Hostelworld.com

Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 446 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 446 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.4
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers Located at The Esplanade, , Airlie Beach.
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
Australia
Airlie Beach Queensland 4802 The Esplanade
69% 446
-20.2688800 148.7205505
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
5.4

Was told my key would be in safe as a late arrival got there and nothing in the safe. Rang the numbers I had and eventually got through to extremely unhelpful person. He eventually showed up over half an hour later to try and see if my key had been left on the desk. When in room, ants were crawling about, metal pieces hanging off the shower door handle and no hot water

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I stayed at on the East Coast. Spotlessly clean, got provided with a towel and free shampoo & soap, TVs in the rooms, a balcony, free wifi and nice clean kitchen - amazing value for money! Plus a great location right on the esplanade in super easy reach of both beach and shops. Staff really friendly and willing to go out of their way for you. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Mar 2016
9.1

Interesting location with lots of balconies/seating areas and loft-like rooms with nice (sometimes sea) views. Wifi only worked on lower level. Ants were prevalent in the room. Only one bathroom/shower near our room - the others were out of order. Staff was helpful with food suggestions and sightseeing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2016
6.0

It was the best room we have had- it looked over the beach and had a big balcony. Very spacious. The room was located in a big plaza above and surrounded by restaurants- the hostel isn't its own building, which is slightly weird as randomer a can walk around. We hardly saw any other backpackers either- not great if you want to meet new people. The kitchen and our room was clean but we did have ants crawling into our beds. The staff were vey friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Feb 2016
4.9

When I arrived, no one sitting next to the reception, better say, it was closed...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jan 2016
5.1

Location is great - close to lagom and resturants. Stayed in a 13-person dorm - two fans weren't working so it got quite hot during the night. Showers disgusting. Wifi not working. Could never stay there for more than one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • emmagraham1993
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Nov 2015
2.6

This hostel was disgusting. I made a list of the terrible things you can expect: 1. The room had a birds/wasp nest INSIDE. Bird poop everywhere. 2. Air con didn't work, it was like a sauna. 3. Kitchen small and dirty, sinks always clogged with food, barely any cooking utensils or tools. 4. Ants everywhere in the kitchen, like trails of them. 5. Showers/bathrooms small, cramped, and reaked of mold. 6. To top it all off the staff were rude and unpleasant. Don't stay here guys, seriously.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
1st Nov 2015
6.9

Overall my stay was OK and the staff were very helpful, but there were a few things that made this hostel less nice. Fist of all the WiFi was down the whole time I was there.. Also the (paid) luggage storage is in a room that is used by a card-club and not locked half the time. The layout of the building is a bit strange as well, which doesn't help the atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Oct 2015
7.7

Quick check in! Stayed in 13 man dorm, was big! Lots of space and clean, bed was comfy, air con worked well! Lack of security room door didn't lock and anyone could get in. Good location and free wifi but didn't work!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2015
10.0

Perfect place to stay and for once it wasn't noisy roommates making a racket it was the cleaners in the morning but I won't mark them down for that as I'm just happy the swept hoovered and mopped everyday kitchen was always spotless! I don't no why you'd stop anywhere else it's perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.