Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Westend Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 1257 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 1257 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Nov 2018
4.9

We booked in for 4 nights and ended up only staying for one, fully understanding there are no refunds given. We were shook by how dirty it was, it's nothing like the pictures. The bathroom never got cleaned, duvets never washed (just folded back up) and several cockroaches. Facilities were definitely not up to standard with one working elevator for 13 floors. It was cheap and in a good location to the city center but I wouldn't stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • amandafransham5693
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2018
5.4

While we understood that paying ~$15 for a bed was inexpensive, but the value was not there. We stayed in “the church” (32 beds in one room) and knew that would be an experience. My #1 issue is the cleanliness—the carpet was extremely dirty and the room smelled because of it. Also, the air conditioning either didn’t work well or wasn’t turned on, so the combo of dirty carpet and warm temperatures left for a less than pleasant situation. Just know what you’re getting into before you book.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • dabutle
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2018
5.4

Place is a dump, common area is like a squatters house. Good location that’s about it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • steveritchie3919026
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2018
8.6

Overall my stay here was really. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eh_lexjones266972
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Oct 2018
3.1

When I walked up the narrow stairs the place was a mess! The smell was terrible!!!! Then trying to get into the room was impossible with the size of the place... also again the smell was horrific! The only good thing abot this place was the friendly staff at the front desk! Ive traveled many places and stayed in many hostels all over the world , this was the worst !

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • shona_x1997
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2018
9.4

For what I paid I couldn't have asked for much better. The rooms are pretty basic but have everything you need. The location is perfect if you want to be in the city and there is always a fun atmosphere in the hostel. The staff were all lovely and always up for a good time and party! Will 100% be staying here again in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpynn8676718
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2018
6.9

I picked Westend Backpackers based on location and room type, I wanted a private room and bathroom. The room was shabby, the pillows were pancake thin. The bathroom was not an ensuite which was not communicated or obvious to us, it was on the other side of the hall. One elevator was broken so the single elevator was always congested. The staff didn't follow through with providing towels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2018
2.6

***dont ever stay here*****. It is not safe at all*** I had my laptop, sunglasses and some of my clothes stolen from their 'safe' room. When I confronted the staff they admitted they have no cameras and the ones.they do have dont really work. They also acted like it happened all the time and when I asked that they call the police they wouldn't let me and instead made me walk to the station. I filed a report and the police called the hostel and confirmed that all cameras are.down. f**k this place

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2018
9.1

Central location with super friendly staff and an awesome party atmosphere. Building was a bit dated, but it looks like they are renovating, excited to see what it looks like on my next trip through Sydney. Bed was clean and had a bathroom in the dorm room. The real highlight for me was the entertainment/events. The nightly events in the kitchen provided an easy way to meet fellow travelers and the entertainment team take you to a different party every night. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • graceharacz1066
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2018
4.6

DON'T STAY HERE! We had a private room and it looked nothing like the pictures. The whole hostel is dirty (kitchen is very dirty), our room wasn't pleasant having found multiple cockroaches in both the room and bathroom. It's worth paying the tiny bit more to stay in another hostel or cheap hotel, as here you are paying to stay the night in squalor. I'm extremely disappointed such an establishment is advertised on Hostel world, a website which I trust. I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×