X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

40 Berkeley Hostel Reviews

40 Berkeley Street, MA, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1729 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It's a really nice place. The only thing that wasn't great was the time for breakfast, that is just from 7-9 am.


80%

excelle value, location and breakfst. Beds comfrtable. Room (win bedded) decet size. could do with a few more coat hangers.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean and comfortable hostel, good location, staff very helpful and friendly.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Yet another complaint about the lack of air con, not only was the room warm it felt 20 degrees warmer in the room than out side and the presence of a fan in the hallway does nothing more than create noise. The room was clean and the general areas were nice

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

During my stay just a shower were working on my floor.. that was definitely not enough..

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

Its a very old hotel. No air condition, very hot in the day. Its hard to stay in room during the day time. A little expensive. Breakfast is suck.


80%

good location, close to downtown

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

For a hostel it was OK. It could be cleaner in the rooms and specialy in the bathrooms. The room itself was way to small

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Very poor room equipment, just one chair in a double room, no business office in price included, very poor breakfast, employees at breakfast very unfriendly.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay in Boston. Located near public transportation that will take you anywhere you need to go in the city. My second time staying here, and I will definitely stay again. Great value and we got a free room upgrade!

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff extremely helpful. Tiny room and showers a bit gross, otherwise really good facilities.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The common rooms on the ground floor are very nice. Beautiful terrace, co-working space, cinema room, ... The bedrooms and the bathrooms are old and filthy. I didn't even have curtains in my room. There is a super-loud fan blowing all day long. The staff at reception was friendly but staff at the kitchen couldn't be more unfriendly if they tried. Breakfast wasn't very nice either.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Like the ad for a product I saw recently, "it does exactly what it says on the tin"

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Room was horrific, don't sleep for 2 days, becuase of the noise, had an asthma attack because the room was so dusty and it stank. For what we paid would have been better off sleeping in the park!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

We rented a double room with shared bathroom for 3 nights. The room was spacious and comfortable although quite old-fashioned. The shared bathroom was always clean. Great breakfast with plenty of choice. There is alos a garden for the guests to enjoy during the day. Negative point: the staff was professional enough but not very smiling or friendly.


83%

Great hostel !


49%

Room not clean with windows broken.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

In general, everything is okay. There is room for improvement , especially for the bathroom/toilet.


86%

For Boston on a budget, look no further than 40 Berkeley! Great location, 5-10 mins walk from Back Bay station, Boston Common also walkable in 15-20 mins. Friendly front desk staff and good value for money with the free breakfast, popcorn, coffee and watermelon slush in reception, and free wifi throughout. Only downside is only two showers in the ladies restrooms which leads to a bit of a wait in the mornings! Would definately stay here again if I was on a budget.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was great except the rooms at night we're unbearable without AC The kids had a blast!

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(1044 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback