Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 9670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 9670 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • craigoss
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jul 2018
8.6

Hostel was clean and good lockers for all of your stuff. Rooms and bathrooms cleaned daily, very good location. Good value for money, would recommend. Only issue is that only 2/4 washing machines were working. And in a hostel full of 100s of people this is not ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2018
9.7

Great hostel! So much fun energy here. Also one of the cleanest hostels I’ve ever been in. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2018
6.9

I have stayed in 4 other Wombat properties prior to this one and expected the same but was mistaken. This hostel is IMO is branching away from what Wombat's does awesome and trying to be a party hostel similar to other hostels in close proximity of this location. Bar closes at 11 and was constantly asked to buy a pub crawl/party boat cruise ticket. PASS ON THESE. The boat cruise was a literal scam. The free booze is regulated and they drop you off a solid 45 min walk from central Budapest.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2018
8.0

Generally, the hostel is a good value of money. some aspects bother us a bit though. there is a bar on the ground floor and it gets pretty crowded and noisy even on weekday evening (we stayed from Thur-Sat) A bit noisy even til midnight consider we lived on the 3/f. The cloakroom at the back of reception gets really dirty and unattended, food, sauce, clothes, rubbish were left on the floor and shelf. Breakfast is so-so (3/5) for its quality but only costs 1000 Forint so it’s okay for us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • brucejacobs275206
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
9.4

The location and the staff are first-rate. This was my first experience with hostels, and to be honest, arriving after a long flight to a room without amenities like soap and drinking glasses was a little tough for me. Still, for the value and location, you can't beat staying in a place like Wombat's.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • thealexcavallaro7554
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
5.7

Was kicked in the chest and fell to the ground by the security guard after I ran into the hostel while being chased by a prostitute. Not cool...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are really sorry for this experience. We also think this is unacceptable and already took actions to prevent this to ever happen again. Unfortunately, since our hostel is located in the middle of the party area of Budapest the security staff has seen so many absurd situations that sometimes it could get real hard to make the right judgement in a few seconds, however this kind of behaviour will never be tolerated by our company under any circumstances. Again we are truly sorry for this experience and would like to apologize in the name of the security guard as well. Best wishes, WomCrew

  • kylerussell5972957
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2018
8.6

Very nice hostel with good access to a variety of big locations in the city, there’s a lot of space to relax outside your dorm as well as a luggage store for bags before or after checkout.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We would like to thank you for the nice review :)

10th Jul 2018
9.4

An excellent place to stay! My one downside was that my roommates were incredible slobs which is not the hostels fault. The welcome drink was silly too. Either a regular size or just skip it. A thimble full of beer? Who looks forward to that? The staff there was excellent!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for this amazing review! :) Unfortunately, since we are one of the biggest hostels of Budapest we had to make reasonable decisions about giving things for free, but we definitely would like to welcome our guests with a free drink even if it's just a small one, at least for the gesture. :)

  • claireshaw46117
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Jul 2018
7.7

Not the best Wombats hostel I’ve stayed at. But it was still good. Close to the main restaurant and bar area. The beds were comfy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking you time to give us a valuable feedback. Of course we have areas where we would like to improve even compared to our other hostels, however we think there is something nice about having a few unique features in each Wombat's that makes our guest's stay a little bit different in each city. :)

  • angelbvstamante4894
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Jul 2018
9.1

The hostel was excellent and the room was okay! They have a walking tour and they help you out with anything you need !! Would stay here if back in Budapest

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much! :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×