Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Walk On The Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1661 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1661 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • janinebishop908379
  • Wales, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2018
10.0

LOVED THIS HOSTEL !! We stayed in the sister building ‘Chill on the beach’ and it was the best of both worlds !! You can go to walk for the bar and the party is never ending. (Happy hour is lethal lol !!) Such a good location 2 min walk to Copacabana beach right by a laundrette and bank too !! The staff are soo friendly & helpful i would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to have a good time !! We will be back here 😆

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Sep 2018
10.0

Easily one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Great location and good facilities but it's the staff that make it so fun. I'd 100% stay again if (or when) I'm back in Rio :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Sep 2018
8.6

Really enjoyed our stay at walks on the beach hostel. Handy location only 5 mins walk away from the beach, great atmosphere to meet fellow travellers amd staff are amazing. Annie was informative and helpful of what to do in rio, Arthur was friendly and helpful and Alexis did a fabulous trek with an amazing view which would highly recommend and was a great bartender. Thank you for everything. Might not be the cleanest of hostels but hands down best atmosphere and place to meet other people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • alexiskj2835
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2018
9.1

I ended up extending my stay in Rio and a large part of that was because of how much I enjoyed staying at this hostel. The staff and volunteers are amazing and super helpful. I felt super comfortable and safe here. The location was great, and they were always suggesting things to do/see. This hostel is definitely super social which is great for young travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2018
8.0

Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Hostel is in good location, close to Copacabana beach. The room we were in has 3 tier bunk beds which we aren’t big fans of and the room was small for 6 people with backpacks. The beds weren’t very comfy but sheets were clean. Ladies shower upstairs wasn’t working but downstairs there were more that did work. 2 for 1 caipirinhas during happy hour :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2018
9.4

The staff was so amazing and everyone made sure to make you feel comfortable from the minute you arrive until you leave. Great location right near the beach and shopping areas. I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2018
10.0

Amazing time at Walk on the Beach! Great staff and awesome vibes. Bathrooms and common areas cleaned twice a day. Rooms cleaned and beds were made every morning. They offer excellent tours and transfers for an unbeatable price. Every night the bar has 2 for 1 caipirinhas and the staff take you to all the best clubs, bars and parties in Rio. One of my favorite hostels around the world. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • snifflyire
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2018
9.7

Walk on the beach wasn't like a hostel it s more like a home. Staff were perfect everything from check in (arthur) to booking booking tours or transport (Elaine). Thanks aaron and fred for taking me out and showing me where the locals hangout. Couldn't recommend anywhere better in Rio. Thanks everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2018
10.0

I had a lovely stay (5 nights). The staff is super friendly and helpful and made my stay fun! Super close to the beach as well and the security is awesome (all night) Much love

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2018
7.7

Highlight of the hostel were the awesome reception staff. The hostel felt quite ‘old’ and needs a little love and lots of volunteers were just hanging around. They have something going on each evening so lots of opportunity to see Rio’

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×