X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

America del Sur Hostel Reviews

Calle Puerto Deseado 153, El Calafate, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1618 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The staff at the hostel are so helpful. They go over-and-above for helping for booking trips, taxis, reservations for restaurants and more. All of the trips you book through the hostel have a bus that comes straight to pick you up at the hostel. It was very convenient. We had a private room and it was very clean.


69%

Clean hostel with fully equiiped kitchen, staff gets top marks! Nice breakfast. Overpriced hostel though. Only serious drawback is loud music that makes dialog and planning in the public areas very difficult. Hostel suitable for people under 30.


91%

This hostel is really amazing, and the staff are one of the best that I've ever met...helpful and friendly in all ways. The hostel it self it's clean and about 10 min by walking from the city. There is a kitchen and breakfast. I didn't like the security though, even with the locker. I recommend this hostel for everyone. PS: the sunset view from the hostel is F**** amazing.


71%

Good enough hostel, but nothing special. Kind of far from town, up a hill and a dirt road. It is a bigger hostel than I normally like to book, so I thought nothing much of the atmosphere. Beautiful views though!


74%

Great clean hostel. Good wifi. Great breakfast. Great dorms with underfloor heating! Hot showers and reliable. Negatives: A bit of a walk up a hill but still 5 mins to Main Street. Staff were hit and miss, one staff member rude and very unhelpful. Played music ridiculously loud in main areas which made socialising/skyping etc difficult.


74%

Nice hostel. Great communal areas. Nice staff. Bunk beds a bit wobbly and with no ladders but nothing dangerous. Clean.


86%

Great place to stay for a few nights. Definitely not a party hostel, however, staff puts a lot of effort to build a nice atmosphere. Special thanks to the guy at the reception, great recommendations for restaurants and bars.


86%

Rather pricey with wildly varying prices between days. Slightly further away than most hostels but the main road was not that far away.


86%

The staff has been super nice

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were particularly helpful. Excellent.


86%

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The hostel have all the excursions clearly explained on boards in the reception and organise everything for you. The beds were good, the view is incredible. Only slight annoyance was the slow internet.


51%

WARNING: As a place to stay it's fine, but don't book anything with them! I booked a bus ticket, was given a voucher and told to exchange it for the ticket at the bus station in my next destination. This was incorrect and they refused to refund me! They stopped replying to my emails and refused to let me speak to a manager. Extremely disappointed and out of pocket! Don't risk it. Gives a very bad impression of Argentina! Never happened in 10 years of travelling through 65 countries!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!....unluckily you forgot to exchange your ticket at the bus terminal. Even though, we solved your problem 10 minutes later ( the ticket was for 2 days after )...but, at that time you bought another ticket and didn't wait for us to solve it. At the time we told you that it wss solved, the only thing you had to do is to go back to the bus terminal for them to give your money back for the second ticket,..but you didn´t. So, actually, you decided to loose your money. We're really sorry.

80%

Cool hostel within walking distance to town. Helpful staff, friendly visitors and easy to book tours through. Not the cleanest as my shower was pretty grimey. Also, during the high season, they are very busy which means the staff is stretched a little thin.. Be sure to book tours & bus tickets in advance!


94%

Great hostel and staff. The main lounge has a great view overlooking the lake and the rooms were very clean. They were able to also book us the Moreno Glacier tour. Would stay here again and highly recommend!


97%

Dear hostel staff, check email at least once a day, please. Thank you.


97%

I had stayed at the America del Sur in Buenos Aires earlier this year, so when I saw there was another one in El Calafate I had to book it! I was not disappointed. Once again, America del Sur proved to be a great place. The staff is always helpful and can book all sorts of activities for you. The atmosphere of the place is very inviting and people end up coming from many of the other hostels in town just to hang out at this one. Great place to meet other travelers. Security, laundry, etc. great.


100%

Fantástico


97%

Staff especially Nathalie very helpful...

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great stay and very helpful staff. Cool little lounge room with a good view. A little out of town, about a 5 min walk from the high street. Staff were great giving an awesome overview of stuff to do! Highly recommend the kayak experience in the icebergs!


97%

Very good hostel. Very clean and the staff was really helpful.


(59 results)


View all El Calafate Hostels

Please give us your feedback