Hostelworld.com

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.6
Alajuela Backpackers Located at Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela.
Alajuela Backpackers
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 6824 1000 Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos
70% 774
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Alajuela Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.0

Best shower of my entire trip. The Windows in my room didn't open so I had now air flow but overall, it was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2016
4.6

I had high hopes after staying in the sister resort in arenal but this place genuinely sucks. The front desk staff are not helpful at all, there is nothing to do there, no places to sit and hangout (aside from 1 couch), the bathrooms are pretty gross, and the general atmosphere is pretty dismal. The free shuttle service is okay but the times are inconvenient. You'd be better off staying anywhere else but here and taking an uber to the airport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 75 reviews
7th May 2016
5.7

This place is clean & close to the airport, an ok option for 1 night's accom befote flying in/out. Though it lacks the energy & facilities of a backpackers (such as a kitchen, microwave, etc) & the rooms feel dark & dated. The aircon in our private room didn't work & we were told it would switch on automatically & be unadjustable throughout the night. Ultimately it didn't switch on at all & the room was hot & stuffy. Bring earplugs... The windows open to a central staircase & it's super loud

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th May 2016
3.4

Personnel pas du tout aimable Chambre très petites et pas forcément très propres Deux salles de bain/toilettes (sales) pour un étage avec plus d'une dizaine de chambres Un réceptionniste qui exige que je paye directement à mon arrivée (11h), alors que le check in est à 14h (!!!!) Pas de lockers donc obligation de laisser ses objets de valeur dans des dortoirs où dorment une dizaine de personnes Pas de cuisine à fuir!!!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
2.6

I have stayed at many hostels and this was by far the worst. It was completely filthy (even mold on the bed pillows). There were no sheets on the beds and just a single blanket. The AC would only turn on for certain hours at night and was automatically turned off by 6 am. The staff was not friendly and unhelpful. There was a bar downstairs but the staff said they weren't sure if anyone would show up to work it (this was a Friday night- and nobody showed). We left for the airport 3 hours early.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
4.6

Dirty, stinky and a mastress as thin as a leaf, my worst night in Costa Rica!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.3

We stayed 1 night in a private room, en suite. Very clean. Helpful staff. Handy location for airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location. Airport shuttle is super convenient. We didn't really use any of the other services/facilities, but staff were quite friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
9.4

Great place to stay if you have to be close to the airport. Reviews mentioning unfriendly staff are ridiculous. I stayed a few nights (group was leaving on different days, I was last). The staff were amazing every time I interacted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
4.6

Not a backpackers hostel! This place is a glorified hotel. The whole lobby was dark. The ac (that we payed for ) got shut off some time in the middle of the night. They have no communal kitchen to use. Further more i had to pay to park on the street! What? Who wants to pay for a spot theyre car might get hit anyway??It was just slack. I hate giving a bad review but this place was bad. The only good thing about it was the restaurant upstairs. But she is completely separate from the hotel people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.