Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Woodquay Hostel Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Nov 2017
4.9

Bring your shower shoes and low expectations. The staff at this hostel is pretty friendly, and they offer discount tours, but those are the only positive things. There's no security or lockers for luggage, just a pile of luggage in the lobby for staff to watch. Too few plug sockets and rooms have keys, not cards, that you have to leave at the desk before leaving the hostel. Only 2 showers and 2 toilets in the building. Filthy floors, carpets and bathrooms. Freezing cold. Cash only. Won't return.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2017
7.1

Galway is a beautiful and vibrant little town indeed, which made all the local hostels constantly busy and out of request. And Woodquay is definitely one of them. I don't think the kitchen was big enough, the room was not super secure and clean either. But the interesting people and musician you met here practising their instruments in the dorm rooms just made you so happy anyway. In general, I did enjoy my time here with my awesome roommates. For this, I can give this hostel a 7 out of 10.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2017
4.9

Pretty dirty, no soap in bathrooms, crowded, no plugs by beds (in fact seemed to be only one plug in the room!) and dodgy security. Thought it was bizzare that I had to hand in my key every time I left the hostel. Probably the worst hostel I've stayed in. But at least the people in my room were mostly friendly, as were the staff. Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here. Stay in Galway City Hostel! A bit more expensive, but so much nicer!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2017
7.4

Value for money. Old building, moderately clean. Excellent location. Helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • sdoylie
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Oct 2017
7.4

Smelt a bit weird. Run down. Paid less for a better hostel. Made sure to take my passport when I left the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • SaffaSimon
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Oct 2017
4.6

You get what you pay for. If you just needing a bed for a night it'll do. Definitely think there better options

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2017
5.7

Pros: nice location, really nice staff, room I was in had an ensuite Cons: Had to return key upon entry and exit. No atmosphere. Showers were poor, no wifi in the rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2017
6.6

You basically get what you paid for. It was a fine facility and the staff was very friendly. However, I don't think I or my roommates slept a wink. We were next to the kitchen and it was incredibly loud--even after quiet hours. The bathroom was also very noisy (someone was puking for like an hour) and the room itself got very hot and smelly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Oct 2017
8.0

Interesting place, low coat. Met some characters staying there and near to pubs, shops etc !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Oct 2017
4.6

This property dont have any air circulation . Some rooms windows are locked Always check for toilet paper before u sit on the toilet , most likely there is none No soap in the toilets :( In the kitchen they have blocked the cold water I assumed they want you to wash the dishes with hot water to kill germs but water is soooo hot that u burn yourself; they should consider a dishwasher instead 😬 Carpets on hallways are so filthy and smelly Basically u get all kid of smells around .

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×