Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YHA Napier

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 345 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • shirleyhatch788958
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2018
10.0

We enjoy staying here for all the above reasons, including cheerful and helpful staff. Great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • darellfosteranderson2394
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2018
10.0

A wonderful place to stay -we loved the proximity to the city and the ocean !!! The only disadvantage was the parking situation which I imagine would be impossible in the summer months !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Jun 2018
8.9

Nice hostel in good location - they just need to work on the heating during winter time. Heaters only work 30 minutes and then stop - this means getting up every hour during the night as you will be freeeeezing otherwise! The kitchen was so cold, I only spend a bare minimum of time there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • keelinstar9499
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st Jun 2018
8.0

Cosier than most YHAs and in a great location. The kitchen has everything you need and is spotless. Not very modern hostel but chilled. A bit like Napier itself...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • maureensheart3862
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2018
10.0

The staff was very nice and helpful. Told me about wonderful place to eat, NSA. Just wish the bathroom had heat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dominikwannatim8439
  • Poland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th May 2018
10.0

First of all, fantastic location, both the centre and so choose to the beach you can actually hear the waves (we slept in a double-bed room with Windows facing the ocean). Great value for money and a pretty fast Wi-Fi make this place awesome :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Apr 2018
9.7

Really loved Napier and the hostel that we even booked another two more nights. Fantastic location, clean, friendly staff. Others say it is a little dated but it adds character and most importantly its really clean and comfy beds. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2018
6.6

Perfect location but the entire facility hasn't been updated in probably 40 years and it feels like an old boarding house. It's night and day from all the other YHAs. No lockers, no parking, shaky bunk beds, outlets clustered halfway up the wall. Pretty depressing common space. The kitchen was also the least clean I've seem in a while.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lianne04018348
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Apr 2018
9.4

Stayed in 4 bed girls dorm. Cute place clean and friendly. I wanted somewhere chill and quiet and that's what i got. Napier is a lovely place to visit. I went in April and it was so warm and sunny. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gillianohara3581
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Mar 2018
10.0

Beautiful spot right on the water. Can book a lot of activities and sightseeing. Big kitchen with all of the supplies. No parking available, but staff explained where we could find all-day street parking and it wasn't too far. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×