Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Woodquay Hostel Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1348 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1348 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th May 2018
6.6

Reception closes at 11, and our flight was delayed so we could not make it in time.. We tried calling the number but no one answered so we were not able to get inside the hostel and had no where to stay for the night. The next morning, we went back to talk to reception and they would not return out money, but were very apologetic. It seemed like a great place but was very disappointing to not be able to stay the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • caseymcclellan36606
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2018
5.4

Good service, staff were great and it’s a good location, but the building itself is not great, we had a few issues with other travelers. Overall not a great experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2018
8.6

Really nice! Cute and quaint. Nice friendly and helpful staff, comfy beds. Big full kitchen. The showers are kind of cold but that’s really my only complaint.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2018
6.0

Great location near Eyre square with friendly staff. However the hostel is old and facilities were limited. I understood a number of residents are living there full time which may have contributed to the lack of atmosphere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th May 2018
6.6

It’s an OKAY hostel at best. Not the cleanest nor the best placed. The rooms were clean enough with enough space. No locked to store stuff except small ones in the lobby. The security could definitely better and the bathrooms could use some TLC.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2018
9.1

Very clean; walking distance to downtown Galway. It has a spacious kitchen and dining/lounge area. Staff allow you to leave luggage there after checking out, if you’re spending the day in town still.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2018
9.1

Good atmosphere, light rooms, bathrooms are a bit small but clean. Light breakfast included is also great. Staff are very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2018
6.0

Management far too happy to substantially hike up prices without improving the facilities. For 45 eur in a 8bed dorm I'd expect at least a working shower, a semi clean common room and no cigarette smoke.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ashleyrose4151308
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th May 2018
6.6

fine hostel for what you pay for but the set up is strange and I was sharing a room with old men

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • megan-tremaine9398
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2018
4.6

I was a bit disappointed with Wood Quay. First of all the sheets were dirty. Secondly there were only two toilets in the whole hostel, I mean really? Those bathrooms were really gross too. However this hostel was pretty cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×