Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 849 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.1
Alajuela Backpackers Located at Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela.
Alajuela Backpackers
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 6824 1000 Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos
68% 849
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Alajuela Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2016
8.6

very clean, and good showers with hot water. modern building. didn't like the beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
6.9

Our reserved room was very sparse and had no towels or soap for shower. The room had an odor to it and was not cleaned very well. We have stayed here before with a great room fully equipped wth no issues. I have second thoughts now about staying at this place again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
8.3

Great stay for airport usage

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
2.6

Needs to be cleaned, AC doesn't work properly, so moldy, musty smell. Most terrible hostel I've ever stayed at with no interest in engaging or being friendly. Staff seemed not well taken care of. A terrible way to start a trip in beautiful Costa Rica.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel and perfect location within minutes of the airport. Provided free shuttle to airport, made it the best choice expense wise and for catching my morning flight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Oct 2016
8.6

Good hostel, the room was nice and the bathroom clean. It's not far from the airport and they offer free transfers to and from the airport. This isn't a hostel you would stay in the explore the city, its more a place of stay for one night and then get a transfer to the coast. Because of that there isn't really a good atmosphere because most people are finishing their trip here. I was hoping for a kitchen too. Besides that the staff are helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Rico1989
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
6.0

One night stay before an early flight. Nothing more, nothing less. We arrived at 1:00 only to be told by someone 'no check in until 2' so we sat and waited. While we were sitting there we saw a sign saying you can drop your bags off anytime after 7:00am and have full use of the hostel facilities until 2:00 when you check in. We also read signs about free coffee and a free welcome drink that weren't available either. Restaurant had great owner and pizza. Free shuttle was good, beds were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2016
9.7

I liked it. Definitely coming back. The bar/restaurant has a terrace with a nice view. Bartender is super nice and friendly. The only thing I didn't like was that it didn't have it's own parking structure. I had to park across the street, which was very close, but paid 5,000 colones per night. Other than that, it was safe, clean and cool atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
5.4

This option worked for us only because of the proximity to the airport. As the other reviews state, this place had zero atmosphere, was not clean (layer of dust on the mirror, gunk in the sink, etc.), very active & noisy streets all night, unfriendly staff, and offered an unwelcoming energy. Wouldn't stay again and don't recommend unless you're looking for one night before an early flight.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Sep 2016
7.1

This is a decent place to stay if you want to avoid the trip to San Jose for your flights. The good: - free shuttles to airport - cheap - rooftop bar with nice mountain view (but poor food selection and only opens late for some reason) - pretty clean - good wifi The bad: - it's not a hostel, so don't expect friendly talkative staff - not cozy or inviting, just a place for people to move in and out on their journeys - super small lockers - no printer for boarding passes

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.