Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Gender Female, Age 23

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
YHA Cambridge, Cambridge, England
7.4
28th Sep 2018

No space at all in the four bed female dorm. Showers were hot but have a tendency to flood the floor. Nice kitchen was a plus. WiFi sucks. Some of the doors stick when opening, making it hard to maneuver with luggage. Seven minute walk from train station and sainsburys. YHA bath is nicer.

View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. I am sorry you had issues with the showers and doors, we have logged your issue with our maintenance team to take a look at. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. I am disappointed to hear that you did not like your room, we have a variety of different sized rooms available and we would have been happy to recommend something more suitable for your needs. We hope you liked your visit to Cambridge overall and wish you happy travels in future. kind regards Holly YHA Cambridge

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
YHA Bath, Bath, England
8.6
25th Sep 2018

Huge dorm room and kitchen. Bus stops right outside the hostel, don’t walk up the hill with luggage. Nice beds with reading lamps and plugs. Shower wasn’t as hot as I prefer, but it was clean and there were plenty of them. Really appreciated the quietness of the place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Central Backpackers, Oxford, England
7.4
21st Sep 2018

Miserable. Don’t stay here if you want to sleep. The place vibrates with the beat of the adjacent club. Earplugs provided but don’t help. WiFi absolute shit. Hot showers but only 4 of them. Freezing (or hot in summer, I guess) because windows are all open. The bedrooms are smelly if closed. Nice kitchen. Decent space in rooms. No shelf or reading lights, but there are plugs for top bunk. Lockers in rooms plus key card access. It wasn’t the staff’s fault, but I wouldn’t stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Rainbow Hostel Doolin, Doolin, Ireland
9.7
17th Sep 2018

This is a wonderful little place. There is a fire in the common room every evening and Carmel is fantastic. Huge kitchen and everything is clean. The bus to/from Galway stops right out front. I’d recommend Doolin with a car, though. Nearest grocery store is a 25-30 minute walk, so come prepared.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Woodquay Hostel Galway City, Galway, Ireland
6.3
15th Sep 2018

5-10 minutes from Latin Quarter so quiet at night. No lockers in the bedrooms and not enough space in the 6 bed dorm. Ensuite shower was either boiling hot or freezing, but the hallway showers were all push buttons. Lots of long term residents it seemed like. I've had much worse, but I would try my luck elsewhere next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Isaacs Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
7.1
12th Sep 2018

Nice location, just across the river from temple bar and trinity college- 10 minute walk. Key card to open all doors but no lockers in the rooms. Showers only get luke warm and you have to push a button to keep water going (use the shower outside the private dorms to avoid the push button). Good kitchen with lots of storage space. Bedroom was large, which was nice. Only two sinks in the girls bathroom so hard to brush your teeth if others are in there.

View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comprehensive feedback - good and not so good.. We are working on it

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Global Village, Belfast, Northern Ireland
8.6
9th Sep 2018

Came here after horrible night at city backpackers and it was great. Lockers under beds, spacious room, hot shower on the second floor. Free breakfast just cereals and bread and jam. Kitchen could use some new cookware, all the pans are warped. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Belfast City Backpacker, Belfast, Northern Ireland
3.7
8th Sep 2018

I left after one night. Room 1 smells like an armpit and there is no luggage space. Kitchen was a mess- no one cleans anything, stove barely hot enough to boil. Free cooked breakfast meant to start at 8 but no staff was in sight until 9:15. Shortage of toilet paper in all bathrooms. One staff member was shaving in the downstairs public toilet and didn’t clean the sink after. Staff didn’t know what they were doing and other guests were strange.

View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for the feedback! We're sorry to hear there was an issue with breakfast during your stay and are aware you were issued a refund for this inconvenience. In terms of luggage space, underneath each bed you'll find spacious lockers where you can securely store your belongings! All our staff are fully trained and always happy to restock a bathroom should it run empty. And while we don't have the ability to choose our guests, we think meeting new, different people is the best part of hostelling! Happy Travels :)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Inverness Youth Hostel, Inverness, Scotland
6.6
2nd Sep 2018

In residential area 15 minutes from town. Awful showers, have to push a button for water every ten seconds, plus there are not enough hooks and no trash bin. No WiFi in rooms. Kitchen big and clean, but lacking napkins/paper towels (have dish towels only). Plugs are scarce. Room had a funky smell that I couldn’t identify, but you don’t notice after a few minutes. The place had no atmosphere but the staff was good, that’s not their fault. Pay the extra price to stay in town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Stirling Youth Hostel, Stirling, Scotland
7.4
1st Sep 2018

It's a ten minute walk up a very steep hill from the train/bus station, but then you are only a ten minute walk (further up the hill) to the castle. Nice, big, clean kitchen. They are dead strict on check in at 15:00, I arrived early and no one was there. A cleaning guy came out and told me I could leave my luggage with the rest, in the wide open lobby, which is definitely not secure. The halls and rooms are secured with a key card.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Euro Hostel Glasgow, Glasgow, Scotland
7.1
30th Aug 2018

Nice location, ten minute walk from Queen st station and two minutes from central. Kitchen has severe shortage of spoons and forks. Two big fridges were overflowing and it’s a bit messy in there.

View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We will certainly looked into the issues raised

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Astor Museum Inn, London, England
6.9
20th Aug 2018

The cheaper building is about five minutes walk from the main building, where the kitchen is. Highly appreciated the free milk provided. Walking distance to West End theaters and right across the street from British Museum. Nearest tube about ten minutes walk. I watched them vacuum but still found wads of hair in the carpet and the beds weren't very comfy. Lockable bins under the bed for valuables. Steep and narrow stairs plus tiny landings made moving luggage difficult.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
ClinkNOORD, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.3
19th Aug 2018

Easy access from central train station- take the free ferry and it's a five minute walk. Helpful staff and nice, clean toilets and showers. The 12 bed room has a big open area and then 4 beds crammed into a tiny side corner. The shared areas are loud because they are all near the bar which plays loud music, however the sound doesn't penetrate into the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
ODDSSON, Reykjavik, Iceland
8.6
9th Aug 2018

It's a bit out of the city center but with a car it's fine. Comfy beds with ample plugs, nice kitchen and sitting area, good bathrooms. Staff rushes you a bit in the kitchen as they were cleaning the stove while I was cooking on it. Yoga room is great; you can use it anytime. Check in staff is helpful with planning day trips and advice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Soul Kitchen, St Petersburg, Russia
9.7
2nd Aug 2018

Great location- I walked to all major sights in the city. Staff is very kind and helpful, as well. Nice big kitchen with plenty of space for everyone's groceries. Comfy beds with plug sockets and privacy curtains, plus lockers under the beds that your suitcase fits in (and more plugs for charging). Rooms are big and bathrooms are nice and clean. You must take off your shoes when you enter and the staff is very strict about this, even if you're just running in for a jacket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
City Backpackers Hostel, Stockholm, Sweden
8.0
29th Jul 2018

The building is cut up very weird. It's a bit of a labyrinth between your room and the kitchen and showers are randomly located. You get a code for your room and another code (that changes daily) for the hostel entrance. Staff was nice but I would not stay again due to the layout and showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
a&o Berlin Hauptbahnhof, Berlin, Germany
6.0
25th Jul 2018

Would not stay again. Walked here from main train station at night and felt very unsafe. It isn't near any of the major Berlin sights. Staff was standoffish throughout my stay. The building is a huge maze; finding the kitchen took me ages. More of a shared hotel than hostel. Having a toilet and shower in the six bed dorm was convenient.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Westbahnhof Hostel One, Vienna, Austria
9.1
15th Jul 2018

Staff was fantastic. My three bunkmates snored all night and the front desk staff let me change rooms at no charge. The room had a toilet and shower, plus its own fridge. Kitchen area was nice but it gets crowded. Small lockers in the rooms, but the luggage storage area was also the hangout area, so that didn't feel very safe. It's a five minute walk to the nearest U-bahn, which is a major one in the Vienna system. Took me eight minutes to reach the city center. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Zsofi's House Hostel, Budapest, Hungary
5.4
14th Jul 2018

Would not stay again. Place was a nightmare to find and the woman at the front desk was very unhelpful. Shower and toilet didn't seem very clean, either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Zen Hostel by Pura Vida, Cluj Napoca, Romania
7.4
13th Jul 2018

Too far to walk from train/bus station (Uber is cheap), but it’s nicely located within the downtown city. My first stay was upstairs (six bed I think) and the room was very nice with a great bathroom. Second stay I was downstairs (ten bed) and the room sucked. Bed wasn’t comfortable and shower was bad. Lovely full breakfast cooked every morning with veggies and eggs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
B13 Hostel, Sibiu, Romania
8.6
11th Jul 2018

Great location. Plenary of hot showers and toilets. Very small kitchen and the fridge, tables, and chairs are in the “social room” down the hall. Rooms are large and had ample plugs but you can’t sit in the bottom bunk because the top one is too low. Would stay again, it’s a good value for what you pay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Zen Hostel by Pura Vida, Cluj Napoca, Romania
8.3
4th Jul 2018

Stayed here on my way in and out of Romania. Four bed dorm is considerably nicer (comfier beds and better shower) than the eight bed. Nice kitchen and the free breakfast is great (eggs, veggies, cheese, cold cuts, and yogurt one day). Has a nice, laid back vibe. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Meander Hostel, Budapest, Hungary
6.6
1st Jul 2018

Not what I expected but not bad. The staff are Brits and Aussies which gives the place a unique backpacker, adult summer camp vibe but I prefer a place run by locals. Only one shower gives hot water on the second floor. The staff arrange outings every night so it’s a great place to meet people. Kitchen gets used a lot so I’m assuming that’s why it was dirty. Security was awesome; you get a fob to enter the building and a key code for your room, plus good lockers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Palmers Lodge Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia
7.7
29th Jun 2018

Good for passing through Zagreb but I wouldn’t stay a long time. Fully equipped kitchen is appreciated. Limited number of showers and not much atmosphere though. Closer to the bus station than the town center

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Situs Hostel, Split, Croatia
9.1
26th Jun 2018

The hostel is great and so is the host, Petar. Very nice living room area and kitchen (no stove though). Only two showers so that’s why I marked facilities mediocre. There is a nice vibe here and Petar will help you with anything. It’s a bit of a walk to the waterfront area but the room was very nice so I’d stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town, Dubrovnik, Croatia
9.4
24th Jun 2018

Hostel is right in between Pile Gate and Fort Lovrijenac, so it’s great. The bus drops you off right there as well. Decent bathrooms, small room which was fine by me but just a warning if you have large luggage. Kitchen closes at 11 and opens at 7 so no super early breakfast. Staff was great, very helpful with tips and advice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Inomaos, Olympia, Greece
6.6
21st Jun 2018

Seemed overpriced for what the room was. Mini fridge was nice, location was close enough to walk to the sites but at the end on the other end of the small town. Trash hadn’t been removed from the previous occupants’ stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Atheaton Traditional Hotel, Nafplio, Greece
7.4
19th Jun 2018

Great location, kind staff but limited English. The room was tiny which was fine by me, just a warning if you have big luggage. Shower not great. There is a mini fridge, though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Students & Travellers Inn, Athens, Greece
10.0
10th Jun 2018

Great place! Location is awesome, five minutes from Acropolis and Temple of Zeus. The staff is upset helpful with directions and recommendations. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×