X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alajuela Backpackers Reviews

Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
579 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

manager is difficult personality


86%

I very nice place for our last night in Costa Rica. Wonderful rooftop terrace. The staff was very helpfull, however the young guys at reception desk sometime seemed more concern with been cool to their fellow receptionist with snap comments than providing good service. Greats beds and clean rooms. Would definately recommend it!


94%

If you are taking the Ticabus from Nicaragua, left the bus at the airport, not at the station at San José. A taxi will cost 5 or 6 dolars.


57%

There was a scent block in the bathroom with an awful smell and we could hardly breath. We removed the scent block but the smell was very difficult to get out of the room. No windows to open air thus not possible to get fresh air or see the skies or have a view to the street. Price for this room was way too high.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

We enjoyed our stay with this hostel and are returning at the end of our trip. The staff was extremely helpful. Thanks

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The owners are so wonderful- they work tirelessly to make sure everyone enjoys their stay, is comfortable, and has everything they need. Things were very streamlined upon check-in (which took a while, only because a big group arrived all at once). The restaurant/ bar is a great place to relax and meet people. Would definitely stay here again.


86%

The place is a nice property. Staff is great. The bunks are a bit short. Overall clean safe and friendly. Will stay with them again.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Perfect place for in or out of SJO.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I must say, it was the best hostel I have stayed in. Clean and tidy. The view from the top bar was great, and the staff were all lovely and helpful. I can recommend it highly.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It would be good if they provided towels so that people flying out can have a shower and not worry about their own towel being wet in their bag for the entire trip and possibly making everything else wet

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were very helpful and accommodating for our group of 16 people. Great airport shuttle service and the food was good value. Only problem was the need to pay the deposit by credit card on the website- this was really inconvenient for us. Other than that it was a great choice to stay for our last night in Costa Rica.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Good value, and great proximity to the airport. The shuttle service to the airport made me choose this hostel, and delivered well. The staff (especially Andre!) were great, the hostel clean, I felt safe, and the internet computers were a great plus.


86%

Perfect for an am flight.


63%

It was ok, but some things didn't work properly as you would expect in a hotel. Maybe that's the hostel hotel mix problem. For example there was no wifi in my room. Then my card (key) didn't really work so the reception fixed it. Then all of a sudden another hotel guest came into my room with his card. Very strange. The shuttle was well organized. And the bar upstairs was nice, good view. I think that this place works as a hostel, but as a hotel it's not good enough..

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The bathroom in the dorm was handy and the balcony bar was great. Being right next door to the buses to San Jose is really nice as well.


100%

Perfect place to stay before leaving Or just arriving in Costa Rica. Great value for my money. They also have a nice restaurant overlooking the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful! Great place!

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Free Shuttle to Airport was good!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Was a hotel. Dorm rooms are a converted hotel room with bunk beds that offer none of the individual luxuries of other better equipped hostels. ie. Lights, outlets, lockers. Beds are tiny too and more for children. Would recommend if staying for use of the airport for the free shuttle and relative comfort.


89%

Fine staff, helpful,friendly. The terrace bar/cafe is a delight, the gentleman and lady who run it couldn't be improved.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

This hostel defines average. The upstairs bar has a good view, but there isn't much else going on. The front desk attendant who checked us in was unhelpful and insolent, but the other staff members were nice and competent. This is a good option if you have an early flight out of San Jose -- the free airport shuttle is excellent -- but there is really no other reason to stay at this hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Alajuela Hostels

Please give us your feedback