Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Wombats City Hostel Budapest

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 9036 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 9036 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2018
8.3

Amazing location! However, not very clean! Originally checked into 6 female dorm but smell of sewage was insane ! Thought it was temporary but was worse when I got back after a day out. Staff were very reasonable and changed me to a less smelly 4 dorm for free where cleanliness was what you pay for (reasonable!) overall good experience but no place, no matter how cheap, should smell like that! Almost spewed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • vanle1212926748
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2018
10.0

Everything is so great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hudasofiah5273
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2018
9.4

spacious room with good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • fernandomourao12098293
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2018
8.6

Very good location, the staff is very polite and helpful, it has a nice bar, the room is quite big, but the beds are very small and the bathroom is not good at all. Taking a shower was always a terrible thing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jan 2018
7.7

This hostel is pretty much good in all areas accept one. But it’s an important one. The bed is rubbish. It is just a price of foam on a wooden slat frame, not a proper bed. Seeing the only time you should be in you room in Budapest is when you are sleeping, this is important. I think it’s a bad area of the hostel to cut costs. I will try a different place when I’m back in Budapest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking your time to give us a feedback. We are really sorry that our bed's quality didn't meet with your expectations. We have bunk beds in our dormitory rooms and king size beds in our private rooms. We are working on making our facilities better and better and we would like to thank you to show us another point what we can put on our list. Wish you happy travels, WomCrew

  • keenanjensen1982
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2018
10.0

Great hostel 4 bed dorm great staff sensational location cool pub crawls good fun I hope to return

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
8.9

Great location. Fantastic staff. It's pretty clean, the bathrooms can use an upgrade though, since it leaks and if anyone in the building flushes, be prepared for a temperature change. Wifi sucks in rooms, but works pretty well in the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your kind feedback. We are working continuously on upgrading our facilities, changing the furniture and equipment in each room. We hope you have had a wonderful time in Budapest, yours, WomCrew

29th Dec 2017
5.7

Booked 6 bed dorm and got 4bed door without explanation why. Bathroom was very dirty and not cleaned one day I was there. Some people in the room smoked weed and cigarettes in the room. Smell in the room was awful. Some Aussie girl bring guy to the room who was not staying in the hostel in the middle of the night. Stuff didn’t care at all! Plus is great location, kind reception stuff and breakfast worth 1000 HUF.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking your time to give us a review, and please accept our apologies for the inconvenient situation with your roommates. Sometimes we give free upgrades on rooms to our guests for logistic reasons, we are really sorry we didn't explain the situation for you during check in. With any troubles in the room or with the roommates you can find us at the reception and we can figure out a solution, so please next time don't hesitate to tell us the problems. Also thanks for the nice words. We hope this didn't ruin your holiday in Budapest. Yours, WomCrew

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2017
10.0

Really good hostel, one of the best I have been to. The rooms were clean! The staff was super friendly, amenities were more than sufficient! The best part was the location of the hostel, which was at the heart of the town. All the important areas were at a small walking distance from the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

<3 thank you <3

  • kmohandeoghar
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2017
9.4

This was second stay in the Wombats Hostel Budapest. I am really impressed by the comfort, cleanliness and facilities provided by the hostel. The staffs are warm, friendly and ever-helping. The biggest advantage of the hostel is its location. Situated at a 5 minute walking distance from the St. Stephens Cathedral and the Deak Ferenc Ter metro, the connectivity is amazing. You can visit the St. Stephens Cathedral, Chain Bridge, old town market, parliament and the castle by walking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you for all the kind words <3

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×