Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1060 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1060 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • annayakaboski
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
3.4

STAY OUT OF THIS AREA OF TOWN AT NIGHT

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

These guys made me feel welcome and it was my first time at a hostel. What a great experience and the food on the 4th floor is to cry for. So good. Well prepared. Yum!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
4.3

Traveling for 3 months & haven't stayed in a hostel as bad as this. I chose it because it is close to the airport and claimed it offered FREE airport shuttle, A/C, orthopaedic mattresses, 3 internet access points etc. Had to pay $5 in tips to FREE shuttle, staff had A/C switched off at mains & when I asked to turn it on they were extremely rude. Mattress had holes & could feel the bars of bed underneath. No internet access points and to top it off most unhelpful and rude staff. Avoid if possible

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
9.4

Very friendly and helpful! We stayed in a single room and were happy they provided clean towels, soap, and that they had warm water. Maybe bring your own sheets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
7.7

This hostel is just for a quick overnight from the airport, would not recommend staying any longer than is necessary. Dorm rooms are extremely hot. Otherwise, very convenient location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

We had an great time at the Alajuela Backpackers hostel. We decided to skip San Jose and stay in Alajuela for one night before heading to La Fortuna. The hostel staff was great they helped us figure out how to take the public bus from town to La Fortuna. Also we had a great time hanging out in the bar at the hostel. Our private room was very nice and clean. Overall it was a great place to stay on our first night in Costa Rica.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
6.9

Food is absolutely terrible both in the hostel and in the surrounding area, but it's a very convenient place to stay if you've got a flight the next morning. The free airport shuttle service they provide is worth it in of itself. Such a bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
7.1

Very basic. Its totally fine for if you need somewhere to stay after you fly into San Jose. The bus from Alajuela to San Jose is also right beside the hostel so that was handy. Nothing to do here or around the hostel but the restaurant upstairs was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.0

Great location near the airport in a really nice town. The airport pick up didn't arrive so after an hour of waiting I got my own taxi, the cost of which was refunded by the hostel as soon as I arrived. More common areas needed. I would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
4.6

The rooms were.m not clean, especially the bathrooms! The floor was dirty and it smelled bad. Also, we could smell the bathroom of he room next door! What a horrible stay!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.