Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

YWCA Banff Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 429 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Sep 2018
8.3

Excellent facilities and staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Sugar-sprinkled_rhino
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th Sep 2018
3.1

No one there at all to help me check in, and rather ignorant. Beds were so beyond creepy and loud that I couldn’t sleep all through the night, showers were small and dirty , rooms were basic and unwelcoming. It had the feel of a drug addicts half way house. I’m an experienced traveller and this is rated one of the worst I’ve stayed in. Large deposit needed for the key and all bedding including pillows and blankets are received at the check in which is bizarre. And it’s actually a hotel lol!Avoid

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2018
9.7

Excellent experience at YMCA! I was cold at midnight, and i went to ask for a more blanket, "Absolutely", he gave me; and i got noise from my bed, and i ask for switch the room, "Absolutely", she gave me; i love YMCA and i love it soooo much! Only thing i recommend them is, to change the old bunk beds, they are so old and they are shaking, make noise at night; Thank you so much YMCA, and my trip to Banff National Park is fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samuelpoirier315117
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2018
7.4

Worth for the price. Got some foods stolen and their wifi wasn't working most of the time. Otherwise, good location and good staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Aug 2018
6.0

This hostel feels like an old hospital, very weird set up in the basement of a hotel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • GLJIANG2743
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2018
7.1

A pretty good choice considering the price I was paying. The best of all is the easy access to the town of Banff. There were a couple of issues during my 4-day staying. WiFi was not stable; sometimes unavailable. Kitchen is "too simple". There are no plates, no spoons, and no forks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2018
4.6

Feels like rudimentary military accomodation. I suspect the private rooms to be rather fancy but the dorms, located in the dirty, dodgy looking, cold basement are hideous. No power outlets, no lights, shelfes, wifi or any form of comfort. The ensuite was a joke. Avoid dorms by any means, go private room or another hotel/hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2018
7.1

Wifi was not working and the curtain was really dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jul 2018
8.0

Great location and standard hostel accommodation otherwise. The room was quite warm even with fans. The only really annoying thing is that the Wi-Fi was not working and we had been relying on it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2018
4.3

DO NOT STAY HERE. I was given a towel with stains on it, the ceiling fan didn't work if the light was off (in the middle of summer), there were cockroaches in the bathroom, which was dirty, it didn't have an air extractor so when somebody used the bathroom the odor stayed for a long time (and got inside the room), the beds don't have amenities that one expects at this price point such as their own power plug and lamp, the bunk beds are super low quality and make a LOT of noise.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×