Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.4
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.1
Alajuela Backpackers Located at Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela.
Alajuela Backpackers
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 6824 1000 Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos
67% 829
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Alajuela Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2016
9.7

I liked it. Definitely coming back. The bar/restaurant has a terrace with a nice view. Bartender is super nice and friendly. The only thing I didn't like was that it didn't have it's own parking structure. I had to park across the street, which was very close, but paid 5,000 colones per night. Other than that, it was safe, clean and cool atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Sep 2016
7.1

This is a decent place to stay if you want to avoid the trip to San Jose for your flights. The good: - free shuttles to airport - cheap - rooftop bar with nice mountain view (but poor food selection and only opens late for some reason) - pretty clean - good wifi The bad: - it's not a hostel, so don't expect friendly talkative staff - not cozy or inviting, just a place for people to move in and out on their journeys - super small lockers - no printer for boarding passes

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
5.4

staff was very unfriendly. Its a hostel you stay in for one night to catch a flight early next morning (free shuttle). The only good thing is the restaurant/bar in the forth floor! Nice owner and nice view. I wouldnt recommend the hostel for someone who wants to stay longer in Alajuela.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Aug 2016
6.6

Dull hostel with zero atmosphere but nice rooftop bar serving food overlooking the city which only opens at night for some reason. Not too close to the bus station. Be careful if you are booking for the free shuttle- check the times- they are only in the mornings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.7

We booked this place because of the free shuttle to the airport. My friend and I got a private because it was only 3 dollars more instead of the shared 6 person bedroom . However, the AC is only set on one standard temperature and it will only turn on designated times. We could here every single noise from the outside and couldn't rest. The mattress is comfortable! Hot shower is a plus! Overall, it's ok for one night but I think it's overpriced!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
5.7

We arrived around 12:30 AM, after reserving a room with 6 beds we were put into a room with 8 and not told. The door to the room was constantly left unlocked and the front door to the hostel was open during day hours. The staff at the front desk was not helpful at all, not necessarily rude but obviously didn't want to be talking to us. Will not be returning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels in Cr. Super nice and close to the airport!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
4.9

Staff was minimally helpful (they acted surprised that we did not want to eat in 'their" restaurant (onsite) and stated that everything else was closed and no one was out. They were not friendly and our stay was very impersonal. We did end up eating in their restaurant, and service made us feel like we were putting them out by ordering food. The beds were awful (thin mattresses over metal poles). Only recommended for prior to early flights, and then only maybe. Facebook reviews are accurate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
6.0

This place was bad from the start. When we arrived we were told they didn't take credit cards even though they state that they did on Hostel World. The guy at reception gave us no option but to find an ATM otherwise we would have no room. The hostel is very nice and clean, but completely lacks an atmosphere. There are no outlets in the rooms. The hallways were full of them however, so if you want to charge your things you have to sit with your electronics outside of you room. Close to airport...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
7.7

Reception wasn't the most accommodating. Sort of felt like I was annoying them when asking questions. Pretty bare as a hostel but if you're looking for a place near the airport, it's sufficient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.