Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 921 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Feb 2017
6.6

It was ok. Just ok. There is no kitchen to cook your own food onsite. There are no lockers in the rooms, only small mailbox size ones near reception. The beds were old and loud. But the location close to the airport was perfect for flying out the next day, especially with the free airport shuttle.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Loved it here! Clean, great location. Although they do insist you pay with cash, so keep that in mind.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Feb 2017
7.1

Good option for an overnight before or after taking the flight. We did not like that they managed the AC of all rooms, we had to go to the reception to ask the remote because it was freezing. The best part is that they leave you in the airport for free (check the schedule)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
9.4

Excellent place, 5 minutes from the airport and buses, friendly, helpful staff, a beautiful bar with terrace, I recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
6.9

This is very convenient if you are flying into or out of SJO. It is fine for a night, but it may be beneficial to look into an airbnb as it may be similar in price if you are travelling with more than one person and you would be much more comfortable. Nothing really wrong with this place, but I was ready to leave as soon as I got there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Great place if passing through San Jose. Affordable accommodations close to the airport!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
4.3

Not worth the money! It said they accepted credit cards on their wall yet made us go to an ATM to pay cash. The restaurant only offered pizza yet had a whole menu....rooms were quite dirty especially the washrooms. Staff were not friendly or very helpful. Overall the website is a complete joke because the hostel offered barely anything the website advertised. One of the worst hostels I've stayed at

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
8.6

Good location right near lots of stores and restaurants. A short walk to City Mall and a quick taxi or shuttle ride to and from the airport. Bed was comfortable and there's a bar upstairs

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jan 2017
3.1

Dont stay there.The only reason to stay here is if you have a really early flight otherwise its much better to stay in San Jose and catch the regular bus for 1$ that runs every 10min.The staff is SUPER RUDE,doesnt give a damn about you.Hostel capitalizes on the fact people would stay only one or 2 nights so put in very little effort for customer satisfaction.Been refused to pay by card even if it says we can on the email for the ammount of 19$ and over.And if you wanna stay after 12 needs pay 5$

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
6.0

I went to bed at 11pm and had to get up early. There was some kind of a karaoke going on in the hostel and the guests (mostly English native speakers) would literally shout and scream around everywhere in the floors and staircases until late at night. The staff didn't bother to at least ask them to not shout and be super loud in right in front of the sleeping rooms. Unfortunately that was very uncool. Location is great though. There was a smell like bad/toxic fumes in the sleeping room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.