Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Woodquay Hostel Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2018
6.3

5-10 minutes from Latin Quarter so quiet at night. No lockers in the bedrooms and not enough space in the 6 bed dorm. Ensuite shower was either boiling hot or freezing, but the hallway showers were all push buttons. Lots of long term residents it seemed like. I've had much worse, but I would try my luck elsewhere next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Mfaherty13379
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2018
10.0

Excellent thanks for having us. See you next year. Sincerely Mary Ellen Faherty

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bnuaster4510
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2018
8.0

Location is very good, quiet place and near city center! Staff were very nice and welcoming. I think that price is a bit expensive for what it is compared to previous hostels I have been to, but in the context of Galway where prices are quite high, I guess that is ok as value for money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Malta, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2018
8.6

Security: other Hostels have cages in the rooms to keep you luggage under lock and key in a shared room. Im not sure about other rooms but ours didn't. I highly recommend installing these facilities, even in a 4 bed bedroom. Other than that I loved the place, very friendly staff and beautiful location to be in. Keep up the good work, I would definitely consider coming again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2018
6.6

Facilities like bathroom and showers aren’t great and the ceiling of the dorm started leaking severely in the morning getting on the beds and luggage. Other then that the staff is good and there’s a good atmosphere here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • elementsforus2322
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2018
8.0

This hostel is okay. Rooms, facilities and cleanliness of the average quality. Nothing to complain about, worth remarking the free breakfast which is a very useful feature

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • reibhoy881512
  • Venezuela, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2018
8.9

It was all good, beds are good enough to sleep well, luggage can be kept at reception, you can rent lockers for any valuables and the staff is helpful. The only inconvenient are the showers, for instance the shower in room 7 has the water switch outside the bathroom...apart from that it's grand

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ctemple366114
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2018
9.7

Great staff, great environment. All around positive vibes and good times, highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • grantt18644
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2018
4.9

Location Location Location! This a great location and property has huge potential, but needs investment. The room was clean, with a fresh lick of paint, but there was a stain showing through on the ceiling. Blackout blinds in the room were very welcome and USB chargers build into the sockets were great, but it was all basic and had a clinical feeling. There was no character to it. The required cash payment was questionable, bank cards not accepted.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jfcralo4657
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2018
5.4

There's no lockers in the rooms. The bathrooms are tiny and the showers are very few. The building is more than 100 years old and it shows. The worst hostel I stayed in my trip around Ireland. Not worth the money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×