Hostelworld.com

Woodquay Hostel Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • nboyler3182
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Jul 2018
9.1

Stayed for 1 night, was the cheapest in Galway available but it had everything we needed, including a light breakfast of tea/coffee, cereal & toast. Comfy bed and decent sized kitchen & hangout space. Small bit of noise from the street on the morning but I guess that comes with the location. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2018
10.0

Great place!! I almost missed my bus and had to leave my bag there and they kept it for me for the weekend. It was so nice! Also facilities are good. Kitchen is big and there's good atmosphere in the bottom level

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • odonoghue19994716
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2018
10.0

as three young girls staying in the city, we couldn't recommend this hostel enough. not only is the location perfect, the price low while the standards are high. all staff were welcoming and very helpful and made us feel secure. along with the security and reassurance from the helpful staff, you also have your independence and can do your own thing, if that's more your cup of tea, as the room itself was located around the corner street in a separate house. Will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • beuje0307123
  • Luxembourg, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2018
8.6

Good location, good atmosphere, not quite enough bathrooms at rush hour in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2018
10.0

I really liked this one! Affordable, great location, slept well and made some new friends! And a light breakfast for free :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2018
10.0

It's such a great place to make friends, everyone was very nice and I am already looking forward to come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rachelhbellerose7996
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2018
9.4

Woodquay is an excellent hostel, whether you're staying in a dorm or in a private room. We stayed there twice over the course of our time in the West of Ireland, and found it to be clean, comfortable, and affordable. First, we stayed in an 8-person dorm which had nice comfy pillows and warm blankets. We also stayed in a private room later, which was beyond belief. It was in a two bedroom house, separate from the hostel, with its own kitchen and bathroom and a cozy b&b sort of feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jun 2018
6.9

There were problems. We booked the Connemara tour at the front desk and were picked up from the front of the hostel, but when we got to the bus depot we were told that the Connemara tour wasn't running that day. The washing machine didn't work. It would stop halfway through the cycle leaving the clothes soaking. There was a sign on the front asking guests to let staff know, so it's clearly not a new problem. Our bed in room 1 didn't have a ladder and the door kept hitting it. Overall, needs work

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th May 2018
6.6

Reception closes at 11, and our flight was delayed so we could not make it in time.. We tried calling the number but no one answered so we were not able to get inside the hostel and had no where to stay for the night. The next morning, we went back to talk to reception and they would not return out money, but were very apologetic. It seemed like a great place but was very disappointing to not be able to stay the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • caseymcclellan36606
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2018
5.4

Good service, staff were great and it’s a good location, but the building itself is not great, we had a few issues with other travelers. Overall not a great experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
×