Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
3.7

Had the superior 4-bedroom all female dorm, but it was small and dirty. Sheets had stains and hairs on them. No kitchen, but also no plates or cutlery. Staff sent me the wrong way when I asked for directions.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
6.0

Nice hostel, really clean and they had free coffee which was nice! The staff unfortunately weren't very helpful and were kind of rude. Fine for a night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
5.1

Six of us jammed into a co Ed dorm and all of us felt it was the noisiest hostel ever...trucks and motorcycles. No top sheets provided so we were ALL cold with the very noisy airconditioning. Unattractively painted rooms. Next morning I talked to another half dozen neighbors who had the same frustration. One person's shower didn't work. The only guests who liked the experience were in the quiet dorm at the back. I've been a traveler for 50 years...Asia, etc....and this was at the bottom.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Mar 2017
7.7

Stayed at this hostel because of its close proximity to the airport as we have a flight to catch early in the morning. They offer free shuttle to the airport which is great!! The AC in the room only works at night and the room is hot during the day. The AC in our room was really in front of someone else's top bunk bed and she was freezing and turned it off (understandable) but unfortunately for the rest it was hot and uncomfortable. Management should relocate the AC or the bed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
6.6

The only good things about this place were its location, free shuttle to airport (5 minutes if no traffic), and hot water in the shower. No lockers in the room. Staff was not friendly at all, but maybe they just had a bad day?? Room smelled terrible but it might have been one of the other people staying in the room... not sure. The rooftop bar was nice but ran out of beer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
9.4

Very friendly staff! Vincent was able to recommend some wonderful restaurants near the hostel. Very convenient location- 15-20 min walk to Parque Nacional, Museo Costiricense, Cultural museum, Parque nacional de artisanias, and Jade Museum; 30ish minute walk to Teatro Nacional and el Catedral. Definitely a great place to stay if you're spending a few days in San José or just passing through!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
6.6

Just ok, convenient for one night for my flight the next day, but just a standard hostel, small bar/restaurant, rooms kind of dingy, mattresses and not great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.1

Very close to the airport and the free shuttle for our early morning flight was wonderful! Pizza at the rooftop restaurant was decadent. Was a bit noisy throughout the night (people coming and going in the hallways). Clean rooms and bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Chrisnaylor970
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel to start or end your trip! Convenient shuttle running to and from airport, beautiful rooftop bar and restaurant. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
9.4

Overall I had a pleasant stay at the alajuela backpackers hostel, staff were friendly and helpful, perfect location for transport to san jose and tourist attractions. Great rooftop bar and restaurant with a veiw of the city. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. But the highlight for me was the hot water, after spending a month of travelling and only having cold it was the best!! Only things that I was unhappy about was the lack of kitchen facilities to make coffee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.