Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA London Oxford Street

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 3675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 3675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • claireebrien953
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
10.0

Loved this hostel. Clean, friendly, and a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you for the great review. It is lovely to hear loved everything about this hostel. We hope you come back :) Thank you Maria

  • secretstratosphere4663
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2018
8.0

The staff are wonderful but I won't be returning here in the summer ever again. I'm someone that can cope with heat but this place was unbearably hot! The windows barely open an inch so the tiny fan stationed in the room was useless. There's also no lift to the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is good to hear our staff were great. I am sorry about the heat whilst you were staying. Unfortunately London is experience a heat wave. We are trying our hardest to come up with the best possible solution. Thank you for staying. Maria

  • charlottecooper958856
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
8.9

Great central hostel. Perfect room size but only fault was we were on the 5th floor and it was a sweatbox due to the heat. Not the hostels fault but made our stay a little uncomfortable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for the review. I am glad you found our hostel in a central location. Unfortunately due to the hot weather and health and safety restrictions our rooms are being very warm. I am sorry about this but we are trying our hardest to come up with the best solution. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. Thanks Maria

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2018
10.0

Hostel in good central location,easy to get to and the staff very friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thanks for the great review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. I hope you come back when you are next in London. Thanks Maria

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jul 2018
8.9

Overall we were fairly pleased with the facility and services provided. The staff was excellent in accommodating us and providing additional information to make our experience in London more enjoyable. While we were there temperatures in London were exceptionally warm and there is no air conditioning and the fans that were available provided very little relief. We understand that it is unusual for London to be this warm, but something needs to be in place to allow for better air circulation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is great to hear you found our staff helpful and friendly. Yes unfortunately London has been very hot lately. We trying to come up with the best solution to relieve the heat in the room. We hope you choose to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Maria

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2018
9.1

This hostel is pretty standard & good - most facilities are as you'd expect. Only problem is the lack of ventilation / air conditioning. If it's hot when you're there (above 25) the whole building heats up quite considerably - its hotter inside than outside. The windows don't open much, so the room doesn't cool down at night, and there's no air conditioning. There were two desk fans in the room, and while they helped a little, pushing already sticky and hot air doesn't give you much relief.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm sorry to hear that your room was very hot. Our 24h team is always happy to try and move guests to a cooler room if there is a request. However, we are also looking into alternative ventilation solutions to try and improve air circulation/cool air in the hotter rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards, Gaia

  • stewartdawn963882
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2018
10.0

We only had a short stay but we were really impressed by the hostel. We shall definitely be booking with yha again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for the lovely review! It is great to hear you will visit YHA again. Hope to see you again soon :) Thanks, Maria

  • elanam
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2018
9.4

Had a great time at YHA- perfect location, super safe and clean and the staff made you feel at home! It’s not a party or even really youth hostel but as a solo female it was the perfect place to be. I recommend the £5 breakfast and 10am daily walking tour

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2018
8.9

Perfectly nice and well located hostel in central London. It is good to know that the lockers provided require you to have your own padlock. Also, as London was experiencing a heatwave when I was there, it was rather warm in the rooms at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2018
9.1

Excellent location to visit all that London has to offer. The place is simple but very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, even allowing us to check in early. Only complaints were the lack of AC made for a very hot night in late June, and the price compared to hostel's elsewhere is absurd. However, London is known to be pricey, and few buildings in Europe have AC so overall can't complain.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for leaving us a review, we very much appreciate all the feedback left by our guests. I'm happy to hear you had a good stay, although it was hot in your room. For the moment being we only have fans, but hopefully AC is something we could consider in the future. I will pass on the idea to our head office. Best Regards, Gaia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×