Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA London Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 4351 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 4351 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Sep 2018
9.1

Very friendly staff, wonderful location that is well connected by local transport at a short distance. Great Portland Street, a tube/ subway station is just a 3 minutes walk. There are grocery stores nearby, eg. Tesco Express where one can buy watables, veggies, groceries and some electronic items as well. There is a self catering kitchen and a lift too that makes the visitors or hostellers very happy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at YHA London Central and hope the rest of your time in London was fantastic! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Jon - YHA London Central

3rd Sep 2018
8.0

Pretty good. I liked the tours and pub crawls that were advertised there. Great location. Shower could use a proper base and a better head.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jane8873
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2018
10.0

Central location. Felt very safe. Clean facilities. Have never stayed in a YHA with my family - will definitely be doing it again, hopefully very soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a fantastic time in London. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind Regards Jon - YHA London Central

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Aug 2018
8.3

5N, ensuite 6b F dorm (but got 4b!) Good location and 24h staff, fast WIFI (but only avail in common areas), personal plug at each bedside, lockers. Large self-cater kitchen and a separate common area where they also serve food. Events held, but most people did their own thing (lots of families) so not much of a social atmosphere. Comfy beds. Cleanish... need to empty garbages more frequently. Fixed shower heads had lime buildup and sprayed inconsistently in random directions - please fix this!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sekoca8884
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2018
7.1

The location was really good, close to the tube and Oxford Circus. The people at the reception were very helpful. However it was not very clean, which was very sad. Especially the bath. I asked them several times to clean the sink which they didn't. Not even the bin was emptied, it kept getting fuller and fuller. Thankfully i was in a room with girls who were considerate and tried to keep the room clean. And there is no wifi in the rooms and no usb ports so you have to buy an adapter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a feedback. We are glad to read that you were happy with our location and that you found our staff to be helpful. We are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the cleanliness of your room, I will pass the information onto my colleagues and the housekeeping team as to make sure that it won't happen again. We hope that despite this you had a nice time in London and that you will come back to visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Valentina -YHA London Central

  • prmwilson1538
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2018
9.7

This is an excellent hostel for those who are happy with dormitory accommodation. Its central location allows easy exploration of inner London with easy bus and tube connections and hire bicycles nearby. The staff are excellent, always keen to help and many there on hand all the time. The breakfast makes a good start to the day and the facilities are what is required with laundry, kitchen and lounge. The only slight negative is the poor wi-fi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jul 2018
9.4

Really great value for such a perfect location in London. Staff were all super friendly and cheerful. My 6 bed female dorm was spotless, spacious and quiet. Having separated shower and toilet rooms inside the dorm was very handy, plus there are extra bathrooms on the floor. Only downside was the wifi was only available in the reception area, but it was fast and free. They have a good activities schedule as well, and the guests there were all really friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2018
7.1

The location was perfect. 5 minute walk to the underground and 8 minute walk to shopping on Oxford street. The hostel itself was mediocre. The bathroom was awful (and I'm not picky about cleanliness). Location of power outlets were inconvenient (only on the bedpost - so if you needed to use anything while it was charging, you had to sit on your top bunk to do so) Also, zero common rooms to socialize and meet people from outside your room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We hope you enjoyed your time in London and were sorry to hear about some of the issues you highlighted in your review. The bathrooms are cleaned on a daily basis so we can only apologise if you found them unsatisfactory. We do have a common area on our ground floor and also there is a common space in our basement next to our kitchen. Kind Regards Jon - YHA London Central

  • ngitkong8188
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
7.7

The hostel has no air conditioning in the rooms especially the private room that we booked. Temperatures were unbearable as London had temperatures of about 31 degrees. We did not enjoy our stay although the location was good and close to many attractions

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately temperatures have been unusually high for London for the last few months and we can only apologise for any discomfort that you experienced. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in London Kind Regards Jon - YHA London Central

13th Jul 2018
10.0

I love YHA hostels. They’re so chill and every one I’ve visited has had flawlessly friendly staff. They’re secure and unlike many hostels where I’ve stayed, I always get a solid night’s rest. I wish there were more YHAs around the world because I never want to stay at another hostel again! I highly recommend them for comfort, safety, and their general atmosphere of cheerful helpfulness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear how much you enjoy staying at our hostels and hope you had a brilliant time while you were in London. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Kind Regards Jon - YHA London Central

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×