Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • taliabobenic18694
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2018
9.7

Excellent stay! Great place to relax before a trek! The staff was amazing and the food was so great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fkholmes6724
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2018
8.9

Really nice place. People were lovely. Large hostel spacious rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2018
9.7

Such an amazing place to stay! Very clean, friendly staff, excellent location. Away from the centre of Kathmandu but easy to walk to in 30/40 minutes. Also, staff is extremely helpful and can help you figure out how to get into the city by public transit—or just about any of the main spots in the Kathmandu valley for that matter. Food is excellent, inexpensive. Thank you so much Pawan, Som, and Santosh for a great stay and for being so welcoming!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Aug 2018
10.0

Excellent hostel. Staff are wonderful, very secure, very clean, and free breakfast. Location is a bit out of the centre but nice and quiet, right near main bus routes however.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2018
4.0

There are no lockers and no locks on the dormitory doors which is inconvenient and the staff tried to overcharge me more than once for the room as well as the drinks I did and didn't buy. The location is also about an hours walk from the centre of town so not very convenient. I was a little underwhelmed having seen such good reviews when I initially booked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste, Francesca. Thank you for choosing our hostel and staying with us two times while your recent visit in Nepal. It's our pleasure to have you as our guest, but as you mentioned in your untrue review, we do have safe lockers but in common area for safety reason, as well we do have locks in dormitory room.About the location, we are located just 3kms far away from the center and which is like 25/30 minutes walk, may be you took wrong way which took you about an hour. Sorry, for the confusion about the coffee bill and once again, thank you for writing us even if it's not fair one. We wish you all the best in your future endeavor. Regards,.

28th Jul 2018
10.0

Staff members are friendly, especially Som and Santosh. (I’ll miss you guys!) Located in a quiet residential neighborhood for a real local’s experience and a better night’s sleep. Hot shower was nice and steamy. They have their own on-site cafe (and a bar!) with delicious food for reasonable prices. Also, the rooftop offers an absolutely amazing view. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The atmosphere is relaxed with the freedom to come and go whenever you please.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • eddydesign5874
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2018
10.0

The staff at sparkling turtle are very welcoming, friendly and always happy to help. The rooms are great. I would highly recommend the visit. Always happy , easy going and well prepared. Good location just outside of the main town which I preferred.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nilskamphausen
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 53 reviews
15th Jul 2018
6.0

Staff was nice but not really around. There aren't any lockers in the rooms (my dorm didn't have a door but a curtain) and not enough lockers just outside the room. Location is really close to the monkey temple but then really far from everything else. All in all I had an ok experience but my second time in Kathmandu I'll stay somewhere closer to the city centre.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • straight_faced6909
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2018
10.0

Amazing Hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2018
6.9

It was a good enough hostel, although a bit out of the way. And for being out of the way, it was still pretty loud on the streets below. I assume I was there in low season, as the check-in desk wasn't always staffed (i.e. sometimes had to wait a few minutes for someone to come) and there weren't many people at all. It might the same for all hostels in June, though. The staff were very nice, and I did meet some other cool travelers. Beds and facilities were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×