Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Abbey Court, Dublin, Ireland
7.7
10th Jan 2018

It’s a nice enough place but expensive for what it is compared to other Dublin hostels. There’s decent showers but the breakfast isn’t much to speak of. The place is under construction as well, so all the activity rooms it advertises actually don’t exist right now.

View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the review. We know the construction is quite annoying but we are getting it done as quickly as possible and we have very clearly stated on our website that we are under construction, and also on our social media channels. Our breakfast is free of charge and all you can eat and includes tea, coffee, brown and white toast, fresh fruit, a choice of cereals, cold cuts of meat and cheese and sausage rolls. We feel it is fairly plentiful. Thanks again for your review :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
St Christopher's Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland
7.4
20th Nov 2016

The room itself was tiny with nowhere to put luggage. I expected the under bed cages like their other hostels but there were only tiny lockers for small valuables. Free laundry was a win though

View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Appreciate the comments and glad you made the most of the free laundry. Thank again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
8.0
11th Nov 2016

Staff were great, bathrooms were relatively clean. The rooms are tiny and packed with beds. There are no lockers and no space for many bags.

View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for staying with us at The Hostel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment which, once finished, will mean more space in our smaller rooms. There will also be lockers in these rooms and space for bags. We hope you come back and visit us soon. Thanks The Hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Flying Pig Uptown, Amsterdam, Netherlands
7.1
6th Sep 2016

+ the wifi works and the showers are clean - the toilets and kitchen are tiny, the only common area is a small bar that is often loud as smells of weed. Cleaners stole my drinks from my room even though they were only there because the kitchen was closed (it's hardly open) Also, to the girl at reception telling people that weed is legal, it's not. For the price, there's better places

View Property Reply

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased that you found us to be a clean hostel with good WIFI. We are, however, disappointed to see your stay with us was not as expected. We are sorry that the cleaning team removed the alcohol from your room, the alcohol had been brought down to the kitchen to be stored as we do not allow alcohol to be consumed in the rooms, we are sorry if there was a miscommunication about this. Our kitchen is open for cooking between 1- 10.30pm daily but if you need to access anything from the kitchen, guests can always ask our receptionists! We are sorry you were unhappy with one of receptionists comments on the legality of weed in The Netherlands. While you are correct it is not officially legal, it is also not officially illegal in The Netherlands, making it quite a legal grey area. Our reception may have phrased it as such, to inform other guests that it is OK to smoke in Amsterdam, we will make sure to check with all our receptionists that they are giving correct information. Thank you again for your review, we wish you the best with your travels, The Flying Pig Uptown

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
7.4
2nd Sep 2016

The rooms face the street which gets really loud with all the smokers hanging outside the bar. And the smell is overpowering so you have to close all the windows. The keycards are annoying; I had to get mine recoded everyday.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
7.7
25th Aug 2016

It was nice enough. The bathrooms could be cleaner. The showers smell because of blocked drains. Dinner at the bar was disappointing.

View Property Reply

We are very sorry to know that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We will be passing this feedback to our cleaning crew to make sure we will improve in that aspect. Thank you and enjoy the rest of your travels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Le Flâneur Guesthouse, Lyon, France
7.4
29th Jul 2016

It was nice enough. There's only one bathroom which was cleaned at weird hours (like 5-7pm) so you couldn't use it. It was clean though. And they really need to clean the kitchen occasionally. The garbage was full with flies around it but no one thought to change it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
7.4
1st Dec 2015

I had higher expectations after staying at the wombats in Munich. The kitchen was really small but had a great variety of free stuff. I didn't like being put in a "mixed dorm" with three middle aged men. And then an old couple as well for one night. It would be better if they looked at who they're putting in the rooms. I was a bit apprehensive at first as a solo female traveller and it didn't make for meeting anyone.

View Property Reply

Hi there :) thank you for your Feedback! Our kitchen is indeed a bit small, but unfortunately there's not much we can do about it - so we're trying to make the best of it (like making our guests cuddle while cooking :D)! Unfortunately the "problem" with mixed dorms is that you might share with people you normally wouldn't get to know, BUT that's also the beauty of it :) A very good place to meet fellow travellers is always our womBar :)! Hopefully see you next time & happy travels :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
7.7
27th Nov 2015

It's all a bit run down in the dorm I had. It was the basement with stairs overhead so it was really loud and you had to step down to go to the toilet. There's no kitchen in there, just a sink and jug. Other firms may have been better. The main kitchen and hang out area is nice and spacious. They also have a new movie projector so we were able to watch movies. I was there 4 nights and our bathroom wasn't cleaned once. I had to tell reception that we'd run out of toilet paper.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Patio Hostel, Bratislava, Slovakia
8.9
25th Nov 2015

There was no hot water! I was there 2 nights and it was cold half the time and Luke warm at best. As in too cold to stand under in the shower. I told staff and she told me there was hot water, like I was imagining it. And to top it off, the heater in my room didn't work either. The rest of the place is quite nice. Free washing is a huge bonus when you've been in the road a while. I wouldn't bother with the dryer though. Having to go 2 floors for a microwave sucked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Oki Doki City Hostel Warsaw, Warsaw, Poland
7.4
17th Nov 2015

There's no quilt. You get given sheets but the blankets are in the rooms already. I'm not sure how often they get cleaned. I got bites; so did my room mates. Apart from that, it's pretty good. The kitchen is small and the bathrooms could do with some decent lighting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Grampa's Hostel, Wroclaw, Poland
5.7
15th Nov 2015

Kitchen was good. Bathrooms were amazing. However, security is non existent. Anyone can walk in off the street and staff don't check that you're a guest. And the rooms don't lock. The only lockers in the rooms are tiny for valuables only and they don't seem that secure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×