Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
PLUS Berlin, Berlin, Germany
8.0
6th Sep 2017

Very large place, hosting large school or tour groups. 4 bed dorm on ground floor got exceptional hot at night inspite of being a cold night and though there was a window, it was beside the only powerpoints and hence the charging phones etc, so couldnt be left open as we were on ground floor and no way to open it securely/partially such that someone couldnt reach in and grab phones.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Red Emperor Bar&Hostel, Tallinn, Estonia
9.1
2nd Sep 2017

Not the biggest place, just one floor of dorms, so while socialable the extend of partying may vary based on who is staying at the time. Excellent "happy hour" and "super happy half hour" prices. Beds were decent, secure lockers in reception/common area. Supermarket right across the road

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Monk's Bunk, Tallinn, Estonia
8.0
31st Aug 2017

For a "party hostel" I was disappointed. Place was dead during day up until the pub crawl, which they do wed - sat and was 15euro. Drinks at hostel bar are overpriced, but can bring your own in until 8pm. Pool and table soccer, but they cost to play. Large kitchen. I feel it may be better and more social on days they don't do the pubcrawl, as they had other drinking activities and people may start drinking early instead of waiting for the pubcrawl's power hour

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Walk On The Beach Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
7.1
17th Jun 2017

3 tier bunks mean there isnt enough room for bags, floor is covered so cleaner cant really sweep properly so it is sandy and in turn gets through your belongings. Staff were friendly but info wasnt always correct or omitted key point. No real atmosphere in the hostel, aside from free welcome drink it is pricey at the 'bar'. Area is expensive in general with not much nightlife for backpackers.

View Property Reply

Our rooms are as shown in our microsites and three tiered bunks are usual in Rio. Our cleaning team moves all backpacks and luggage so that the floors are properly swept, washed and mopped. We will look into what happened in your dorm during the time you stayed here, that is definitely not the service we provide at Walk On The Beach. Cocktails at our bar are under 4 american dollars, so we do not understand your basis of comparison when you say it's pricey. You stayed in Copacabana and we are sorry you did not like the area, there was not much we could do about that. However, if you were unhappy about prices, Rio is definitely not the place for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
BananaZ Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
6.9
13th Jun 2017

Three tier bunks, small locker, minimal space for bags in room, room smelt of smoke due to smokers area outside window. The included dinner is served late (8:30ish) to try accommodate gringos vs south americans, so depending on eating habits you either need to buy a small meal to last til then or just have proper meal at normal time and not have hostel dinner. Social atmosphere with mix of nationalities but wouldnt call it a party place. Changed to Books hostel around corner and was much happier

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Galeria 13, Salvador, Brazil
6.9
8th Jun 2017

Free caipirinhas hour is 5:15 to 6:15 ... when most people are out and about, and way too early compared to local nightlife. Beds were just chunks of foam, so dont expect good night sleep unless wasted. Some staff spoke english, some did not, using google translate wasnt much help. Breakfast was nice. If coming from airport on local bus dont follow the google maps walking directions from bus stop to hostel, take the long way round sticking to praia de Sa as it is well lit and has police present

View Property Reply

I try not to reply to these type of messages but this is just grumbling for the sake of it. Stayed one night and probably missed the caipirinhas so obviously its because we want everybody to miss it ,seriously ?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Biergarten Hostel, Ilha Grande, Brazil
8.0
6th Jun 2017

Reasonable hostel though bar is pricey and not meant to bring in outside alcohol. Atmosphere varied, due to the minimum two day booking policy the place could be half empty yet online have no availability. The night it was actually full we had fun. Comfortable bed, decent size locker, nice breakfast

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Leo´s Clan Beach Hostel, Paraty, Brazil
8.3
3rd Jun 2017

One of best foosball tables I've encountered in a hostel. Reasonable beds but the bunks are three levels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Mama Brasil Hostel, Sao Paulo, Brazil
7.1
2nd Jun 2017

Bedside plugs, lamp, shelf and under bed lockers .... which were almost all broken. Didnt really have a social area, bit of space by reception and in garden out backpackers. Mostly brazilians while there but they were more socialable than ones in other Sao Paulo hostels

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Namoa Hostel Vila Madalena, Sao Paulo, Brazil
6.9
1st Jun 2017

No backpackers, no atmosphere, just brazilians travelling. Paid extra to change room as top bunk in the big dorm is ridiculously close to roof. Wifi wasnt great, No signal in kitchen or big dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
O de Casa Hostel Bar, Sao Paulo, Brazil
8.6
31st May 2017

Best place I stayed in Sao Paulo but unfortunately couldnt extend as was fully booked by large group. Reasonable priced caprihana, nice craft beer on tap. Social place of actual backpackers instead of Brazilians

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Cidade Baixa Hostel, Porto Alegre, Brazil
7.1
24th May 2017

Low bunks which are not very wide and have no side rail, so bottom bunk you cant sit up and top bunk you are worried about rolling off. No atmosphere, just Brazilians there. Only met one staff member who spoke english, but others tried best with google translate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Voyage Recoleta Hostel, Buenos Aires, Argentina
7.7
12th May 2017

Alright place to stay for going out to Palermo. Mixed crowd of argentinians and backpackers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Rock Hostel & Brewery, Buenos Aires, Argentina
7.4
7th May 2017

Mostly spanish speakers and little in way of partying. Bed was comfortable but room smelt of wet/moldy wood though could have been due to stormy weather

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Adventure Brew Hostel, La Paz, Bolivia
8.3
14th Apr 2017

Nice place but terrible wifi. The draft beer was nice, food was reasonable but could be long waits. Close to Loki hostel to go party later.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Cozy Hostel, Puno, Peru
7.4
5th Apr 2017

Nice enough place but issues with the hot water. Not just that water wasn't hot but rather no water came out when turned on hot tap. Another backpacker said they had hot water previous day, so hit and miss I guess. Secure lockers both in lobby and on each floor. Rooms can be cold but had heaters

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Kokopelli Hostel Paracas, Paracas, Peru
9.4
20th Mar 2017

Chilled hostel by day as everyone relaxes at pool or beach. Fairly social in evening with ping pong, pool, and table soccer getting people interacting. Each night is music from a set genre with some competitions organised. Before booking anything with their travel agent I would check around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Qispi Kay Hostel, Piura, Peru
5.7
16th Mar 2017

In terms of security there were no lockers and at night there were locals coming in to use the roof top bar/restaurant. They didn't change the sheets between guests, just kind of brushed the bed off and straightened the sheets. Given it cost more than the other hostelw I've stayed at in Peru, I was none to impressed, but really no one goes to Piura unless they have to e.g. to fly to Lima.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Dragonfly Hostels, Lima, Peru
8.6
15th Mar 2017

Stayed during the water outage but they had their own water tank which could be filled so had water usually once a day for showering etc. Was there on St Paddys day and weekend but wasn't liveliest, more of people hanging and chatting type place. In the dorm it got really hot, two wall mounted fans blew around but didn't reach all beds. Oddly enough the reception just outside the dorm was quite cold at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
ChiChi Babylon Backpacker, Montanita, Ecuador
8.6
7th Mar 2017

Quick walk to beach or cocktail alley. Reliable WiFi. No individual mosquito nets but told they're getting them. Hot showers. Social in evenings but not huge, but may vary by day of week. Wristbands/security on busier nights of week.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
12:12 Hostels, Bogota, Colombia
6.6
25th Feb 2017

The place is clean, has comfortable beds (if a little short) and is in a safe part of town, however the area is expensive and far from sights. Some nightlife spots on other side of carrera 7 but hostel atmosphere is dead, more like a hotel lobby than a hostel. Pricing is dodgy, they advertise as 28,000 on hostelworld but is 32,000 for walk ins or extra nights.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Boudnik, Prague, Czech Republic
8.0
5th Sep 2016

Stayed one night and then changed hostels for something more socialable. The lobby area has a couch and couple chairs and there is a dining room, which was eventually where some of us drank and played jenga but just generally quite quiet. The trams a short walk away are fairly regular, which was good for getting into town and back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Asylum Cairns, Cairns, Australia
7.7
22nd Jan 2015

A mix of people, some just travelling through and some longer stays, meant it was fun but not exactly crazy as some of the crowd would have work the next day, be low on funds or over Cairns weekday nightlife. Rooms did the basics. Somewhere to drop your stuff (but no secure lockers), escape the heat, and sleep at night. Can't comment on Wifi as I never tried it since had data on my phone. Staff were good sorts for the most part. Joe and Nina were particularly easy to get along with and chat

View Property Reply

Thank you for taking time to give your feedback. We hope to see you again soon in Cairns and looking forward to the opportunity of once again, looking after you. Kind Regards.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Luxembourg City Hostel, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
7.4
15th Sep 2014

Was there early in the week (might differ on weekends) but it seemed to be what I'd characterise as a 'youth' hostel rather than a 'backpacker' hostel, being a fairly quiet and orderly place rather than all about socialising and partying.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×