Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.4
Alajuela Backpackers Located at Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela.
Alajuela Backpackers
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 6824 1000 Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos
71% 881
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Alajuela Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jan 2017
7.7

Nice hostel and seems to be relatively new. Close to airport and has free shuttle and rooftop bar with awesome pizza, but nothing really in the area. Good stay for a late flight arrival or early morning departure

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2017
7.4

Staff is not so friendly, no kitchen or breakfast, no good " hang-out area". Clean and has all facilities, fine place to lay your head close to the airport but not a place to stay for more than 1 night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.0

Perfect place for a quick stop over en route to other locations in Costa Rica. Honestly, the best part was the customer service. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this spot for anyone that needs a nice, comfy place to stay after a long flight!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
5.4

Really nothing special and the beds are super uncomfortable. You can feel the wire through the mattress.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
10.0

Alejuela backpackers was perfect. They scheduled me a shuttle for the airport the next morning, even though I was a last minute arrival. Rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly and professional. I'm glad I stayed there my last night in order to wake up close to the airport, so as to make a morning flight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
7.7

Decent hostel in the center of Alajuela

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
5.1

The hostel is nothing like the description. Maybe they think a good matress is one where you can feel the box underneath. There was no ladder to climb in the upper bunk bed. The shower was nice and warm but the lock of the bathroom didn't work and it's not very clean. Funny how the advertise that every room had a window cause you can hardly call it a window. Loud airco. Staff don't seem to like to work there, but are friendly if you do some effort. Didn't receive a welcome drink. ...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
6.0

The best part is the REAL HOT SHOWERS! And not just for a minute, it stays hot! After living in CR for a year w\o HOT showers it was great to finally have one with NO time limits! The beds are clean! The hostel needs to fix little things which cost very little such as locks in bathrooms, costs like $1 to replace..holes in doors etc! There was coffee ready at like 4am HUGE BONUS, THANKS, Bc I had to be at the airport really early! The HOT showers were amazing!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Dec 2016
5.4

Respond to emails requesting an earlier check in- we emailed to request 10am check in and no response and room wasn't ready early. Went out for the day and when we arrived back at 17:00 we were given room key but found the room had not yet been cleaned so we had to stand in the hall And wait to the cleaner to do it. We were not warned about the parking situation - no street parking and the car park was $ 1.50 an hour. Would be better if ac temp could be controlled by guests- was freezing

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Dec 2016
9.4

I arrived, was not offered the "Free Welcome Drink", but the guy behind the desk was very friendly. I went up to the rooftop bar, the staff there was not. I got one beer, nobody talked to me, and then they closed 35 minutes before advertised, right when I was going to order another. All in all, the shower was hot, the location was nice, the sheets were clean, the wifi was strong. They should advertise that there is a bus stop next door that only costs 520 colones from San Jose! Taxi was $40- :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.