Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

the Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • butorina108714
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2018
10.0

Very friendly place, away from noisy & touristy crowd and Superb staff. Nice common area, rooftop terrace, good WiFi and 24 hour hot shower. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shibinm8179
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
9.7

Great place to stay. Had fun, made friends, staffs are so good. Value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Dec 2017
7.7

Nicely run Hostel, but the location isn't great.. can't really see the advantage of staying here over Thamel, especially for a pre-trek stay.. you'll lack all the facilities like restaurants, bars, shops and currency exchange.. you'll be limited to the hostel restaurant , which is cheap but not great.. its also just as noisy at night as Thamel.. the facilities are really nice and perhaps with more people would have had a nicer environment which wasn't my case.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2017
9.1

Very accommodating staff. The food was wonderful. Complimentary breakfast. quiet atmosphere but music in the evening. Good for young people. Will pick up and drop off at airport which is a huge help. I will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Oct 2017
8.6

Nice to be out of town a little. Helpful team provided maps and info. Food was nice. Good comunal area to meet people. Oh and of course monkeys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd Oct 2017
8.0

Didn't actually end up staying here as it was far too much out of the way. I arrived and it seemed like a nice hostel, clean, secure etc etc but it is miles out of Kathmandu. Stay in Thamel instead.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Oct 2017
6.6

Good hostel. The staff are really nice. The only drawback, the location is far away from Thamel so making it hard to go home after a night out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2017
7.4

Overall we had a good stay at the Hostel. The place has a great vibe, it’s clean, and has a great menu at the in-house kitchen. My only gripe with the place is the location - although admittedly I should have looked into this better before. It’s about a 40 minute walk to Thamel which gets old if you’re here for a while. I can imagine taxis getting expensive too! The beds were quite comfy, and they gave me a locker to use free of charge. Up on the roof there are great views of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
10th Oct 2017
8.0

Beautiful and nice place. Location is not too good though, and its quite far from populair places like Thamel. Nice staff, nice athmosfere. Also the free breakfast is soo nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×