quiz etc) held at the bar every night. Rooms were clean and spacious with large lockers, a safe box, a socket and a light for each person. Music was quite loud if you were on the lower floors and wanted an early night. Other than that the only issue is that we left something behind and haven’t been able to get hold of them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2018
8.9

Great hostel overall. Definitely a party hostel though. Be prepared for loud nights and drunk roommates! That being said, they close down the bar around 11:30/midnight so it's pretty quiet then, though it's still a busy street. Beds are comfy, nice storage lockers for all your stuff. They offer lots of travel excursions and tours in town, definitely take advantage! The backstreet motorbike tour was my absolute favorite thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Sep 2018
10.0

The busiest hostel in town, VBH Downtown is almost a landmark in Hanoi's bustling Old Quarter. The common room/bar is a great place to get to know fellow travellers. The energy here is spot on! Our room was great and there was a massive common washroom on our floor. The amenities at the hostel were on point considering how busy it is. Also, definitely check out their tours. We did a backstreet Hanoi bike tour and it was a superb experience. My second time here and will definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2018
9.4

very social, very good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Sep 2018
10.0

We originally booked to stay here for one night but ended up staying for 3 nights. Really good atmosphere, very sociable, a great place to meet new people! The drinks offers were really good, and each night there was a different event for everyone to take part in and then the reps took everyone on a pub crawl! The travel desk were really helpful with sorting out day trips and places to see/things to do in Hanoi. The rooms were nice and clean as were the bathrooms! Definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • LewisBarker
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
20th Sep 2018
9.7

Party hostel and lots going on but super chill in the day. Very sociable. Super travel desk to help onward journeys. Rooms are clean and comfy. Bit loud if you’re on the 2nd floor but the music turns off around 11.30pm. Great chill out area on 5th floor. Cafe great and free brekkie :) we did castaways tour which was totally worth it. The best way to see Ha Long Bay! We were a couple and could choose double bed dorms which means we can still be sociable :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Sep 2018
10.0

Amazing hostel with a very central location. Great if you want to party and meet new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2018
7.7

Hostel was nice and located well, great party atmosphere. Very much catered towards the young party crowd! Staff were very helpful and gave great advice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Sep 2018
8.0

Friendly and a very social hostel if you're looking to meet people. Good location you can wall to most attractions from here....if your up for a little walk that is

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×