Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Gender Female, Age 25

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Paraiso Hostel, Barcelona, Spain
8.9
21st Jun 2024

Great location in an area with a lot of amenities, but also a lot of locals! Not too touristy, well-connected to public transit. Staff was wonderful and welcoming, and I was even upgraded to a private room for free. The price would be a bit steep for a dorm room, though. There are plenty of bathrooms, a kitchen, a great common room, and a nice patio. The bathrooms get quite dirty towards the end of the day but are always clean by the next day. It's a bit hot, but there are fans, which helps!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Mucha Masia Hostel Rural-Urba, El Prat de Llobregat, Spain
9.1
18th Jun 2024

The only issue was that I paid for an 8-bed dorm but instead was placed in a much larger room (maybe 12 or 14 rooms). Other than that, everything was good - easy to find and accessible by public transit (even at night), friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast (including non dairy milks), and cute garden area. It was warm inside the dorm but that is the peril of Europe in summer I fear

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Generator London, London, England
6.6
10th Jun 2024

Location was pretty good, atmosphere was not the best as there were a lot of school groups running around screaming. Bathrooms are ok but few stalls for how many people there are and quite far from the rooms.

View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your review and feedback! We hope to see you again in the future. Generator London

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
6.9
13th May 2024

This is a very old building, so there is only one outlet per dorm room - difficult when everyone is traveling and needs to charge! The bathroom is very run-down but functional. The kitchen doesn't have a fridge. One major plus is free (and secure) luggage storage, just like in a hotel - if you have a late train/flight and bring your bags at checkout, they tag your bags and you put them in a locked room. They also offer free leftovers from breakfast (breads, etc.).

View Property Reply

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your understanding regarding the limitations of our old building, such as the limited outlets per dorm room and the condition of the bathroom. Your feedback helps us identify areas for improvement, and we'll take your comments into consideration as we strive to enhance our facilities. We're glad to hear that you found our luggage storage service convenient and secure, and that you enjoyed the complimentary leftovers from breakfast. If you have any further suggestions or if there's anything else we can do to improve your experience, please let us know. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, The team at Régent Montmartre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Lausanne Youth Hostel Jeunotel, Lausanne, Switzerland
6.9
12th May 2024

I would not stay in a dorm here - there are no storage lockers and few outlets. The private rooms were quite expensive but good. Private rooms provide a towel and body wash but not hand soap. There's a microwave and fridge in the lobby - nice but far away from many of the rooms - and no kitchen. Staff is very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Lausanne Youth Hostel Jeunotel, Lausanne, Switzerland
7.1
7th May 2024

There were lots of very young children running around and screaming in the garden, lobby, hallways, and dining areas. There was also a large group of teenagers who looked to be on a school trip and were very loud. I was just hoping to get some rest after days of hiking and it was difficult to do so, even with my own room. Pros: the breakfast was a good deal and the staff were very helpful. Another con: the luggage room was not secure - it was left wide open and the lockers were not working

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The People - Paris Bercy, Paris, France
8.9
6th May 2024

Great rooftop! The beds have curtains for privacy and a small safe that you don’t have to bring your own lock for. I was also pleasantly surprised by the ensuite toilet and shower and the balcony.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
MEININGER Amsterdam Amstel, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.9
4th May 2024

Not in the city center but right next to the metro and has a cool cafe next door (and a McDonald's and a grocery store). 6-bed ensuite was small but super clean and we appreciated the clean towels. We also liked the lobby amenities - water bottle filler, big picnic tables, toilets with period products. There are very few lockers and the locker room is cramped but they are in working order and it's easy to pay. First staff member was rude when we arrived but others were nice.

View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your detailed review of MEININGER Amsterdam Amstel! It helps us understand what we're doing well and where we can improve. We appreciate you highlighting the convenient location – while not directly in the city center, the metro access makes exploring Amsterdam a breeze. It's fantastic that you enjoyed the cool cafe next door, along with the easy access to a McDonald's and grocery store for on-the-go needs. We understand a 6-bed ensuite can feel small, but we're glad it was super clean and that you appreciated the fresh towels. It sounds like you took advantage of our lobby amenities – the water bottle filler, picnic tables, and restrooms with complimentary period products are all part of our effort to provide a comfortable and convenient guest experience. We sincerely apologize about the rude encounter with a staff member upon arrival. That doesn't reflect the high standards we set for our team. We'll definitely address this internally to ensure all guests receive a friendly welcome. We're happy to hear the other staff members were nice and helpful. Regarding the lockers, you're right – having limited space can be inconvenient. We're always looking for ways to optimize our facilities, and your feedback is valuable. We appreciate you mentioning they were functional and easy to pay for. Thank you again for your honest feedback. We strive to continuously improve, and your comments will help us provide a better overall experience for future guests. We hope you'd consider staying with us again at MEININGER Amsterdam Amstel, where hopefully you'll encounter only friendly faces and have plenty of space to store your belongings! With kind regards, The MEININGER Amsterdam Amstel Team

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
5.7
29th Apr 2024

The room was extremely hot (and it wasn't even hot outside so I'm not sure why), but there's a big sticker on the window saying not to open it. I couldn't sleep because I was sweating all night, so I can't imagine how bad this will be in the summer. The rooms were clean but the communal bathrooms were cleaned poorly - I was in the bathroom while the cleaning was occurring, and the cleaning staff left behind tons of dirt and hair - it seemed like they just wiped down the shower floor w/ one swipe

View Property Reply

Anonymous, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please contact us at 01 70 08 52 22 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
8.9
19th Jan 2024

Very nice staff and lovely garden. Note that the included towel is only a small towel not a shower towel. The included breakfast (coffee/tea and croissant) was a good deal. My only complaint was the noise - I stayed in a room of just 4 women, but was awoken every single night between 4 and 6 am by the room on top of us SCREAMING and doing what sounded like moving furniture. I think the hostel could benefit from some reminder of quiet hours/respect at check-in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×