Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 813 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.4
Alajuela Backpackers Located at Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela.
Alajuela Backpackers
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 6824 1000 Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos
68% 813
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Alajuela Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.7

We booked this place because of the free shuttle to the airport. My friend and I got a private because it was only 3 dollars more instead of the shared 6 person bedroom . However, the AC is only set on one standard temperature and it will only turn on designated times. We could here every single noise from the outside and couldn't rest. The mattress is comfortable! Hot shower is a plus! Overall, it's ok for one night but I think it's overpriced!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
5.7

We arrived around 12:30 AM, after reserving a room with 6 beds we were put into a room with 8 and not told. The door to the room was constantly left unlocked and the front door to the hostel was open during day hours. The staff at the front desk was not helpful at all, not necessarily rude but obviously didn't want to be talking to us. Will not be returning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels in Cr. Super nice and close to the airport!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
4.9

Staff was minimally helpful (they acted surprised that we did not want to eat in 'their" restaurant (onsite) and stated that everything else was closed and no one was out. They were not friendly and our stay was very impersonal. We did end up eating in their restaurant, and service made us feel like we were putting them out by ordering food. The beds were awful (thin mattresses over metal poles). Only recommended for prior to early flights, and then only maybe. Facebook reviews are accurate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
6.0

This place was bad from the start. When we arrived we were told they didn't take credit cards even though they state that they did on Hostel World. The guy at reception gave us no option but to find an ATM otherwise we would have no room. The hostel is very nice and clean, but completely lacks an atmosphere. There are no outlets in the rooms. The hallways were full of them however, so if you want to charge your things you have to sit with your electronics outside of you room. Close to airport...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
2.9

This was by far the most expensive hostel that I stayed at throughout my stay in Costa Rica and also the worst one. The beds are uncomfortable, the rooms smelled, the showers weren't hot, and I was nickel and dimed. I was actually charged extra money to simply stay in the hostel before my flight. No other hostel asked me to give them more money if I didn't need a bed. They were happy to let me stick around until it was time to catch my bus after I had already checked out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
6.6

Best thing is the location / free airport shuttle, seemed more like a hotel than a hostel; clean but not many hostel facitities or places to hang out so there wasn't a great atmosphere. overall wouldn't recommend..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
5.7

The only good thing about the hostel is that it's close to the airport and got the free Shuttle service. For just one night it's ok, but it wasn't very clean, especially the washroom and toilets downstairs were disgusting and the receptionist was indifferent and not particularly polite. The common areas don't really invite to hang out and have a depressing atmosphere to them. The rooms are poorly ventilated. Would recommend a different place if I knew one.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
7.7

Overall, this is a good place. It's affordable and you get the basics. The rooms were clean, facilities were clean and they have free coffee. The staff could've been a bit friendlier but whateves.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.7

Basic hostel conveniently located for transit to the airport. They offer free shuttles in the morning which is amazing. Great restaurant upstairs but no kitchen for those who want to cook their own food. Not much of an atmosphere since most people are in transit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.