Hostelworld.com

Alajuela Backpackers

  • Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 794 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 794 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
Alajuela Backpackers Located at Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos, Alajuela.
Alajuela Backpackers
Costa Rica
Alajuela Alajuela 6824 1000 Alajuela right side of National Monument Juan Sant, 4th Ave , 4th ST,infront of parque de los ninos
70% 794
10.3915830 -84.4382721
Alajuela Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Great, extremely helpful personell. Esp. Raymond, who helped me a lot when I arrived. Good pizza, friendly staff and comfortable rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

As a solo female traveler, i felt very comfortable and safe here. The day i was leaving for the airport at 4am i had nothing to worry about as there was a shuttle service provided!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
10.0

Excelente ubicación tanto para llegar a Costa Rica, como para salir del mismo, el bar con terraza es hermoso, la pareja que lo administra es super amable, gran lugar, gran personal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.4

FREE Airport shuttle ride was a extreme plus. Staff was very helpfull with directions and what to do in my day off in alajuela

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
10.0

ROOFTOP BAR HAS AN EXCELLENT VIEW AND PIZZA WAS GREAT, FOR SURE WOULD RECOMMEND 100%

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Very clean room and very helpfull staff.... Airport shuttle is a plus

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
4.0

Filthy room - floor hadn't been cleaned in a long time - with bed with no bottom sheet and no cover on duvet. Windows didn't properly close so all the street noise came straight in. They advertise a restaurant but it was closed and the bar closed at 7.30 pm on a Saturday night - and up to that point, the bartender refused to serve anyone from the bar food menu. The hostel is in a dodgy neighbourhood with few restaurants or facilities. Grumpy, unhelpful staff. Worst hostel experience in years!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
5.1

Had people walk into our private room when it was 'locked' and have a look about while we were in there before seeing us and then trying to get us to give them clothes and money. Not the cleanest place either, not dirty per se but not super clean. Staff were pretty helpful but then also very vague and sounded annoyed other times. I don't think we'd stay there again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
9.7

Was perfect for my first night in CR. The taxi driver at the airport knew exactly where it was, and it only took minutes ($6 USD) to get there. Our room was basic, but very clean, a/c, and the bed was comfy. Not much for atmosphere, but a pretty park and the Plaza are just across the street. Staff was friendly and super helpful in explaining how to use the public bus to get to Puerto Viejo. Safe- 24hr security gate to get in. Would surely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
10.0

Raymond at the reception desk was fantastic very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and nice for very cheap. Great location in heart of city and close to airport!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.