Hostelworld.com

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
Alajuela Backpackers Located at Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela.
Alajuela Backpackers
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 6824 1000 Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos
72% 763
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Alajuela Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
29th Apr 2016
2.6

I have stayed at many hostels and this was by far the worst. It was completely filthy (even mold on the bed pillows). There were no sheets on the beds and just a single blanket. The AC would only turn on for certain hours at night and was automatically turned off by 6 am. The staff was not friendly and unhelpful. There was a bar downstairs but the staff said they weren't sure if anyone would show up to work it (this was a Friday night- and nobody showed). We left for the airport 3 hours early.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
4.6

Dirty, stinky and a mastress as thin as a leaf, my worst night in Costa Rica!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location. Airport shuttle is super convenient. We didn't really use any of the other services/facilities, but staff were quite friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
4.6

Not a backpackers hostel! This place is a glorified hotel. The whole lobby was dark. The ac (that we payed for ) got shut off some time in the middle of the night. They have no communal kitchen to use. Further more i had to pay to park on the street! What? Who wants to pay for a spot theyre car might get hit anyway??It was just slack. I hate giving a bad review but this place was bad. The only good thing about it was the restaurant upstairs. But she is completely separate from the hotel people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
4.3

Not sure what all the hype is about this place. No atmosphere, no helpful staff, seemed bored and bothered that we there. The amazing terrace bar was little more than a small balcony. Pizza dinner was good. No bfast just coffee on a bench. No restaurant or bar downstairs. This place might have been good once, but a long time ago.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
8.0

This is a good place to stay for travelers arriving late or departing early from SJO airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Conveniently located to the airport & the bus station which is nice for your last night in the country. Has a restaurant & bar which is also nice because there isn't much of a reason to go venture out in Alejuela

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexgordon954
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2016
7.4

This hostel is for people either flying in or out of the airport, and the staff knows it. Rooms are fine, and the restaurant/bar on the 4th floor has great views - it's what makes the hostel worthwhile. The staff, however, are not very friendly or helpful. I'd stay here again for one night, but not longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.3

aircondition was way too cold and I was already wearing all the clothes I had. could literally not sleep one second that night. good location but that doesn't help if you can't get any rest.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
7.1

Bar is top with a great view, rooms are ok and clean with a bed and bathroom in it. Nothing special

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.