Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Walk On The Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1625 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2018
9.7

My experience in Rio would not have been as great as it was if I hadn't stayed at Walk on the Beach.I intended to stay 1 week but ended up staying almost 3 total! It is very social and the volunteer staff are amazing. The location is excellent as well. About a 5 minute walk to Copacabana and 10-15ish to Ipanema. The caipirinhas in the bar are great (shoutout to Mati). Also, be sure to do the Pedra de Gavea hike with Alexis! It is AMAZING!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2018
10.0

his is my second trip to Rio de Janeiro and I love Walk on the Beach hostel as much as I love Rio. The staff goes out of there way to create a family environment. My first time staying here in 2017, I was invited to an upstairs birthday party where I met plenty of amazing people from all over the world. The hostel is only a 5 minute walk to all the shopping and restaurants you can imagine. And the beach is very close as well. I consider this hostel my second home and cannot wait to come back!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2018
6.3

The volunteer Staff is awesome and have to put up with a bunch a crap from the hostel management. The atmosphere is nice, as it is in most places in Rio. I'm not a picky this is the worst hostel I've been. They are INFESTED with mosquitos and bed bugs. The whole place smells kinda funny. This place is so cramped. It seems like management only wants to provide you the cheapest experience possible. I'm pretty sure some prisons have better sleeping arrangements than here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • gibsonjoadams240
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2018
9.1

Fantastic hostel. All the staff were very kind and helpful. Had a great vibe and really enjoyed spending time in the hostel bar. Thank you so much guys. I hope to visit this hostel again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Jun 2018
8.0

There is no such thing as perfect place. If you find a proximate one you have to pay a hefty price to enjoy it. I booked at Walk on the Beach Hostel not expecting it to be a perfect Hostel. I am doing this review so that the owner can do so much more to improve on what should at least be the basics. Cleanliness for example...there's so much room to improve on this area. Facilities: the kitchen wares and other kitchen-related stuff can be upgraded. The Staff is the asset of the Hostel! TY to Alex

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your time. Our cleaning staff works hard from 7 AM to 11 PM in order to keep our facilities clean and organised since all our spaces are shared, which should always be considered. We'll keep in mind the comments about kitchen wares and work on improving kitchen facilities. Thanks again for leaving a review.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jun 2018
9.4

One of the best hostels I've been to!! Great location very close to the beach. Great vibe very cheap (but highly quality) drinks - they recommend good parties every night and usually you can get a discount. The bar closes at 11 so if you don't fancy going out you can sleep easily. The staff are all lovely and incredibly warm and welcoming - some of the staff make their own jewelry as well which you can buy for a ridiculously good price (it's beautiful). Can't recommend this place enough!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st May 2018
9.1

Awesome volunteers, made the stay fun and super enjoyable! Shoutout to Matias, Flor and Jose! Free caiprinhas on your first evening

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hannahireland
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
29th May 2018
7.7

Staff are so so so helpful and friendly, really make an effort with the guests :) location is good and close to beach. WiFi is good. Unfortunately the rooms have triple bunk beds with ripped leather mattresses that are extremely uncomfortable. The rooms & bathrooms are not very clean and could do with an update!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd May 2018
10.0

A great place to stay, staff are amazing and super helpful, creating a really nice atmosphere that attracted good people. I visited Rio three times and returned to this hostel every time. Would recommend to anyone doing any sort of trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st May 2018
8.6

The hostel was ideal location, close to the beach and supermarkets! The communal areas were quite small but his made it cosey and easy to meet people. Most the staff were amazing, Arthur especially always going the extra mile to help. However, some of the female staff staying in our room were quite rude, and unfriendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×