Hostelworld.com

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Nov 2018
8.3

It is really far From tamal You have to take a cab every time you want to do something

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • connelmckenna9118
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2018
8.9

Great, very helpful and welcoming staff team and nice place to relax during day or evening. Good food at reasonable prices too if you don't want to go out! Thanks to the brilliant Santos and his team.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • magwahmouse9545
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2018
10.0

I had the best time at the Sparkling Turtle, the staff were amazing, from the second I arrived I was very much made to feel "part of the Sparkling Turtle family". On the morning of my departure, Ajeet dropped me st the airport and when I realised I had left my jacket in the car, very kindly delivered it to the airport, which I appreciated a million percent. I feel blessed to have located the Sparkling Turtle and would definitely return, a huge thank you to everyone for making me so welcome 🙂

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dipradioshadhin1873
  • Bangladesh, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Oct 2018
10.0

Probably the best hostel in nepal

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • taliabobenic18694
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Sep 2018
9.7

Excellent stay! Great place to relax before a trek! The staff was amazing and the food was so great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Sep 2018
8.9

Really nice place. People were lovely. Large hostel spacious rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2018
9.7

Such an amazing place to stay! Very clean, friendly staff, excellent location. Away from the centre of Kathmandu but easy to walk to in 30/40 minutes. Also, staff is extremely helpful and can help you figure out how to get into the city by public transit—or just about any of the main spots in the Kathmandu valley for that matter. Food is excellent, inexpensive. Thank you so much Pawan, Som, and Santosh for a great stay and for being so welcoming!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Aug 2018
9.1

Great hostel. Location is a little further from the main attractions, but quiet and peaceful at night. Beds and facilities are also nice. What really makes this hostel great though are the staff who went out of their way and beyond to make our stay unforgettable! Furthermore, we stored our luggage for free while we did a 2 week trek in the himalayas. Would recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Aug 2018
10.0

Excellent hostel. Staff are wonderful, very secure, very clean, and free breakfast. Location is a bit out of the centre but nice and quiet, right near main bus routes however.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2018
4.0

There are no lockers and no locks on the dormitory doors which is inconvenient and the staff tried to overcharge me more than once for the room as well as the drinks I did and didn't buy. The location is also about an hours walk from the centre of town so not very convenient. I was a little underwhelmed having seen such good reviews when I initially booked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste, Francesca. Thank you for choosing our hostel and staying with us two times while your recent visit in Nepal. It's our pleasure to have you as our guest, but as you mentioned in your untrue review, we do have safe lockers but in common area for safety reason, as well we do have locks in dormitory room.About the location, we are located just 3kms far away from the center and which is like 25/30 minutes walk, may be you took wrong way which took you about an hour. Sorry, for the confusion about the coffee bill and once again, thank you for writing us even if it's not fair one. We wish you all the best in your future endeavor. Regards,.

×