Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Airlie Beach YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
7.4

The free wifi doesn't work most of the time and the reception has terrible hours. Some of the staff are really nice, and others are not. The rooms are clean but the shower is not separate from the rest of the bathroom. If you are doing an overnight Whitsundays sailing trip, it is $5 a night to store your luggage, even if you booked nights here before and after, which is more than other places.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bellajansen
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Mar 2017
7.7

Really nice clean hostel, rooms are big and spacious and you get your own bathroom with shower which is good. The kitchen is good but common room a bit dark and quiet. Quite pricey but a good place to chill and you can leave your bag in storage for $5 if you're doing Whitsundays. On the main street so location good and it's the closest hostel to the bus station, which is a bit far out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
5.1

It's not a very clean place, the sheets were stained and looked over-used, felt a bit nasty to sleep in. No soap in the bathroom to wash hands. The kitchen was gross, would never cook anything in there. Location was really good though.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.0

You have to make your own atmosphere here but most people are friendly enough and will talk to you. Sheets could be cleaner as I found a bit of mould on them so had to change them. Bathroom is clean and beds are standard yha ones that are alright. A quieter hostel than the others in Airlie. Enjoyed my stays there either side of a boat trip in the Whitsundays.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Feb 2017
6.9

It was nice enough. Aircon in rooms was a God send. Within walking distance of most thing. One woman on reception was a bit cold. Bathrooms could be cleaner. The living space was really nice with good sofas and a TV.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
10.0

We were only going to stay for one night, but enjoyed it so much here, we decided to extend. The hosts are very accommodating, the grounds are well-maintained and the kitchen is spotless. Our only lament is a bag of groceries we labeled went missing from the fridge. Would recommend using your own canvas bag to avoid any mix-ups. I'm so happy we chose to stay here! It's a great layover for whitsunday adventures.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shil92
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.7

Nice short stay at YHA Airlie Beach. Spacious lounge, lots to see and do in and around the area, rooms were fairly clean. Central location but not on top of a bar which was good! Short walk to the ferry. Lots of info on what you can do in the area at reception. Good for a short stay, limited but free parking too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.3

It was all fairly decent, beds weren't super comfy. It was a little annoying when there was 8 people in your dorm all trying to share a bathroom. Location was good, it was pretty clean. No one put dishes away, the staff all did it at night the kitchen closed. Not a great place to meet people if traveling solo. A/C was awesome! But overall it's decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hayleyhannaford
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Brilliant hostel, fairly good location, lovely staff and it has everything you need. Kitchen is fab, rooms are nice (ours had a huge balcony! and the bathroom was great). Really clean and secure. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jan 2017
4.9

Staff were not very friendly and weren't speedy at checking in and out - there was only ever 1 person to check in/out people at busy times. There was a small charge to leave my bag overnight whilst I went on a whitsundays boat trip. I feel this should have been free for paying guests who a staying for a number of nights. The rooms were spacious but not completely clean - mattresses were very old and smelly. No atmosphere and people did not really socialise much.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.