Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Honduras, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
6.9

Old matress and unclean bathroom. Misses a nice spot to hangout! The lobby area was missing a lot of stuff and also the room smelled kinda weird. The good thing is the free taxi drive to the airport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
10.0

Great and clean place super close to the airport. Helpful staff. Good rooftop restaurant as well :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.9

We stayed in a Dorm for 4people with a bathroom. The beds were clean and the bathroom had a good size. In the shower the hot water took a couple seconds. The window was a little difficult to open. The staff is verry friendly and helpful. They offer a free shuttle to the airport and some free coffee. The Bar on the 4th floor has a nice view and some nice reggae music going on. Over all it is a great place to start or end the adventure - traveling threw Costa Rica.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.4

Very simple and easy to go for an early flight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.1

This hostel served its purpose. We showed up late and the neighborhood seemed sketchy. However the taxi dropped us off right out front and the hostel has a bar with food. Coffee in the morning was good and the shuttle took us to the airport to get our rental car. Great place to stay when getting in and out of Costa Rica.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
8.9

I stayed at Alajuela Backpackers on my first night in Costa Rica, travelling alone and with no knowledge of Spanish. The free airport pick- up service was fantastic and I found my ride easily, so I had no trouble getting to the hostel. The staff were very helpful and I was perfectly comfortable at the hostel. It's in a great location for being near San Jose airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
9.1

I stayed in 12 bed dorm, and the staff situated me nicely and directed me to stuff I could see around there. The free airport shuttle back and to is amazing ! The shuttle to the airport has only specific times though, last being at 11:30am. The site say they take card BUT THEY DONT TAKE CARD ONLY CASH. The bar on the top is amazing, and decently cheap food. Sociable hostel, plug sockets kinda scarce. Hot shower tho!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
8.6

Amazing place to stay if you are leaving early for a flight from San Hose the next morning, the FREE airport shuttle is fantastic and the staff will help make sure you get to your destination on time :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
2.0

Completely overpriced hostel. A lot more expensive than to others in the area and they offer no breakfast or no facilities. There is no vibe here either. Go somewhere else!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
8.0

Really very convenient if you want to get to the airport. It's about a 5 minute drive and there's a free shuttle service if you're a guest at the hostel. They really need more bathrooms though (not enough) and could be a *little* cleaner but it's a hostel so you're expected to be "roughing it".

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.