Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
17th Apr 2018
7.7

Staff were very friendly to me but not the same story for all guests. A little far away from the main areas of Kathmandu but the bus is very cheap to Thamel. Comfortable beds and hot showers are a luxury in Nepal so enjoy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2018
8.9

Nice place! Comfortable beds. The wifi doesn't work (almost never) in the dormroom though, which forces you to sit in the mainarea. Nice staff, clean hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jeannedubray4092
  • France, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2018
8.0

I booked a tent for the 5 nights i stayed in swayambu. It's nice if the neighborhood was not so noisy in the morning..so as it is on the rooftop, open space, all the noise is very loud. Dogs barking in the night, and music between 4 and 5am...but of course for the price, cannot complain too much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Feb 2018
9.4

This was the first of 5 hostels that we stayed at throughout Nepal, and it was a great experience everyday we were there. The food/hangout area is wonderful, and we met many other backpackers there. Many people planning to trek the Annapurna circuit also were there, so it would be a good place to stay if you're planning on doing that. The staff were the best part of this place, very helpful and they booked us taxis and buses for the various places we went. Highly recommend it!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • james_harle892087
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2018
10.0

The staff were very friendly and helpful with organising various trips. Everything you need is nearby and it's the perfect place to meet new people. Very cheap and being away from Thamel gives you less noise in the evenings. This is the ideal place to stay for all ages.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Feb 2018
10.0

Clean good location and quiet. Helpful staff near a main bus station and monkey temple.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • butorina108714
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2018
10.0

Very friendly place, away from noisy & touristy crowd and Superb staff. Nice common area, rooftop terrace, good WiFi and 24 hour hot shower. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shibinm8179
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
9.7

Great place to stay. Had fun, made friends, staffs are so good. Value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Dec 2017
7.7

Nicely run Hostel, but the location isn't great.. can't really see the advantage of staying here over Thamel, especially for a pre-trek stay.. you'll lack all the facilities like restaurants, bars, shops and currency exchange.. you'll be limited to the hostel restaurant , which is cheap but not great.. its also just as noisy at night as Thamel.. the facilities are really nice and perhaps with more people would have had a nicer environment which wasn't my case.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2017
9.1

Very accommodating staff. The food was wonderful. Complimentary breakfast. quiet atmosphere but music in the evening. Good for young people. Will pick up and drop off at airport which is a huge help. I will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×