Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Abu Safari Jaisalmer

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Abu Safari Jaisalmer Located at Near Fort, Dhibba Para, Jaisalmer.
Abu Safari Jaisalmer
India
Jaisalmer Rajasthan 345001 Near Fort, Dhibba Para
85% 190
26.9105912 70.9121500
Abu Safari Jaisalmer
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel with stunning views of the Fort from the roof top restaurant. Rooms are spacious with lockable draws, insanely warm blankets which is great being here in winter. Abu the owner and the staff are incredibly friendly and always have huge smiles and happy to help with anything. Food is great and there's a lovely nook on the roof for those lazy nights to watch a film on the projector. Truly exceeds it's modest price to stay. Also great place to book camel safari trips from.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.1

Amazing roof top restaurant and good location (walking distance to bus stop & Fort) Nice staff: We booked a room before we arrived. Once there we decided to make an overnight camel safari with Adventure Camel Safari (highly recommended btw!!!), so we didn't need the room anymore. But the owner was nice and offered us a refund of half the room rate. Therefore he stored our bags and offered us a shower for the next day. (But this service is also available with ACS if you book a tour in advance)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
4.9

If you are not taking their desert safari prepare yourself for completely indifferent and even rude treatment. Rooms were dirty. Sheets were not changed. Bathrooms were filthy and stinky. Only stay here if you have to kill a few hours. Pros: Very cheap rooms. Prince at the rooftop restaurant is very warm and makes up for the crap service otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We appreciate each and every review we receive as it assists us in ensuring we continually improve and deliver our guests the very best possible stay. We're sorry you felt we were rude when finding out you weren't doing safari. I can assure you that our staff don't discriminate against any guests. We work hard to make sure our place feels like your home and our primary objective is for everyone to have fun. I have passed your compliments onto prince - we are very lucky to have him. We hope you choose to come back again one day and see how we've used your review to improve our offerings. Life is Mama Mia

30th Dec 2016
6.9

Supposedly they coordinate travel to the hostel so when I called to confirm, the guy said yea it's fine, contact us before arrival and we will pick you up. When I call they say wait no we can't pick you up- aka you're on your own. When I got there, I am shown to my bed that has no pillow or blanket. A boy brings up both and demands a tip. At first I refused to tip but then he keep standing and asking. Eventually I caved and tip but according to the boy my tip was not enough. Poor service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
2.0

I would never suggest this place to my enemy also , people , place are just disgusting . They get stuck with us like Parasites in relation to sale of their restaurant foods, packages etc etc. Even if this place will be offered for free , I will never recommend anyone to go and stay over there. People fool around their guest. There is no management . They don't even know which room is booked and which is available . Rooms are given to random people. Please please don't go to this place !!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Dec 2016
6.9

The waiter at the restaurant on the roof of the hostel is the nicest person I have ever met. If you don't stay here at least come for a meal to see Prince's smile. Really cheap dorm rooms and easy going staff and there's a really good atmosphere. They try and make all their money off the camel safari which is way to expensive and organised very badly, but if you're staying here just for the accomodation it's a decent hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and thanks for choosing Abu Safari. We try hard to make sure there's a great atmosphere around our place so we're very happy. We love each and every one of our guests and want everyone to feel welcomed and comfortable. We receive amazing reviews and comments about our Safari so we're sorry you didn't enjoy it. We welcome any comments so we can continually improve what we offer. We love Jaisalmer and our desert so want everyone to come and enjoy it as much as we do. We hope you're enjoying the rest of your travels. Remember life is Mama Mia

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

I had an amazing time at Abu Safari. I was worried that the cheap price would mean poor quality but after reading the reviews I decided to give it a go. I'm so happy I did. The dorm I was in was huge and had an amazing view of the fort. The bathroom was really large and it was so good to have hot water. The best part about this place is the staff. Kat an Abu were such amazing hosts. The safari was also fantastic. The price was definitely worth it for what I got. Do yourself a favour and stay!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review. It really makes us happy to here people have loved their time here. We're glad you decided to stay here and really loved having you here. You were such a nice person and it was great chatting and getting to know you. Thanks for saying we're great hosts - we definitely work hard to ensure everyone has a great time. And it's good that you liked the cleanliness of the hotel - we've been focussing on improving the cleaning throughout the property lately so it's good when that's recognised. Thanks so much for staying. We all hope you're enjoying your travels and hope you return one day (maybe you can beat Abu at carom hehe). Always remember life is Mama Mia!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Dec 2016
7.1

Be careful with this place! They rope you in with the cheap bed and then spend all their time trying to sell you a desert safari trip! This is how they make their money, as the camel safari is twice as expensive as other places. We found one at another hotel which was half the price! If you want a cheap camel safari go to the Jeet Mahal guesthouse just outside the fort.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We do safaris through our hotel but that's not the reason for the price of our accommodation. We love meeting new people and having lots of people around to build a great atmosphere. Also in Jaisalmer prices vary extremely when it comes to safari prices. Prices differ according to what each place offers. We go out to a non touristic far away part of the desert, cook all food with mineral water and provide unlimited mineral water, spend both days on the camel, provide rooms for free after safari if leaving that day or early checkin if staying, as well as locked storage. We strongly believe our safari price is justified and is also on par with other companies In town offering a similar package. We do hope you still enjoyed your safari as jaisalmer is an amazing time and we want everyone to experience this beautiful city. We hope you're enjoying the rest of your travels. Life is Mama Mia!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice place to stay, probably one of the best in jaisalmer! Very friendly staff and owner, especially prince :-) make sure to grab some food in his rooftop restaurant! They also offer a camel safari which is quite basic with an overnight in the open air under the shooting stars, good way to experience the desert!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I just read your review to Prince and of course he had the biggest smile on his face. It makes all the staff so happy to hear people say such lovely things about them. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We loved having you stay with us. It was great getting to know you and missed you when you left. We hope the rest of your travels are going really well. Life is Mama mia

  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
6.6

Rooms and toilets a bit dirty, we had to request to change the blankets. Rooms are big and rooftop restaurant really good, price acceptable. The staff is friendly but they're only expecting you to put a review on trip advisor or hostel world. They told you that from the first day. Also they will give you a discount in the deserts safari if you put a review, that's probably why it has lot of good reviews. The camel safari don't really worth. Is just a fire under the star

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Yes we do ask people to put reviews as in India that's how businesses attract their customers. Reviews are such an important part of operation here in India. We don't however pressure anyone in to actually posting a review or even what type of review they give. That's up to the individual. If they're not happy with the service and they believe a 1 star review is justified then that's their choice/decision. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the safari. We offer many different packages and perhaps you chose the wrong one for your interests. We offer a more commercial one which indian families tend to love. Folk dance, sleep in luxury tents etc. Our western guests tend to like the more simple open sleep safari. We urge all customers to discuss their interests with us I'm order to ensure each and everyone of them has the most amazing time. We hope you're enjoying the rest of your travels. Life is mama mia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.