Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 10013 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 10013 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2018
8.6

Great experience. Showed up and they helped accommodate placing a friend and I together and gave us an upgrade. When that room wasn’t clean they moved us to a clean room that was even better. Very, very safe and secure and the lockers in the rooms are great. The hostel is in such a great location in Budapest for the price and location this place can’t be beat. The atmosphere in the common area is pretty drab but who cares - you’re in Budapest. Staff are super helpful. Huge thumbs up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2018
8.6

Room floor had weird marks on it and the bathroom ceiling was peeled like everywhere. But overall bed and sheets were clean, the breakfasts were good and I enjoyed the opennness of the lobby area. Location is amazing, just blocks from a transit hub and near enough to the river. It's cheap and cozy so I'd definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2018
5.4

This place is absolutely just sad. The sheets and pillows were stained. And the WiFi was absolutely non-existent. I get it isnt the ritz Carlton but a hostel has two Main jobs: 1) clean sheets and bed(doesn’t even have to be that comfortable) 2. Good reliable WiFi !! Do better wombats

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Sep 2018
8.0

Only stayed one night here but the staff were very helpful in helping us get across town for a 6am train. Facilities were all very good including A/C in the rooms. Room was a little bit dark though. Would stay here again if I was in town but a little bit soulless if you’re after a rowdy night out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2018
8.3

Good breakfast even though it’s not included, worth paying. Clean. Great location. Showers could be better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurencr
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Sep 2018
9.1

Hostel was great. Large room, clean bathroom. Heaps of info of what to do around the city. Wifi was not suitable.... it could hardly send a snapchat. We ended up going to the other restaurants around to use their wifi instead. Other downfall is that cleaning staff appeared to go through our luggage and left their dirty towels in our room. Other than that, a great hostel and would stay again- would just lock our stuff up real tight next time :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • susirinortner8665
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2018
9.7

Great hostel! The staff was super nice and happy to help anytime. We had a great stay and no problems.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Abbiecooperman
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Sep 2018
7.4

My room smelled really bad and the bathroom looked and smelled like it hadn’t been cleaned in a while

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Please, in this case let us know immediately, so we can clean the room again. Our cleaners clean our rooms daily, but the dorms are harder to keep clean all day. We are always happy to help with any problems at reception. Best wishes, WomCrew

7th Sep 2018
6.9

Cold showers. Spotty to no internet in rooms. Very dirty bathroom-not cleaned for there days. Breakfast dishes very dirty. Breakfast options ok, not great. Bread stale. Only one side of the toaster works. Breakfast people attitude not friendly. Front desk people friendly and helpful. Can book reservations for cruise and baths. Saves you time on site. Need cash to purchase. When I told front desk staff at checkout about dirty bathroom, they really didn’t respond. Just kind of looked at me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Sep 2018
8.0

Good hostel but very large so doesn’t feel personal and may be difficult for solo travellers to meet people. Bar crawl wasn’t great and was expensive. Stay in a smaller hostel for a nicer experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×