Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 808 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.7
Alajuela Backpackers Located at Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela.
Alajuela Backpackers
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 6824 1000 Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos
71% 808
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Alajuela Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Nice room, comfy bed good AC balcony wifi in room good included airport shuttle perfect location very clean bathroom good and hot shower, friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Very clean dorm and sheets, amazing staff, helpful and polite, airport shuttle was a plus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Very nice and clean hostel for what you pay!! A/C in the rooms. The location is also very good, close to restaurants and markets. Theres one guy that works there that is very helpful, I forget his name...but he helped me get around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
2.9

This was by far the most expensive hostel that I stayed at throughout my stay in Costa Rica and also the worst one. The beds are uncomfortable, the rooms smelled, the showers weren't hot, and I was nickel and dimed. I was actually charged extra money to simply stay in the hostel before my flight. No other hostel asked me to give them more money if I didn't need a bed. They were happy to let me stick around until it was time to catch my bus after I had already checked out.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
6.6

Best thing is the location / free airport shuttle, seemed more like a hotel than a hostel; clean but not many hostel facitities or places to hang out so there wasn't a great atmosphere. overall wouldn't recommend..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
5.7

The only good thing about the hostel is that it's close to the airport and got the free Shuttle service. For just one night it's ok, but it wasn't very clean, especially the washroom and toilets downstairs were disgusting and the receptionist was indifferent and not particularly polite. The common areas don't really invite to hang out and have a depressing atmosphere to them. The rooms are poorly ventilated. Would recommend a different place if I knew one.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
7.7

Overall, this is a good place. It's affordable and you get the basics. The rooms were clean, facilities were clean and they have free coffee. The staff could've been a bit friendlier but whateves.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Great, extremely helpful personell. Esp. Raymond, who helped me a lot when I arrived. Good pizza, friendly staff and comfortable rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

As a solo female traveler, i felt very comfortable and safe here. The day i was leaving for the airport at 4am i had nothing to worry about as there was a shuttle service provided!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Excelente ubicación tanto para llegar a Costa Rica, como para salir del mismo, el bar con terraza es hermoso, la pareja que lo administra es super amable, gran lugar, gran personal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.