X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

America del Sur Hostel Reviews

Calle Puerto Deseado 153, El Calafate, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1798 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Only stayed here one night as a stop over on the way between El Chalten and Puerto Natales. Wish I'd been able to get in here over Christmas instead of being stuck in the HI hostel, so much better here! Only a couple of dollars more but when you take into account you get breakfast included it evens out m

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Matthew! So, you know where to come next time you are in our town, right?? ;D Safe travels!

77%

This hostel has so many good things but almost creates issues due to over complications. We wanted to extend our stay and this led to various different room arrangements which altered almost constantly. The staff in the day are incredible and are really helpful but the evening staff seem quite clueless so make sure you ask for any tours etc during the day to avoid issues. Communal areas are fab and will be much better when the kitchen is finished. Location is also good with great views.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We understand how that can be bothering, but since you were with us in the busiest of all seasons (new year's eve), extending your stay beyond the booked dates can be a difficult task. Many, many other people were booked for those days, and of course that we had to respect their booking preferences. So, even if having a guest changing rooms it is as complicated for us as for our guests, sometimes it is the only way to have a guest staying an extra night (or more than one). Believe me, it is not convenient for us to have guests changing rooms every day either =(. We hope that this won't stop you from coming in the future! big hug =)

97%

Really helpful and friendly staff, all of whom both speak english and spanish. Super clean. Booking treks to the national park was a breeze through the hostel and la casa, the little private cabin with a view is awesome!

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Davis! Thanks man! We appreciate it =) And yes, the casa has an amazing view, but you have to see our new lobby now! Big hug!!!

91%

The breakfast was a pleasant surprise! The hostel was undergoing a renovation at the time of our visit, but this didn't bother us. I'm sure that the hostel will be even more appealing after the renovations are finished! All in all I was very pleased with our stay!


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to town. Nice common areas.


86%

Fantastic landscape , very nice atmosfere , very helpul staff ...you can find very young people and also mature people and It s normal like at Home We absolutely reccomende it

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved this hostel! It's slightly out of the town center but it is in a lovely location and has a really great feel. The staff was extremely helpful, the beds were comfortable, and the common areas were great. The breakfast was the best hostal breakfast I've ever had. I would definitely recommend it.


89%

A bit out of town and very pricey. However, it is very clean, your bed gets made every day and four bed rooms are great. A few extra power points in the rooms would be useful. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful.


100%

Definitely recommend. Very friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms, good location for walking to the main street in El Calafate. Would stay there again!

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Very friendly staff, but staff is large and have no nametags, so it is hard to remember who you spoke with. Very good choice in tours, but unfortunately they have changed our booking for a daytour and we just found out in time. No explanation was given, but we got on the bus. Other downside is that we slept on a very old bed and wasn't good value for the money we paid.


60%

It's not really a place for me. It definitely looks nice when you step in but I just missed a warm, familiar atmosphere and people sitting together. The price is definitely too high for what you get. Half of the staff is pretty nice!!, the other half acts a bit too cool and self absorbed for my taste. I think they would do good having some travelers working for them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Vanessa! Thanks for giving us some feedback, we are always happy to hear some and keep improving our services and facilities. We enjoy the familiar vibe as well, and all of us at the reception are always very happy to talk. Next time stop by our counter and we will find something random to talk about! Big hug =)

94%

Couldn't ask for more from the staff: so on the help you enjoy your stay and make your travels easy, great atmosphere in the place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Robert! Thanks for your comment here =). COme back soooon!

89%

Super helpfull staff

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Super nice guests =D

80%

The atmosphere is great. They play good music, the upstairs lounge area is great and the dining area is a decent size. The kitchen could really use some love, which they seem to know if since it's being renovated. The staff is very friendly and are helpful in booking all your tours and buses. Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Melissa!!! Muchas gracias for your lovely review. Hope to see you again in the futureeeeee. Cheers!

97%

It's hard not to love a place where everyone and everything is great! The staff here are the best thing out of everything else though! Fun, caring, and best of all kind and put your comfort and wellbeing before all else! Thanks guys for a great stay and experience in Calafate! Sad I'm not able to come back this trip, but I'll definitely stay during next years travels ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gemma!!! We are as thankfull as happy for such a lovely review!. We LOVE it that you felt like that with us. Remember that now you have a home here, in El Calafate =) BIG hug from everyone at the Hostel!!!

77%

We were surprised that the prices go up in busy periods. We booked in one week twice the same room for a very different price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Nathalia. As most Hotels/Hostels in the world, rates vary according to availability. So, the more beds/rooms we have in the last minute (if there are any left), the cheaper they will be. Rates are automatically changed according to the reservations we receive daily. Hope this clears up your minds! Hope to see you again in the future!! Cheers

94%

Lovely hostel, lovely staff, lovely breakfast, nice beds, great view. Can't complain really!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Alanna!!! a lot of thanks to you for such a good review! big hug from all of us here at América del Sur =D

91%

Great, clean place. Easy to get to the town center. Only issue was how expensive it is in relation to other hostels. I did not stay in any others so I cannot judge their quality, but it was much pricier than any other hostel I stayed in, in Argentina.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Garret! We know that Patagonia can get pricy, that is why we are here ready to give everyone the best tips on how to save money on everything else! Hope you will visit us again in the future =) Cheers!

77%

Great staff and accommodation. Construction happening while we were there. So very loud all day. Hard to relax


94%

One of the best breakfasts we've had in South America. Staff were great, atmosphere was great, kitchen was ok but they are doing reno's to expand the kitchen. The location could be better but nothing only a 15-20min walk to the city center


(73 results)


View all El Calafate Hostels

Please give us your feedback