Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Gender Female, Age 118

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Everyday Bangkok Hostel, Bangkok, Thailand
8.9
20th Dec 2017

Great hostel, very clean with nice facilities and atmosphere. However, if you’re only in Bangkok for a short time (1-2 days) and just looking to go to the Grand Palace, Wat Pho, etc. I would stay somewhere closer to that area. It is right on the subway line which is great to get to/from the airport but it’s about an hour walking to the Grand Palace area. Otherwise really enjoyed my stay and very clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Norn Nung Len Cafe & Hostel, Chiang Rai, Thailand
10.0
17th Dec 2017

Great hostel! Very clean and would definitely recommend! Beds are a little creaky but not bad.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
K-Bunk by Slumber Party, Krabi Ao Nang, Thailand
9.7
11th Dec 2017

Great stay at K bunk! Each bed has curtains and a light so you can get some good sleep. It’s about a 20min walk to the beach which isn’t too bad - plus they have free transfers every so often which is nice. Nice atmosphere and the bathroom and showers were surprisingly clean! Would highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hey Beach Hostel, Koh Lanta, Thailand
9.7
8th Dec 2017

Right on the beach, which is lovely, and fairly clean as well. Breakfast is just bananas and toast but it is good. Can rent a bike from them to drive around the island. Only problem was that I could hear loud music from the dorm until around midnight. Otherwise, great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Voyagers Hostel, Koh Phi Phi, Thailand
9.1
7th Dec 2017

Steps away from the beach, but not too close to the loud music so you can get some sleep at night! The lady who runs it is the nicest and sweetest person - she is very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Luna Hostel Phuket Airport, Phuket, Thailand
9.4
5th Dec 2017

Very clean, awesome free breakfast, quick walk to the airport. Also close to one of the beaches in the north if you have time to kill before your flight!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Everyday Bangkok Hostel, Bangkok, Thailand
9.4
4th Dec 2017

Nice hostel, very clean, good food! Right by the train line so that is good, still a bit of a walk from Khaosan Road and the main attractions, but a quick and cheap Uber ride.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Zostel Kathmandu, Kathmandu, Nepal
8.3
3rd Dec 2017

I stayed in the 4 bed female dorm this time instead of the 8 bed mixed dorm, and it was much better. The bathroom was actually clean and had enough room to shower. Nice atmosphere, good location.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you were satisfied with your stay! Do come visit us again! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Love and Light, Pokhara, Nepal
9.7
10th Nov 2017

Hotel Love and Light is a very nice hostel! Always clean which is a huge plus. The staff is very nice and helpful for arraigning transport and such. The only problem is there is always a child crying and screaming loudly which kind of ruins the atmosphere and wakes you up in the morning. Would be a perfect place if that noise wasn’t always in the hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Shangrila Boutique Hotel, Kathmandu, Nepal
8.3
9th Nov 2017

The hostel was nice. Bathroom always smelled weird, as do most in Nepal. Staff was friendly enough. Not much of a social place, but nice and quiet to relax after trekking.

View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! At Shangri La Boutique Hotel we want to be your home away from home in Nepal and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured that after a busy trekking/tourism season we are in the process of remodeling our bathrooms and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, Cartagena, Colombia
7.4
27th Sep 2017

El Viajero was okay. The bathrooms always smelled kinda funky and it wasn't very clean. The music was loud until around midnight so don't plan on sleeping early. A/C wasn't really sufficient if sleeping on the top bunk. Staff was nice and helpful and breakfast was good.

View Property Reply

we are sorry about your experience, we are speaking with our staff to reduce the noise and regulate it while the bar is open ,we apreciate your review and hope next time be better with us

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Dreamer, Palomino, Colombia
8.0
23rd Sep 2017

Good hostel, nothing special. Got dirty quick because of everyone coming in and out from the beach and pool, but hey, you're in Palomino for the beach and pool anyways! No A/C but fans are sufficient at night. Food is overpriced so at least bring some snacks or go elsewhere to eat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mundo Nuevo Minca, Minca, Colombia
10.0
20th Sep 2017

Hands down best Hostel I've stayed at in South America. Such an amazing relaxing vibe and a really friendly staff. The food was also amazing! Definitely stay here while in Minca. Way better than overrated Casa Elemento.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Villana Hostel, Santa Marta, Colombia
8.9
19th Sep 2017

Good hostel - clean, good A/C at night, rarely crowded so you have a lot of space. The only issue is they play loud music until midnight even if no one is at the bar, so that seemed pretty useless and obnoxious to guests who want to sleep.

View Property Reply

Hola! thanks for your review. Bar is open everyday from 4pm to midnight. We start lowering volume at 10pm gradually, due to the need for sleep. We just don´t want to become a hotel. it´s always nice to have music. You can always ask for any song in particular! Thanks again for your stay and don't forget to recommend us!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
All In Hostel Guatape, Guatape, Colombia
9.7
17th Sep 2017

The hostel was great! Staff was really helpful and went above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. Right on the lake and you can rent a kayak and explore :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Sugar Cane Hostel, Medellin, Colombia
9.7
15th Sep 2017

Great hostel! Very clean, good to make your own breakfast, nice rooftop. Only thing is you can basically only hang in your room or the rooftop. The staff is super helpful and kind and the bathrooms were always really clean! Great location as well. Close to Parque Lleras and nearby to lots of restaurants and the Exito supermarket :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Coffee Tree Boutique Hostel, Salento, Colombia
10.0
12th Sep 2017

Perfect hostel. Breakfast was amazing with pancakes, eggs, fresh fruit, and coffee/tea. The vibe is so chill and it's really nice to chill outside or on the porch. Very clean and staff is really helpful. Also packed lunch for only 6000 COP if you want! Highly highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Botanico Hostel Bogota, Bogota, Colombia
7.4
9th Sep 2017

The location and rooftop bar were really nice and had cool vibes. However, the bathrooms were quite dirty and a lot of times didn't have toilet paper. It was also hard to sleep because music was blasting every night. Great location, but not clean and kinda gross.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ollantaytampu Hostel - Main Square, Ollantaytambo, Peru
9.7
26th Aug 2017

It was a nice, clean hostel very central to everything. Decent breakfast included and the staff was very helpful answering any questions. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Intro Hostels Cusco, Cusco, Peru
9.4
19th Aug 2017

A nice, relaxing hostel in a good location. Close walk to plaza de armas. It's a good place to meet people and chill out but definitely not a party hostel. However, if you're looking to party, Loki is right up the street and then you can come back and get a good nights sleep :) shower temp fluctuated a lot but you can usually get a hot shower. Decent breakfast included. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
7.1
13th Aug 2017

The atmosphere was nice. They have way too few bathrooms for the amount of people there - there was constantly a wait for the bathrooms most times of the day. The bunks in the dorms have curtains which is nice. There is hot water in the showers, just expect to wait a while to use one!

View Property Reply

We have 7 baths in the hostel for 38 guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Akilpo, Huaraz, Peru
9.4
2nd Aug 2017

The staff at Hostel Akilpo was so friendly and helpful, especially when getting information and advice for long treks! The showers for the dorms were fantastic - hot water, good water pressure, and clean! The only thing is there is a lot of noise from the street, but you'll usually be so tired from trekking you can just pass out :) a big thank you to the staff for being so helpful!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.6
17th Jul 2017

The hostel was nice - there was hot water, wifi, free breakfast, and free dinner Mon - Wed. Their bar and food selections were decent. My main complaint is that the staff was pretty clueless and put us in a different room than we had booked when we arrived and made us pay the difference.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hump Day Hostel, Quito, Ecuador
7.1
13th Jul 2017

Pros : good location, free breakfast, decent price, day trips available to book at hostel Cons : lack of hot water, bathrooms always smelled and were rarely clean, some staff was clueless, were standing outside one night for 10 minutes before getting let in because no one was there to answer the door If staying here, it is worth the extra money for a private room. The dorm bathrooms are nasty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Haka Lodge Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand
10.0
2nd Mar 2017

Haka Lodge in Queenstown was super nice. Everything was extremely clean and it was easy to get a good nights sleep with the curtains around each bunk. It was a great location, very walkable to the city center, Queenstown Hill, and the waterfront. The staff was very helpful and accommodating with luggage storage as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand
10.0
1st Mar 2017

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, Te Anau, New Zealand
9.7
26th Feb 2017

It was nice to have a room with a bathroom inside only shared by 4 people. The staff was very friendly and the hostel was walkable to everything necessary in Te Anau. They had lots of space for me to dry out my camping gear that had gotten wet on the Routeburn and Kepler tracks days earlier.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand
10.0
22nd Feb 2017

I loved this hostel!! Fantastic location in Queenstown, walkable from the waterfront (not to mention great views from the hostel itself). It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. They were very accommodating of luggage storage while I was on the Routeburn and Kepler Tracks and allowed me to check in after the reception desk had closed as well. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
YHA Mt Cook, Mt Cook, New Zealand
9.7
18th Feb 2017

You could not have asked for a better hostel location - fantastic view of the mountains and really close to the hiking trails. Easy to catch a ride to the trailheads or drive over in your car. It was not the cleanest hostel, but it didn't matter because most of your time will be spent outside while here. The Aoraki/Mt Cook area is stunning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
All Stars Inn on Bealey, Christchurch, New Zealand
9.7
17th Feb 2017

This hostel was really nice and new, very clean and spacious. The beds were actually comfortable and there was a curtain on each bunk so you could get a good nights sleep. I was only here for a night (just a stop over in Christchurch) but I enjoyed the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Nomads Capital Backpackers, Wellington, New Zealand
7.1
16th Feb 2017

I was not a huge fan of this hostel - it is more for the younger/party type. It is a huge hostel so it was kind of dirty and the rooms were extremely hot. It was, however, in a good location in Wellington.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Taupo Urban Retreat, Taupo, New Zealand
8.3
13th Feb 2017

The staff was incredibly friendly at Taupo Urban Retreat and they were extremely helpful with anything I needed to know! The hostel was a great location for Taupo, walking distance from everything. There was also a very convenient pickup outside the hostel for the Tongariro Alpine Crossing very early in the morning. My only complaint is that there were too many people sharing one bathroom and it could get quite dirty/nasty. Lots of party people when Kiwi Experience kids showed up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Crash Palace, Rotorua, New Zealand
7.4
12th Feb 2017

The bunks were very squeaky/annoying to get down from the top bunk, but that's to be expected in a hostel! It wasn't very clean, but the staff was friendly and the hostel was walking distance from lots of things in Rotorua.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Haka Lodge Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
10.0
11th Feb 2017

Haka Lodge was quite nice and it was nice that the beds provided a curtain for a nice night's sleep. I was only here for a night upon my arrival to NZ but the staff was very helpful with bag storage and general info.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
4.6
15th May 2016

The only pro to this hostel was the location and that the pub below played live music. The bathrooms were cramped, dirty, and there weren't enough for the amount of people there. The rooms were very cramped as well. The atmosphere was not hostel-like at all, it was more just like rooms above a pub. There was no "common area" besides the pub and we had a hard time checking out before 7 am because the pub where the reception was was locked. I wouldn't recommend for travelers.

View Property Reply

Hello there, Thank you very much for leaving us some feedback. Glad you liked our location and live music! We are always attentive to the reviews from our guests and by reading yours we are concerned as it seems you didn't like staying with us. We do our best to keep clean all the parts of the hostel and especially the bathrooms but at peak time it can be tough to do so. We are sorry you didn't like the atmosphere of the hostel, it's true that we don't have common area but our big brother "The Village" has a big one where you can meet plenty of travelers! We are also sorry you had some trouble to check out. If you had told us that you had to leave early in the morning we would have informed you to simply leave your key card on the top of your bed. We wish you all the best during your next travels! Take care

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel One Paralelo, Barcelona, Spain
9.7
12th May 2016

Hostel one was an awesome experience! The staff was so friendly and the dinners were so good every night. It was especially nice for solo travelers to meet other people and feel safe and welcomed going out in big groups at night. I loved the atmosphere and the location and would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Hat Madrid, Madrid, Spain
10.0
10th May 2016

Very nice hostel with great facilities. The breakfast was nice to have there and the location was walking distance to lots of sights. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Yes! Lisbon Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
10.0
8th May 2016

Loved everything about this hostel! The location was close to lots of sights as well as bus stops and the homemade dinner was very good. It was very clean and not too loud in the rooms since they were far enough away from the lobby. Definitely recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.6
6th May 2016

This was a nice place to stay in Seville, located close to lots of food and drink.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.7
5th May 2016

Very nice hostel with friendly people. Location is great, walking distance from lots of good sights, food, and bars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×