Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Samesun Venice Beach, Los Angeles, USA
4.9
18th Jul 2018

Honestly, this is the kind of hostel that gives hostels a bad name in the United States. Its quite shabby in every way. Stayed in a female 4 in-suite. No ventilation in bathrooms, rooms scorching hot with not so much as a working ceiling fan. No lockers big enough to even fit a backpackers backpack, though the room is big enough to contain them. Loudest hostel due to the outside noise that goes on all hours of the night, I'm talking past 2am. For the costs they could provide a better place.

View Property Reply

Sorry to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations We have recently upgraded our AC due to the heatwave that LA is experiencing. We will take a look at the bathroom ceiling fan - don't hesitate to let one of our 24 hours staff know if there is an area that needs our attention. We also have ear plugs for free, since, although we have quiet hours within the hostel we unfortunately cannot enforce this outside. Safe travels, Sara

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Farol da Barra Suites e Hostel, Salvador, Brazil
9.4
3rd Mar 2018

Excellent hostel and staff. Great location near the beach and equidistance to Vermellho and Pelhourino. Nice rooftop bar and pool area to mingle and meet people. The empanadas were made really well for empanada night. The breakfast is good when there are eggs available too. The rooms have privacy curtains, ensuite restrooms, outlets in each bed, and ac. Would highly recommend this hostel for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Hostel Morro, Morro de Sao Paulo, Brazil
8.0
1st Mar 2018

Nice hostel nearest to the port where the ferry arrives, so not a long distance to schlep your bags. They accept credit cards for payment which is good. The rooms are okay with some having lockers outside of them. The bathrooms are ensuite. The beds and mattresses do not have protection on them , so that worries me with regards to bedbugs. Decent enough place to stay while on the island. I also had a great meals at nearby Bianco e Nero and an Argentinian place not to from from there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Galeria 13, Salvador, Brazil
6.6
27th Feb 2018

Better places exist. I will say the rooms are kind not really cleaned well. The bunk beds are impossible to get into because the ladders are at the foot and head of the bed, but the bed has footboards and headboards preventing a way to get into the bed. The older guy who works there was terribly rude, mean, condescending.

View Property Reply

Galeria 13 is based in a colonial house and has many nooks and cranies completely open to the outside garden area, This can certainly create a lot of dust throughout the day. It disappoints me when guests don't think that our space is clean as we have a cleaning staff working all day long and regularly checking bathrooms until 23:00. In regards to payment, when a guest leaves the hostel, whether it be for 1 day or for good, they must pay their bill, even if the intention is to return to the hostel. I think most hostels would require guests to pay before checking out especially if said guest is taking all of their belongings, The trust sytem on paying when coming back does not work for the hostel. In this case, the guest was asked to pay upon checkout, even though her intention was to return; in the end she never came back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Meander Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
10.0
16th Nov 2017

Great place to meet other people. Excellent job of encouraging people to get out and see the country with the wall of places to see and things to do, with great directions. Nice staff who are very helpful. Nice rooms with privacy curtains, individual outlets, ac, ensuite bathrooms. I really enjoyed my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Local NYC, New York, USA
8.6
27th Oct 2017

Excellent location, facilities, cleanliness, and check-in procedures. Not much of an atmosphere , but the city can fix that up for you. Also , I don't think its expensive considering its NY and a newer building.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Home Lisbon Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
10.0
1st Sep 2017

Best hostel, greatest people, love the dinners. Super clean, fun, ample restroom facilities. The walking tour guy was a bit intense , too much political rhetoric. Otherwise, this is a wonderful place to stay in Lisbon. Thanks Mama!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
HI Honolulu - Waikiki, Honolulu, USA
6.6
10th Aug 2017

Very rude and dry staff...very. I awoke 1 morning after the fan had broken and approached the Asian male employee saying 'Hi, How are you'. His reply was 'busy, what can I do for you'. Ummm....why the salty attitude we just met? Employees need service industry training, no Hawaiian spirit at all. It makes the hostel atmosphere dry af, and you have to make a real effort to make friends here from your room; very grateful for them otherwise would have been very lonely. Very clean establishment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Yak, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
9.1
30th Aug 2016

Great place to meet people, very central to everything, owners seem to care very much about the quality of the place. My only thing would be for the larger rooms up at top in the annex section, I wish there were more bathrooms. 11 or so people and 1 bathroom is no bueno.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Local NYC, New York, USA
7.4
22nd Jun 2016

Wanted to super love this place and I did.. except the cleaning situation. Signs on the dorms say cleaners come every day, however after 3 days no one had cleaned anything. So I inquired and was told only about every 4 days rooms are cleaned, so I asked another employee who said it should be everyday and she would send someone to our room. When I got back to the dorm that evening only the tissue had been replenished and mirrors wiped, trash was still full, shower with hair, etc. Not ok at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Mezcal Hostel, Cancun, Mexico
7.7
11th Jun 2016

Hmmm while I met some amazing people here, it was difficult. The volunteers were rockstars but some of the actual employees who were local seemed dishonest. Always pushing the super expensive club tickets on everyone and being obnoxious during the karaoke and other games. Only offering club nights at average $65 usd per night is insane. The same clubs that are in PDC and are free they are asking money for. The bar also has bad pricing and limited options such as no mojitos. Clean rooms though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Yak, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
9.1
16th May 2016

Great people here, excellent for solo travelers. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm and an 11 bed dorm. The 11 bed dorm only has 1 ensuite bathroom which gets annoying, but I try to stay gone form the hostel most of the day so i don't notice it much. Fun events nightly, day trips you can purchase each day and attend with other people from the hostel, great location, and the bar has good deals. Top 3 hostels in Playa for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Geckos Hostel, Florianopolis, Brazil
4.6
10th Jan 2015

No atmosphere at all. The activities they promote are over priced and then even after you cave in and agree to one, they cancel the day of last minute, leaving you scrambling to make plans. Terrible bar and night club suggestions. The bartender Russ is the best thing about this place, second is the location. Most rooms don't have ac either.

View Property Reply

If guests want to read a book, watch a movie or chillout on the hammock instead of partiyng, we respect their will.trips cost 35 r$, cheap price.They run everyday but you never showed up on time. All backpapers go to the places all hostels reccomend and love it, you are the only one who did not like. On 6 rooms, 4 have AC and you say most rooms do not have AC.You booked a no AC room and i moved you in AC room for same price.I allow your cki without payment..Are sure the problem is not you?

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Walk On The Beach Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
7.4
25th Dec 2014

Great location, good staff, good people to meet and socialize with. Breakfast is lame and bar is minuscule, but the happy hour 2 for 1 is good for an apertif buzz.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Istanblue Hotel, Istanbul, Turkey
9.1
1st Sep 2014

Tiniest rooms ever! But that wasn't a real problem as you only need them for sleep. However, the shower was oddly placed and difficult to operate. Otherwise, this was a great place in Istanbul to stay. Amazing staff, clean spaces, and a great little cafe to have food in downstairs. The breakfast was great also. Walking distance to tons of sights, buses, etc.. Across from the 4 seasons.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sunset Inn, Eilat, Israel
10.0
25th Aug 2014

One of my fave hostels ever. Super chill, clean, great location near metro lines, shopping, bars, restaurants. The staff was very kind, helpful, and just good people. Nice welcome drink upon arrival was a sweet touch. I would only stay here again when in Eilat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sydney Hostel, Amman, Jordan
7.4
21st Aug 2014

What makes this hostel is the management/employees. Very kind, well informed, helpful, etc.. The room scared me at first sight as it was not something I'm used to (i.e needs paint, refresh, etc..) but it was clean, quiet, and safe which was all I needed. Great location walking distance to Rainbow street and other busy areas for shopping. I would tell anyone to stay here. Also, take advantage of the trips they offer!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
7.4
1st Jan 2014

Walking distance to pharmacy, eiffel tower, 2 metro stations, and a couple of restaurants. Clean, quiet, simple but effective. They work on European time as we could not check in until an hour past the posted time which was exhausting after traveling for so long. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×