Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abhostel Reviews

Kattenberg 110, Antwerp, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1044 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


beautiful vibe with friendly people and great kitchen communal areas. Only complaint is that the showers could have been slightly warmer, was getting sick when i arrived and cold showers in a cold climate was not ideal, however there solar powered energy savers so respect for that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,,thanks for letting us know, we extra heated the showers! Thanks for helping with the beautiful vibe! Xb


The shower was luke-warm. The option of eggs for breakfast was a great plus. It's a bit of a walk from the center of Antwerp. Good atmosphere for solo travelers. They are really strict about their check out time, you can't be out of the room, you have to actually leave the hostel by 11. This was a bit frustrating since I was trying to work out some last minute travel issues because of a strike in Belgium. It's due to some law (apparently) but it felt unnecessary and unwelcoming.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Is this your thank you for letting you stay? The law does not believe we let our guests stay for free, to have free coffee, free tea, free WIFI,... But we as backapackers understand backpackersproblems!. But please don t spoil it for the ones;) Xb


Cool hostel with great staff in an interesting neighborhood in walking distance to the center. An additional bathroom upstairs would be an asset.


Abhostel is a good hostel in that it has all the facilities required for travellers, such as towel rental, good wifi, and a well equipped kitchen. A capacity of under 40, with some of those twin rooms, means that the place never gets crowded enough to be a party hostel, but enough that you'll always find some people to drink/do things with. The music gets turned off at 10pm though so the owners try make everyone go out or go to bed around that time. Still an excellent hostel.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Bridget and Greg were so lovely, couldn't recommend this beautiful hostel any more. Upon arrival I instantly felt at home. The hostel was clean and so nicely decorated. It's a little bit of a walk to the centre of town, but after all the Belgian waffles and chocolate I needed it!


Really great hostel. The hosts were lovely. And they provided breakfast. The beds were comfortable. And finally the rooftop terrace was nice.


Simple and clean hostel, a 15 minute walk away from the Central Station, but has a tram stop nearby. Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a cheap hostel and don't mind having to travel a bit to get to the touristy parts of the city.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Love this hostel. I hope to return!


It just feels like home.


Had a nice weekend away at this hostel. Cozy beds are always a treat at hostels and also the big kitchen is really cool. The owners are very nice and helpful, too. The tram is just a few minutes away and you get to the city centre and other spots really quick.


Very bad location. Not a nice area at all. Owners were great and helped us plan our stay, but there are no reception staff as such. Nice design inside. Probably well suited to a longer stay. Lots of board games, washing machine, many DVDs but the TV didn't actually work. Quite possible to meet people.


A little bit out of the way but this hostel is very much worth the walk (or short tram ride). An incredibly nice home like community feeling that is rare to find in a hostel. The spacious common room area is fantastic for meeting people, especially over breakfast and dinner. This really is a fantastic hostel that I'd heartily recommend to anyone after a friendly place to rest their head.


Absolutely amazing hostel: great kitchen and common room, wifi works everywhere, run by amazingly knowledgeable friendly people and everything is clean. Really could not recommend more. The location is quite good. There could be more toilets and showers. But apart from that - a really great hostel.


Great spot. Had a fun time


We had a twin private room and it was great. very clean and tidy. Staff are fantastic. No noise problems at all. close to tram stop/shops. 5min tram to city centre


most amazing, sure this must be the best hostel in all of antwerp


Great atmosphere, nice addition of eggs to the standard tea-and-toast breakfast - the hostel was a little far from the city center but close to tram lines, etc. Met some nice people here!


The staff are absolutely amazing and so welcoming. The rooms are pretty nice -- the whole hostel is very put together. There's a nice kitchen and spacious common area -- it's easy to meet people. It's about a 25 min walk to the Grotmarkt and a 15 min walk to the main train station, but there's a bus stop right off the street. The neighborhood is fine -- just a large population of Moroccan families. The staff will give you an alternative route if you're uncomfortable with that.


Incredible family run hostel. So much space to hang out. Awesome facilities. Short walk or tram to the centre. Staff are incredible.


Great little hostel in quite a central location ( easy access to a festival at Trix and the train station) Super helpful and friendly owners. Overall the hostel had a really great vibe and atmosphere.

(750 results)

View all Antwerp Hostels

Please give us your feedback