Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Australia, Gender Male, Age 63

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Economy Hotel, Athens, Greece
8.6
23rd Jul 2018

Modern clean hotel. Better than most in this price category. Good breakfast. Wifi system was poor as it constantly disconnected and reconnected and there was only one spare power point in the room. Location five mins walk from Monastiraki subway is good. Overall I'd stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Atlantis Hotel Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki, Greece
8.0
21st Jul 2018

Small A/C room with TV and local stations. Bathroom facilities quite cramped. My inner room had no windows and was dark, but everything worked, staff were friendly, and it was very quiet. Location is also quite good, and easy to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Goldy, Bitola, Macedonia
9.1
20th Jul 2018

Smaller hostel with small bunk/private rooms but with decent lockers. Kitchen well stocked and decent size. Only one shower which was a bit limiting when hostel was full as it was on the night I stayed. Wifi good. Staff very helpful and organised my taxi into Greece which went without a hitch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Urban Hostel & Apartments, Skopje, Macedonia
9.1
16th Jul 2018

I stayed in the apartment which was large and had everything you need. Couldn't fault place except Internet was slow and continually dropping out. They said they never had had this problem before and I tend to believe them as staff seemed to genuinely want to provide a good hostel. It does take 45 mins to walk from bus station and about 25 to get back to city centre however. On the plus side it is close to the Bohemian quarter where there are some nice restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Istanbul, Pristina, Kosovo
4.6
14th Jul 2018

Poor location given the other hostels are in town and this is furthest from bus station. (Other than 2 museums there is nothing to see in old city) Hostel is right next to market and all their rubbish hoppers which smell and it gets noisy by 7am. My private room was dirty. Rubbish bins not emptied from previous occupiers including tissues in toilet bin and cigarette ash (in a non smoking room), No hot water first morning. Shower hose broke 2nd. Curtains don't cover windows so room light at 6am

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
9.1
11th Jul 2018

Great location, friendly and competent staff. Wifi good. Nothing to complain about except there is no real common area to meet other people..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Temza, Zagreb, Croatia
6.6
9th Jul 2018

Easy to find hostel. About half way between bus station and old cities. About 15 mins walk each way. I stayed in apartment which was OK and had all the necessities but no more than. Thought it was a bit overpriced for what you got. Can't say about atmosphere as I was content to stay in my room. A few small tables outside in a somewhat unkept area. Didn't notice anyone using them. Small supermarkets close by. Not really a restaurant area - be prepared to walk up to old town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Secret Garden, Koper, Slovenia
7.1
4th Jul 2018

Wifi good. Big lockers. Only 2 bathroom/toilets so had to wait at times. Kitchens small and packed with dishes. Location Ok but directions good be better. OK for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Enjoy, Pula, Croatia
7.1
29th Jun 2018

Hostel upgraded my room to one with an ensuite which was good. Room was very big but only a couple of power points. Had to disconnect A/C to charge phone over night. Bit far away from main drag. Kitchen tiny and very limited, Next to small outdoor area which always smelled of smoke. Side door open 24hrs/day so security could be issue especially if staying in a dorm. Note all the restaurants down town will try and rip you off with charges for bread (20K) for 2 slices and covercharges for?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Morcic, Rijeka, Croatia
8.0
28th Jun 2018

Clean with large rooms. Wifi good. Tea and coffee making facilities somewhat limited. (Plastic cups). Bit further out than some other hostels but only and extra 5 mins walk. Good for a nights sleep but not for meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
White House Hostel Bol, Bol, Croatia
9.4
25th Jun 2018

Good clean and roomy rooms, Five minute walk from main drag, Large kitchen and outdoor setting. Host could put in some brighter light globes is my only complaint. Thoroughly recommend however.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Luka's Lodge, Hvar, Croatia
8.9
23rd Jun 2018

Hospitable owners. Outdoor common area. Wifi good. Bathrooms clean. Good hostel to meet people or just crash in a private room. Recommend Lucas' fish and wine night. Good value. 10 min walk from port ( up hill) but worth the effort.

View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you likes our Wine and Dine night...all the best with your future travels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel and Guesthouse Adi, Mostar, Bosnia And Herzegovina
8.6
18th Jun 2018

Private room was very well equipped. Close to bus station and well marked. Wifi good. They push a bit hard on selling your their tour which I didn't have time for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Pupa Hostel, Kotor, Montenegro
9.7
14th Jun 2018

Really well thought out modern hostel with ample room in the dorms, personal lights, power and curtains. Locations good. wifi good facilities very good. No negatives with this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Nice Place, Podgorica, Montenegro
6.0
11th Jun 2018

Very basic hostel. Only one bathroom /toilet. No lockers. Private room only a bit bigger than the double bed itself. No breakfast or common room. Wifi worked OK. Ok for a one night stopover.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Berat Backpackers Hostel, Berat, Albania
9.7
5th Jun 2018

Great Hostel, Great staff. Nothing to complain about at all.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review, it means alot to us! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Babameto House, Gjirokaster, Albania
9.1
4th Jun 2018

Other than the walk up the hill nothing to fault.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Dream Hotel Saranda, Saranda, Albania
6.9
2nd Jun 2018

Firstly you will be lucky to find this place going by their directions. They don't mention that the last part of the route is actually along the beach between other hotels sunbeds and umbrellas. My room had no internet, toilet paper, dishwashing amenities etc. They said they would fix it, but it didn't happen. They finally gave me a 4 bed apartment which was fully equipped. Price was good but I expect a few weeks later it would sky rocket. Maybe good for holiday apartments but not a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Fivos, Athens, Greece
8.0
28th May 2018

Great Location. and easy to find. Water hot, bed a bit hard but OK. Good breakfast. Only problem was wifi a bit intermittent though generally OK. Rate as very good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Casa Caracol Cádiz, Cadiz, Spain
7.4
17th Oct 2017

Stayed in private rooms which are in a different building 500 metres away. Room was very basic with a double mattress in a loft (ladder to get too rather than stairs) and a single bed downstairs with a small desk and cupboard. Kitchen was always open but had limited crockery and cutlery. (Plates and glasses Ok but only 3 cereal bowls - couple of knives) for about 10 guests which meant breakfasts were prolonged. Only 2 shower/toilet units so some waiting required here. Clean and quiet though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Casa d'Alagoa, Faro, Portugal
6.0
12th Oct 2017

Location Ok, Wifi OK, Facilities poor, Can't put toilet paper down the loo, 2 Showers out of 5 I think broken and closed, Showers outlets full of hair, Main problem was couldn't sleep. Outdoor terrace is right next to some of the bedrooms and people talking and drinking half the night kept you awake. As their is no Aircon or fan you have to keep windows open and about 7am the jets start flying in to the airport directly overhead which led to arguments in dorm over keeping window open. Dinner VG

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Apartamentos Turísticos Regina***, Albufeira, Portugal
6.9
11th Oct 2017

No Wifi in any of the rooms, IF you wanted internet you had to go to the bar on top of the building. Otherwise the location was good, Staff helpful ( they moved my room when neither of us could the AirCon working) but was quite dirty, and had minimum essentials for Kitchenette.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Casa das Laranjeiras, Lagos, Portugal
9.4
9th Oct 2017

Good location, Good Wifi. Large well resourced kitchen. Friendly and informative host. Not much more can you ask for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Home Lisbon Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
7.7
4th Oct 2017

Very good staff. - really tried to look after you. Meals OK with generous supply of alcohol. Facilities let it down from being a great hostel Bathrooms below spec. Bunk rooms a bit on the small side. Seems the place is nearly always full which means a bit of queuing and a lot of noise. Good for revellers, not so good for sleepers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Aveiro Rossio Hostel, Aveiro, Portugal
8.9
3rd Oct 2017

Smaller more personalized hostel. Easy to meet people. Older crowd ( at my time anyway). Single beds in some of the dorms was good. Wifi good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
The Passenger Hostel, Porto, Portugal
9.7
29th Sep 2017

Highest rating I have ever given a hostel. After 4 days there I felt I was leaving home when I checked out. The 12 bed dorms are great with effectively your own lounge area. I would have given them a perfect 10 if they had a shower system that didn't require pushing the button every 10 seconds and some hooks in the cubicles. You won't get much better than this though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel La Salle, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
6.9
26th Sep 2017

Basically a (large) hotel for camino walkers with a few beds in a room with an ensuite to make up a dorm.. Rooms clean and large enough. No kitchen or shared lounge to speak of. Want some quiet and space its good. Want to meet someone else try elsewhere. Poor internet connection.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Ganbara Hostel, Bilbao, Spain
8.6
22nd Sep 2017

Kitchen usable. Free tea and coffee. Washing machine and dryer good. All up a good hostel. Only grievance was 4 bed rooms a bit small and had to queue sometimes for toilet or shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
A room in the city, San Sebastian, Spain
8.9
20th Sep 2017

Good all round hostel. Kitchen pretty well useless, but otherwise it better than most hostels. Pintxos night was excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Geneva Hostel, Geneva, Switzerland
8.0
7th Sep 2017

Good Hostel by world standards but not by Swiss standards. Felt like a prison with electronic key access required for bathrooms and breakfast. Meals poor compared with other Swiss hostels. No freebies like hot water for tea or laundry. By world standards however Swiss hostels are very good and efficient ( though expensive) however this one wasn't as good as the others I had stayed in. Still better than paying for an overpriced hotel room however.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Youthhostel St. Moritz, St. Moritz, Switzerland
9.1
5th Sep 2017

Good size rooms, good meals, transport ticket a real bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Alfa Zermatt, Zermatt, Switzerland
8.9
4th Sep 2017

Only a small room with a basin but certainly better than sharing a dorm. Breakfast 4 star quality.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
10.0
2nd Sep 2017

Must be about the best I have ever stayed in for facilities, cleanliness, and value. They really know how to provide for travellers needs,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Bellpark Hostel, Lucerne, Switzerland
6.6
31st Aug 2017

small dorms made it crowded and with one ensuite per dorm (toilet and shower combined) there was lots of waiting when everyone got up at a similar time. Otherwise it was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Youthhostel Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
8.3
29th Aug 2017

Very good hostel. Only gripe was you could net get any hot or cold water/tea/coffee outside of kitchen hours without paying commercial charges for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
THC Latina Hostal, Madrid, Spain
8.6
30th Oct 2016

Clean with good facilities. Only gripe was they advertise credit cards on the site but would only accept cash, Receptionist was too nice and helpful to make an issue out of it. Rooms a little bit small and outside area a bit noisy at times but in general this place is worth staying at.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Astrid, Casablanca, Morocco
8.3
23rd Oct 2016

Good value quiet hotel with good internet and clean facilities if you just need a bed for a night or two. Location good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Dar Jannat, Fez, Morocco
9.4
20th Oct 2016

Great Hostel. Owner bends over backwards to please. Clean, spacious, good Wifi, great breakfast, great value. Best I have stayed in in Morocco. Only drawback is the laneway it is in is a bit daunting at night but I never felt unsafe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Riad Baraka, Chefchaouen, Morocco
7.7
19th Oct 2016

Genuine hostel with lots of travellers and atmosphere. Small rooms, both bed and shower/toilets, but good wifi and value. Staff very helpful.

View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Can't really help the size of the 600+ year old building. Safe travels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Dar Bargach, Tangier, Morocco
9.4
18th Oct 2016

Lovely hosts, who all spoke English. Lovely room and breakfast. Very quiet. Quality place at very reasonable price. Thoroughly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
8.6
16th Oct 2016

Good size clean room with all amenities. Good wifi. Step up from the usual hostels in this price range but its just a hotel. Great location going to or from Tangier med

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostal El Cascabel, Granada, Spain
4.3
14th Oct 2016

There is a bar directly underneath the hostel and the patrons drink and talk out in the street beneath your balcony all night long. The first night I got exactly zero minutes sleep. The balcony door on my room was also starting to fall apart and let in the cold air as well as the noise. Forget trying to use the kitchen area as a kitchen as it is tiny and the managers living quarters. If you want some sleep or use kitchen facilities try somewhere else, One of the worst hostels I've stayed in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Moratin, Valencia, Spain
6.6
10th Oct 2016

This is Spanish guesthouse and I suspect most of the clientele are Spanish. The old man that runs it is quite nice but speaks little English. I wasn't even going to try and ask him for directions to whatever. The room is Just a bed (with a plastic matress overlay) and a wardrobe plus a wash basin. Very simple. If that is all you are after then it is good value. Breakfast is 2 pieces of white toast with a sachet of Marmalade and tea or coffee. Location is pretty good and Wifi worked Ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Atlanta, Palma de Mallorca, Spain
8.6
5th Oct 2016

Well run clean hospital with good facilities and British staff. Wifi good. Only problem is the area of arenal is pretty trashy with a multitude of shops selling touristy things. but it does have plenty of cheapish restaurants to make up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Nilo SL, Barcelona, Spain
7.4
4th Oct 2016

Basic room (in my case) just had an old wardrobe and small table but did have a washstand with cold water which was a bit of a bonus as it was described as just having a shared bathroom. Location really good. Wifi was good. Staff spoke good English and were helpful. Recommended for a night or two layover if looking for cheap rates but its basically just a cheap hotel and you are not going to meet people here if that is your intention. Good Value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
8.0
28th Sep 2016

Good clean room (private), Good breakfast Great wifi

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Soul Backpackers Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain
7.4
17th Jul 2015

Smaller Hostel in reasonably good location. Kitchen small but well stocked with everything you need for self catering. Staff friendly. Bathroom facilities somewhat cramped and limited. ( One out of 3 showers not working when I was there.) Only 2 toilets but because of size of hostel didn't seem to be a real problem. Wifi good, lounge areas good. All staff had good English. Good value but not highest quality hostel in Barcelona. Recommend if you are looking for cheaper hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
7.4
29th Jun 2015

This is a Uni student apartment. Its small but clean and modern and has a good wifi system. Advertised as having a kitchenette but other than a bar fridge there is nothing there. Not a cup or glass or spoon. When I asked reception they said that Hostelworld bookers don't get the kitchen stuff because they pay less. Seems like false advertising on the Hostelworld site to me. If you just want a clean bed and private facilities its cheaper than a hotel but you wont meet anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
7.1
27th Jun 2015

Small hostel with 2 * 4 bed dorms each with own toilet and shower and well stocked kitchen facilities. Limited room to store bike but a couple of small tables outside and 1 inside. In general quite good and I think reasonable price but not much room to chill or do your own thing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Celenya Hotel, Toulon, France
8.0
26th Jun 2015

Room was adequate but a bit noisy from neighbours. Ensuite clean..Manager? spoke excellent English and was very helpful.Optional breakfast was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Antares Hostel, Nice, France
8.6
14th Jun 2015

Good Hostel. Lots of room to meet up or chill out as you wish. Good kitchen. Very clean Good location for just about everything in Nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Luan Vu, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.4
6th Oct 2014

Clean, Good value, All facilities working. Breakfast Good. Recommend without hesitation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hai Au Hotel, Hoi An, Vietnam
9.4
4th Oct 2014

Very friendly staff. After a mixup in room types they upgraded us to a larger room. Facilities good and clean. 10 min walk to centre of old town. Probably not best location in town but close enough. A little bit pricier than most hostelworld hotels but worth the extra few dollars. No hesitation in recommending or getting value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Jade Hotel, Hue, Vietnam
8.9
3rd Oct 2014

Good Value, Clean quiet everything working. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Asian Legend Hotel, Hanoi, Vietnam
9.7
26th Sep 2014

Best service we had in Indochina. Guys couldn't do enough for us. Took us out for street food with them. Let us keep our room until 8pm on day of departure. All facilities in good condition and clean. Breakfast good. Room large. Nothing to fault in this place at all if you are looking for hotel accommodation in this price range,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Singharat Guest House, Luang Prabang, Laos
9.7
24th Sep 2014

Room spotless. Faciliies very good. Receptionist excellent. Best place so far spent in Indochina. (just need to get some mosquito netting on bathroom window in room 1) . PS I dont give out such high ratings unless I think they are really warranted. and this one is.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Tranquility Angkor Guest House, Siem Reap, Cambodia
5.4
21st Sep 2014

Couldn't see why this hostel was rated so highly. Facilities were very basic - just a big bed with no furniture and everything else had to go on floor. Floor was filthy under bed with old drink bottles, paper and dead cockroaches. Drain plugs in bathroom full of hair. My PC wouldn't connect to their wifi most of the time, which thy say was my fault but it has worked everywhere else. Asked for more water in urn one night and they filled straight from tap. I had to throw it out as it was vile.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Natural House, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
6.6
19th Sep 2014

Location is good. Staff struggled with English at the most basic level. Not sure if they are permanent or not as the country had a week long festival going on but thay seemed to have no idea we were turning up. Had to crank up my PC to show them the booking. They gave us an inferior room and when I complaned showed us to another identcal one. Had to crank up PC again to show them what we had paid for and finally got correct room. Basic breakfast in cafe next door.Kitchenette basically useless.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Town House 50 Saigon, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.4
16th Sep 2014

Clean good sized private rooms with wardrobes. Staff were very accomodating. Breakfast buffett was good. Free pickup from airport.. We will stay there again on our return leg.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
9.4
21st Oct 2013

Fantastic hosts who made us feel at home in their house. Large,comfortable and beautifully furnished room, and bathroom (shared), good WiFi and security. Amazing breakfast. Good directions and facilities close by, nothing was too much trouble.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Lake Como Hostel La Primula, Lake Como, Italy
8.3
20th Oct 2013

Good atmosphere, dinner meal option good value. Lots of travel and sightseeing info. Good place to meet other travellers. Private rooms adequate; no wifi in rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
B&B Dolce Lario, Como, Italy
8.9
19th Oct 2013

B&B is quite away from downtown, but is only a few stops on train or a decent bus ride. Apart from that everything else is excellent. Room, ensuite, kitchen dining room, breakfast are all first class as is the host. Thoroughly recommend unless you are going to party late into the night downtown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
La Dolce Vita Rooms, Cinque Terre, Italy
7.1
16th Oct 2013

We ended up with a room only(uptown) hoping we had a kitchen but it just had a mini fridge and food was forbidden. Room was clean and good size. All facilities worked but just a hotel type room. Booking site needs to break down all the different types of rooms (apartments) so you can see what you are booking on. Overall good value for this area but disappointing in what you expected and what you drew.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Ciao Hostel, Florence, Italy
7.7
13th Oct 2013

Private rooms good size. Ours faced street and was quite noisy. Kitchen good. Bathrooms clean. Wifi good. Staff adequate. Location was a bit away from action but 10 mins walking got you back there. Beds comfortable. Somewhat hotel type hostel but covers all the basics quite well and was pretty good value. Recommend if you want to cook and not rage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Român Holidays, Rome, Italy
7.4
9th Oct 2013

Good location near the railway station and easy to find. Private room was clean but very small . Kitchen facilities limited and a bit unclean. Breakfast just a pre packaged croissant. Staff were only helpful, when an incident had occurred ( and we had to rely on other hostel members to help us out first)Then was helpful and assisted. Reasonably good value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
9.4
4th Oct 2013

We were not originally impressed when owners said we could not move in till 4 pm as apartment was not ready. From then on in though everything was perfect. Apartment was modern and large, was clean and had full kitchen appliances and utensils. Owner spoke very good English and was very friendly and helpful. We found it best value of all in the Sorrento/Amalfi region. Warning on the steps - It is a bit of a climb but you only climb them once/twice a day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Taormina "Homstel", Taormina, Italy
8.0
26th Sep 2013

Directions could still be a bit better. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location but a significant walk from bus stop. Good patio and meeting area. Dorms on par with price. Kitchen facilities good. On the night we were there staff told guests to vacate terrace and go to common room so people could sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Bed & Breakfast dei Templi, Agrigento, Italy
8.6
25th Sep 2013

Directions to hostel ok. Owner spoke good english and was able to answer all our questions regarding local and regional public transport. Room was very modern and clean. Nothing was broken or damaged as it seems in most Sicily B&B's. Kitchen was well equipped. There was a 2Euro charge for using stove but microwave was free. Locations in new part of town but this didn't worry us. We thought this was best B&B we have stayed in in Sicily so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Vecchia Palermo, Palermo, Italy
5.1
24th Sep 2013

Had to find someone to ring owners to check in as there is no onsite staff and we didn't have a phone. WIfi didn't work even though they gave us a number of passwords to try. Kichen was next to useless. Had to ask cleaner to find some cups so we could have a cup of tea. Ordered breakfast for 8am. It never turned up. Broken shower fittings, exposed powerpoints. Only really disappointing hostel so far in Italy. Would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
La Venerina, Trapani, Italy
8.6
22nd Sep 2013

Had to ring owners to let us in as no onsite staff. Once owner (or their representative) turned up she spoke little English, however everything was good from thereon. Room was clean and quiet, Kichen was large and well equipped,Location is close to bus stop and old town. Manager? ( she kept ringing someone everytime was asked for something) was very accomodating and friendly. Be warned bit hard to find in the dark and has no identification other than name next to buzzer but worth the effort.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Palazzo Sant Ursula, Valletta, Malta
6.6
19th Sep 2013

Main kitchen facilities closed at night. Alternative kitchen had no real facilites. Bathroom/toilet door had to be held closed by rubbish bin as lock broken. Otherwise OK as a BB. Breakfast simple but plentiful. Host had reasonable English but not overely knowledegeable/helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel, Prague, Czech Republic
10.0
25th Nov 2012

Excellent location,staff, facilities, room size, plus benefit of free coffees, tours etc. One of the very best I have stayed in in 10 weeks of travelling. Thoroughly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Do Step Inn, Vienna, Austria
6.0
22nd Nov 2012

Moved out after 1 night as hostel seemed to be full of local groups and cheap business travellers that took over the limited kitchen and lounge areas rather than backpackers. Staff offered no advice on anythingf other than how to find the hostel building and room. More like cheap hotel than hostel. Good if you just want a bed for night. Go elsewhere if you want a proper backpackers hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Boutique Apartments Possonium, Bratislava, Slovakia
7.4
21st Nov 2012

By all accounts this hostel should have been excellent. Good atmosphere, staff amd facilities. Only minor problem was large dorm had one bunk to many it, making it quite crowded. The real problem was that it had a bar downstairs which was full of noisy & drunk (locals?) some of which ended up on our dorm falling over everyting and personally threating us. Spent most of night in bed waiting to be punched up. Staff did evict main culprit I believe however worst night in 10 weeks of hostelling.

View Property Reply

Hi Andrew. We are terribly sorry about your bad experience in our hostel. A situation like that occurs very rarely, this might have been the fifth time something as unpleasant as this happened during our 6 years of existence. There were no locals in the bar, those were our guests (we don�t admit locals in there). The one guy was a nightmare to us as it was to you, that�s why we evicted him...The security and comfort of our guests are on the first place of our interests. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience, we hope that if you come back, you�ll be satified and secure!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
8.0
18th Nov 2012

Huge place catering more for busloads than the individual. Seem to fill every room up before opening up the next room so always felt crowded and impersonal. Huge queue of people trying to bookout in the mornings and luggage room overflowing. On the other hand it was clean, had well provisioned kichen, every bunk had reading light and power point ( though no wifi in rooms) and staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent value. Would try and finding something more personal next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
The Old Town Hostel, Sibiu, Romania
7.7
16th Nov 2012

Pleasant enough hostel. Place was full when we stayed there and there is really no lounge room to hang about in so everyone was falling over each other in the kitchen and queing for bathrooms. Good value for money, friendly staff and good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group,
  • Globetrotter
Explorers Hostel, Bucharest, Romania
8.6
10th Nov 2012

Good clean hostel, friendly and helpful staff. Location is within walking distance of train station but is still a reasonable distance from old city and entertainment and food. Otherwise couldn't fault. Dorms excellent value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Orient Express Hostel, Sofia, Bulgaria
7.7
8th Nov 2012

More like a B&B than a hostel. Good bedrooms, bathroom and breakfast but no usable common room or kitchen facilities. Owners effectively using them. Location and cleanliness good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Yo-Ho-Hostel, Varna, Bulgaria
7.4
3rd Nov 2012

We decided that having seen the size of the toilet/shower and smelling it(akin to dead rats in the wallspace) that we would skip showers for the duration here. The smell also permeated the lounge areas at times. Could't get my PC(811G) to connect to their wifi. Their response was some systems have trouble.Very frustrating when it works everywhere else. Felt staff didn't like us in kitchen - Seems they regarded it as their space. Overall don't think it deserves current rating- try elsewhere

View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, Andrew ! Our bathrooms/ toilets are not Western standard - they are typical for BG ! They smells like rose flowers - again from Bulgaria;) Your PC -go and check it - only one not working here ! Kitchen - sorry, but you have to wash soupy dishes before to put them back on place ;)For teflon dishes we use wooden cutlery - and so many other thing you have to learn, before to frustrate ... and notice : when you travel in Bulgaria - be ready for it and enjoy ;) Greetings from Yo-Ho !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Guest Rooms Edelweiss, Nessebar, Bulgaria
8.9
1st Nov 2012

Stayed in four bed dorm with kitchenette. Was best of both worlds in relation to an apartment and a hostel. Could do with a proper stove and softer matresses however everything else was fine. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Cordial House Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
6.0
26th Oct 2012

Could be a very good hostel- but seems management don't wish to make it so. Place is very dim with little lighting and motion activated lighting systems everywhere (when not switched off ).Can't spend more than a minute in a toilet wthout everything going pitch black until you get up and dance around again.Needed a torch to read my books in our room the lighting was so poor. Bathrooms a bit smelly(some anyway);kitchen shut half the day and poorly resourced. Was kept clean and good location thogh

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Guven Cave Hostel, Goreme, Turkey
10.0
21st Oct 2012

Outstanding hostel. Mustapha and Isa were exceptional hosts. Especially helpful with remedies and advice when my daughter was sick. Nothing was too much: informative, friendly,we were driven to places, shared stories,and no pressure to join tours. Both balloon pilots and good advice re flights etc. Hostel was good, clean and good location. Great buffet breakfast from roof top view. Made our stay memorable and would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Boomerang Hotel, Luxor, Egypt
9.7
15th Oct 2012

Cleanest and best hostel we have stayed in for over a month. Service from Manager was outstanding to the point that he purchased tickets for the train to Cairo for us ( ENR gave us the default no tickets availbale for the next 10 days) and then got on the train at midnight with us and asked other passengers to changea allocated seats so that we could all sit togther. Everything was no problem for him.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×