Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
YHA Queenstown Central, Queenstown, New Zealand
6.0
26th Jan 2018

The room was unbearably hot. Noise carries from below but you can’t even open the windows more than 3 inches to get some air in. A deposit is needed to have a fan in your room. I ended up going to get ice to sleep and even considered moving to a hotel until they said they had fans available. A small reprieve from the heat of the room. The staff were lovely and the location was good but I would never stay here again as it was the worst sleep I’ve had. Should have fans instead of tvs in the rooms.

View Property Reply

Hi there - thanks for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you had such trouble sleeping. I can understand, this weather has been unprecedented and sleeping in this heat is certainly a challenge. We don't keep fans in the rooms permanently however, as you mention, we do have them available at reception so all you need to do is ask :) It's great that you enjoyed the other aspects of our hostel though. The staff are great and really try to help in any way that they can. Our location is second to none - especially the lake in this weather - a perfect place to cool down!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
10.0
22nd Jan 2018

Loved my stay at Te Anau! Staff keep this place so clean. Ended up extending my stay here for two extra nights. So much to do in the area and staff are happy to help with recommendations. If it’s a cold day check out the spa they offer (small fee) Comfy beds and a good sized room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Absoloot Value Accommodation, Queenstown, New Zealand
9.4
21st Jan 2018

Lovely room. Comfortable beds and air con!!! A bit noisy if your room overlooks the square but still managed to sleep like a baby from 9.30pm 😂

View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your great review. The air con is definitely fantastic during the heat wave we're having this summer! We're super glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it's fabulous to hear our new beds are comfy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
JUCY Snooze Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand
8.0
18th Jan 2018

While the pod idea is nice to have your own space to get away, they are incredibly hot. They do have fans in the pods though they are loud and don’t do a lot. Excellent internet and good facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Matamata Backpackers, Matamata, New Zealand
9.1
17th Jan 2018

Cute little place. Rooms were a bit hot and not a lot of charging points. Helpful and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
YHA National Park Backpackers & Climbing Wall, Tongariro National Park, New Zealand
9.7
15th Jan 2018

Lovely check in with very helpful staff. Clean facilities however there are only bathrooms on the ground floor. My room faced west and was very hot but the bed was comfortable. Would definitely recommend if you are in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Junohall YHA Hostel Waitomo, Waitomo, New Zealand
8.9
14th Jan 2018

This hostel was nice, however could be cleaner. My bed didn’t have a ladder to get to the top bunk so had to make do with the end of the bunk which was hard to get down early in the morning with no lights on. Still would be happy to stay here next time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Laura's Backpacker 523, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
10.0
29th Mar 2017

Lovely place to stay! Helpful staff with recommendations of what to do in the area and the communal dinner is lovely to meet other travellers. Privacy curtains are perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Oldtown Hostel Otter, Zurich, Switzerland
7.7
2nd Jan 2017

Good location but have to walk up the first flight of stairs to get to the hostel then a lift to the rest of the rooms. Quite a messy hostel and the beds didn't seem clean. Would have expected a little more for the cost. Zurich itself is always going to be expensive though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×